We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of East Coast Trail

East Coast Trail
Ranked #4 of 93 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We hiked a few sections of the East Coast Trail in June. I hadn't heard of the trail before, but wow, was I impressed! Very well maintained with steps covered in chicken wire for traction. We did a section from Witless Bay towards Bay Bulls. Stunning - through forests and then out onto barrens and incredible views. As others have said, lots of sections you can choose from.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wloo_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    65
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Incredible Trail”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This trail follows most of the Northeast coast of the Avalon Peninsula. The greenery is many parts is so intense as to overwhelm your senses. Sweeping views out across the Atlantic Ocean from 200 foot cliffs. Many short segments, 4 km, but can be linked together into much longer hikes.

Built by a nonprofit it is one of the best constructed trails I have seen. Boardwalks across the bogs, rock stairs where needed to prevent erosion. Really worth a trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDogandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“family hikes”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a week on the Avalon and hiked many portions of the trail during that time. We liked seeing the various cute communities and the beautiful vistas. We were 3 generations, 9 in all, and the trails suited all of us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tess379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“True Newfoundland”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A must! Several trail options, well maintained paths, stunning vistas. Great family outing. Beach access in spots, panaromic views and excellent photo opportunities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renews, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great long distance hike”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hike through small coastal villages. Diversified coastal scenery. Good maps covering the whole trail and good web site. B&Bs in most of the villages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guilleret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Coast Trail also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to East Coast Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing