We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Newfie hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location to explore St. John's. We stayed here 3 nights upon our arrival in Nfld. The front desk was under-staffed on the night we arrived, and the card-key machine was not working, but Diane was delightful and helpful. She called on the security guard to let us into our room. He was a very pleasant young man who helped with our luggage and shared some touring tips. Decor is dated, linens are wimpy and worn, but the room was more than adequate and the bed was good. Rendezvous Restaurant was only ok, but good service. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second time staying at this hotel. Refrigerator in the recently renovated room was a nice bonus. We had a lovely view of the harbour. The restaurant was good. The only downside was housekeeping. The first two nights, the room was properly cleaned. After that, we were lucky just to get the beds made and the garbage emptied. I'm guessing that this is simply a training issue and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a great spot for our St. John's stay. Very convenient location in downtown, within walking distance of most St. John's hotspots. The room was comfortable, clean, and reasonably quiet. We really just needed a place to sleep, so didn't make use of hotel amenities. Great for the purpose of exploring St. John's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaCMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently spent 8 nights in this hotel. The room was spacious, light and clean - and had a great view over the harbour - where there was always something to watch. Another positive was the opening window! The staff were always friendly and helpful and the situation excellent for downtown St John's. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 night stay and would return again . Standard rooms , good pillows courteous staff ,rooms clean
Good value ,easy walk to downtown appreciated having restaurant in hotel.access to internet for printing airplane boarding passes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Modest size room that was nice and clean. However the hotel definitely has an odor in the lobby, hallways, and room. Best way to describe it is musky + cigarette smoke. View of the harbour is great. Huge plus relative to the Sheraton and Ramada is the windows open.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spend 3 nights here recently and our experience was very good. Be sure and get the harbor view and if you can get the 519 or 419 corner suite which offers great views of harbor and Water street.
Hotel is clean and staff is good. Too bad they can't have ice on every floor but... Pillows were not really very good either..old and not much substance

Resaurant is so-so at best (although we only had breakfast there) with slow service but , hey its a hotel and in Newfoundland. Try the seafood at the Saltwater Restaurant instead - the best!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICHARD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
845 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
336 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 23 in St. John's
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $99 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing