We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Quality Hotel Harbourview for 3 nights, over a weekend, rooms were a bit dated, but very clean, hotel staff was friendly. Rumplestilskins restaurant is on site and a must, service is great and food is also Great. The hotel is located downtown St. John's, walking distance to most of the shops, George street, and Restaurants. overall a great stay for the price, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view! we could see signal hill and the harbor activity was fun to watch!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BnewfJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are always thrilled to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and this is no exception.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Quality Hotel. The Harbour is a fantastic to watch and being so close, our views are the best!

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Harbourview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

St John's is ridiculously expensive. Just accept that likely wherever you stay during the summer month will be unbelievably expensive for what you get because that's just the market. And for goodness sakes - book ahead!! I called ten hotels before I found the last room at this place - mid-week. Friends there told me it will be like this June - Sept solid. I checked Hotwire and Priceline - nothing offered. Why would a hotel discount when it's a total sellers market?? So based on my booking experience, I was expecting the worst (at $170 /night). What I got was far from the worst.

The Quality Hotel was clean, reasonably updated (though an older property for sure), and somewhat basic. My room was in far better condition than the one I had in the supposedly-nicer Delta (stayed there a couple of months back) that would have cost me about $50 more a night. The indoor parking, Wifi, and local calls were included - the rate was high, but at least they didn't nickel-and-dime. The only real knock is the walls were a bit thin and it could have been quieter, but it wasn't awful. Without hesitation, i'd return here.

Room Tip: odd numbers face the harbour. It's a working harbour 24/7, so the evens may be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation of The Quality Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Quality in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in the Harbourview for three nights and never came across a staff member who was less than courteous and friendly. The room was clean, the view of the harbour was breathtaking and the food at Rumplestiltskins was great.

Old St John's is a wonderful area - and this hotel is an excellent base to explore from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and taking the time to write a review of The Quality Hotel.

Our views are definitely one of a kind and we are delighted that you enjoyed them.

We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should you ever be back in Newfoundland.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and the room was an average hotel room. The staff was very friendly and our room was made up before we returned from breakfast. The walk to George Street isn't bad but the wind was blowing and it was bitterly cold so we took a taxi the second night and with tip it was only $10 one way. The restaurant has wonderful breakfasts that are reasonably priced. Two eggs, ham,hash browns , toast and tea or coffee for $8.99 can't beat it. The view of the harbour from the lobby and the restaurant was really nice. We had problems with the heating unit being very loud but once it was brought to the staffs attention it was fixed right away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Quality Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that your issue with the heating unit was dealt with immediately and in a timely manner. Thank you for bringing it to our attention while you were still here with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 weeks a few years ago and it was clean , comfy and the staff were very helpfull. Not far to Walk down to George street if your looking for a cold beer with friends. Food was good and well priced for hotel. great place to visit evryone makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room at the front so you can see the harbour
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us here at the Quality Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the area as well. We have the best views here in the city and it never gets tiresome looking out at them. I will certainly pass on to our staff your kind comments. They enjoy hearing feedback from our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Would not stay here again. Rooms are old and musty. Had to sleep with window open just to get rid of musty smell. In this day and age I just don't understand how hotels keep putting old bedspreads on their beds. They are nothing but full of germs and are gross. Very disappointing. It just didn't feel clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is very much appreciated. We very much like to hear all comments positive or negative.

However, in this instance the team are a little perplexed. We do not use bed spreads at the hotel. We use a duvet and our bedding is a white on white package. I apologize that the room smelled musty but again as we are a busy and popular hotel our rooms are cleaned daily and occupied nightly which would not be conducive to a musty smell which would suggest minimal use or airing of the room. If this indeed was the case in your room, we certainly do apologize and we would have been delighted to assist you if you had mentioned any of the above during your stay.

Should you return to St. John's in the future we would be happy to remedy the aforementioned.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review.

Yours in hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. I had booked one of the harbourview rooms which had a nice view of the harbour. I was on the second floor and if you want a better view I'd recommend asking for one of the higher floors. The hotel was located on the edge of downtown but right next to a bunch of other hotels.

The rooms were clean and simple. I had no complaints. The free wi-fi worked quite well as well. There is a small gym in the hotel which really was an empty hotel room with some equipment... but better than nothing I guess! There is a restaurant onsite which looked quite busy but I didn't get a chance to eat there.

It's a short walk to any of the restaurants downtown and to George Street where there are many bars located. A taxi back to the airport cost about $25.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel and for writing your valuable feedback. These comments are very important because they help us persue continuous improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
825 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
607 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $104 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing