We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location and free parking. No refrigerator in our room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location and free parking. No refrigerator in our room.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great hotel to use as a base for downtown St. John's. Reasonably priced. Underground parking is free, and the Rumplestilskin restaurant attached has great breakfast skillets. Only complaint is the lack of a refrigerator in our room, which is typically included in rooms of the type we had in a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suprgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    176
    117
    30
    11
See reviews for
61
146
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a 3Star hotel, however, I will say that the convenience of having it within walking proximity to the Downtown area in St. John's was ideal. There is a restaurant/bar, Rumplestilkin, on the lower level which is good and convenient. Room was modest, no fridge to keep our water and or beer, but an ice and vending machine on the 2nd and 4th level. We did have to call for extra towels etc. however, but we had a 3rd person which was not included on the reservation. They were especially busy this weekend with the regatta and George Street festival, and room service was a little slow, so I offered to go pick up the order in a "take-out" fashion (also saves $3/per delivery). In any event, I would stay there again, it is certainly affordable and our room (345) overlooking of the mouth of the St. John's harbour and Signal Hill was spectacular! Hope to visit again soon!

Mona
Yarmouth, NS

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed twice in July, with two very different rooms. Both rooms were very comfortable, but one was on the corner of Hill O'Chips and Duckworth, while the other faced the back. The Hill O'Chips and Duckworth intersection must be one of the busiest in St John's, and it is very noisy for most of the day - definitely not recommended. The room facing the back was quite quiet and much more preferable. The restaurant attached to the hotel (different ownership) is adequate, but there are better choices in the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twillingate
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A wonderful hotel in St. John's. Dining room as beautiful harbour view. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The restaurant has a very big menu and the food is delicious. The parking is excellent with lots of space. Very easy to get in and out of parking lot. Very close to Geo Centre and other attractions in St. John's

Room Tip: Book early to get a harbour view. Vending machines are only available on even floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're expecting a 5-star hotel, you'll be disappointed, but you don't pay the 5 star price, either. That being said, I was more than satisfied with this hotel. The lobby doesn't have a grand chandelier and is in fact rather small. Elevators came promptly, though the doors closed too quickly. Our room was rather standard, but our two comfortable queen beds were made up European style. The well-operating air conditioning was appreciated in an unusually hot period, though it failed for a period in the dining room. The bathrooms were clean but dated and on the small side, and the toilets required holding the handle down until the flush was nearly complete (we stayed at the beginning and at the end of our trip, so two rooms were sampled.) We did not have a full view of the harbor, but we did not notice the noise mentioned in other reviews. The staff members we encountered were helpful and friendly. The restaurant in the hotel serves decent food, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offandrunning4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located near the downtown with an excellent view of the harbour this hotel is convenient for visiting the Saint John's area. We found the rooms clean and comfortable but the rest of the hotel is pretty dated. Staff are very friendly and polite and offer helpful advice on the local attractions.

There is underground parking but beware, if you are driving a standard size car or SUV, most parking spots are very tight.

There is no breakfast included with your stay but there are several nice cafés within a short walk from the hotel (including a Tim Hortons).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garycormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 15 years ago and it hasn't really changed. The reports sum it up. The place needs a face lift and an update. The above said,my room was clean, the bed okay and the service friendly despite showing its age. Not my first choice when I visit here but it will do for a short couple day trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
589 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
776 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Property: Quality Hotel Harbourview
Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing