We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met all expectations”

Raymonds Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Raymonds Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Met all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

As an avid foodie I was quite eager to visit this restaurant that en Route had named "Best New". I was not disappointed. The service is thoughtful, the food sublime, and you leave feeling you have been more than "just fed". Were it not for the accents, I would have thought I was in a fine dining establishment in a much larger city, and I mean that in the best way possible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PlaneTruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    85
    31
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been stranded in St John's for quite some time now, so have sampled many of the restaurants. We have been delighted with the quality. Several have been excellent, with innovative food and great service.

Raymond's was in a different class. From the moment we arrived and were helped with our coats, we were treated as very important guests. Our table was set apart and felt private, our waiter, Gabe, started the evening attentive, formal and reserved, but soon warmed to our conversation when we made it clear we wanted to talk. The sommelier Erin was sensational - she listened to what we wanted, considered our menu selections, described some options, and her recommendation was perfect and just as she had described it.

The mushroom amuse bouche was excellent, my steak was perfect and served with plenty of fresh just-cooked vegetables. My friends had the duck and the fish of the day, and both also reported them to be excellent. To finish the evening we asked Erin for her recommendation for a glass of red. She described several that matched our request. We each selected a different one, and she was able to accommodate that -again just what we wanted.

It is hard to find a recommendation for improvement in such a good night - perhaps a different choice of music, more classical and less dance. The decor, lighting, service, food and overall ambience would be hard to improve on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ringing in the New Year in Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Incredible New Years Eve dinner, seven courses, all great with perfect wine pairings, live music, with fireworks and champagne to bring in the New Year.

Service was perfect, and never out of step, from the 1st moment you step in through the front door until you put on your coat to leave you are given the royal treatment, and made to feel welcome, and at home, something many restaurants in St John's could learn from.

Raymond's was voted the #1 restaurant in 2013, there's a reason for this as they set the standard that all other aspire to.

Go there, you'll agree!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Global4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celebrating in style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Seating wasn't good. We could not have 2 tables together which meant the person we had come to celebrate that evening sat apart from half his staff. Catching waiting staff's attention was unproductive and frustrating. Time between courses was an age and frankly became a bit of a joke. It was noted that the final course would be bacon and eggs I.e. Breakfast. On a positive note...we all had the 7 course sampler with wine pairing. Very expensive but very good food. You can see why Raymond's is classed as the best restaurant in St. John's. The ladies describing the courses and accompanying wines were friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. An evening to remember but for the price should have been better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great food and well presented. Had the tasting menu lots of fresh and smoked fish. All tasty and artfully done, but not for this price. I am disappointed at the meal for what I paid it should have been spectacular- and frankly, it just was not.
Can eat this well in a large city for less and with less fight for a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank conandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymonds Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Raymonds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing