We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of Harbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great view of Harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 weeks a few years ago and it was clean , comfy and the staff were very helpfull. Not far to Walk down to George street if your looking for a cold beer with friends. Food was good and well priced for hotel. great place to visit evryone makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room at the front so you can see the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us here at the Quality Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the area as well. We have the best views here in the city and it never gets tiresome looking out at them. I will certainly pass on to our staff your kind comments. They enjoy hearing feedback from our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    107
    26
    9
See reviews for
51
131
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Would not stay here again. Rooms are old and musty. Had to sleep with window open just to get rid of musty smell. In this day and age I just don't understand how hotels keep putting old bedspreads on their beds. They are nothing but full of germs and are gross. Very disappointing. It just didn't feel clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is very much appreciated. We very much like to hear all comments positive or negative.

However, in this instance the team are a little perplexed. We do not use bed spreads at the hotel. We use a duvet and our bedding is a white on white package. I apologize that the room smelled musty but again as we are a busy and popular hotel our rooms are cleaned daily and occupied nightly which would not be conducive to a musty smell which would suggest minimal use or airing of the room. If this indeed was the case in your room, we certainly do apologize and we would have been delighted to assist you if you had mentioned any of the above during your stay.

Should you return to St. John's in the future we would be happy to remedy the aforementioned.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review.

Yours in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. I had booked one of the harbourview rooms which had a nice view of the harbour. I was on the second floor and if you want a better view I'd recommend asking for one of the higher floors. The hotel was located on the edge of downtown but right next to a bunch of other hotels.

The rooms were clean and simple. I had no complaints. The free wi-fi worked quite well as well. There is a small gym in the hotel which really was an empty hotel room with some equipment... but better than nothing I guess! There is a restaurant onsite which looked quite busy but I didn't get a chance to eat there.

It's a short walk to any of the restaurants downtown and to George Street where there are many bars located. A taxi back to the airport cost about $25.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel and for writing your valuable feedback. These comments are very important because they help us persue continuous improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our trip to St. John's was not a planned vacation; it was more of an urgent, family emergency trip. Geraldine at the front desk went above and beyond her job description in ensuring us a comfortable place to lay our head at the end of a long day. Give that woman a raise :) To wake up the next morning, open up the curtains and look out at the view: Breathtaking. Being able to walk to a multitude of shops, cafes and the like was a great convenience (Within walking proximity to the 'bar scene' as well, but this wasn't that type of trip). Thank you, Quality Hotel, for a fabulous nights stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor (which had an amazing view), but was recommended by a very friendly hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianOceanPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a glowing review of our Hotel.

We are always thrilled to hear from our Guests that have great experiences with us and this is no exception. I am delighted to hear that Geraldine went above and beyond your expectaions. I will certainly post for all of our staff to see.

We never get tired of our views either!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again your next trip into the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel have a beautiful view of the harbour. You won't be disappointed with the Harbourview Rooms, cost a little more but totally worth it. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating, I had asked for extra towels and they were delivered with in minutes, all with a smile. Lovely city and lovely people. if you travel to St. John's this hotel is a must, just for the friendly and fun loving staff. Looking forward to my next stay in April.

Room Tip: Harbourview room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Quality Hotel.

Our views are definitely the best in the city!

We look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first time staying in St. John's, and I had the pleasure of staying here. Lovely hotel, clean and confortable. Staff is very friendly, especially the housekeeping staff. It was a true newfoundland welcome while staying here. great value for the accomodations. Definatly be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us here at the Quality Hotel Harbourview for your first trip here to St. John's.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. I print off our reviews for our staff to read and they will love to hear your comments.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to the city!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed while in town in business. Was going to stay for four nights but went to another hotel the next day. TV Fuzzy, internet not working, could not find heat controls. Was informed that heat was centrally controlled by motel. But I did find the temp controls. Front desk clerks were not overly friendly. The best thing about the hotel is the Harbor view and the onsite restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managercn246, Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Customer feedback is vital to our industry.

Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our Guests had less than perfect stay, we feel the comments such as yours allow us to assess where we have opportunities for improvements. Should you choose to return, we encourage you to get in touch with us prior to your arrival so that we can ensure that everything for your stay is in perfect order.

Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate in contacting me as I would like to investigate further on the room number and the dates that you stayed with us so I can properly have your issues addressed!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to the city!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Property: Quality Hotel Harbourview
Address: 2 Hill O'Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing