We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did well in a pinch...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Did well in a pinch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We found ourselves needing a hotel for two nights while a large convention was going on in the city, so didn't have a lot of options. This place was expensive considering the lack of amenities (pool, breakfast), but we did have a great view of the harbour so the location couldn't have been better. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The parking was convenient and free. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    107
    26
    9
See reviews for
51
131
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The restaurant has a decent view and a decent menu. The rooms are pretty good. If they'd update other standard amenities, they'd be one of the best in the city. Parking is crowded, and it can be a little difficult to swing in there from the Hill O'Chips in the winter. But this place is a nice little base for a visit to St. John's and area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to St. John's. The hotel is clean, well kept, and the service was great. The property is located within walking distance from the harbour, downtown, George Street, and Signal Hill.

For a great bite to eat, cross the street to Caines Market. They have great home made traditional food at very cheap prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdotM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was a mixed trip of business and vacation. Overall the place wasn't the best, we had some issues which were an inconvenience and we got past it.

This was my first visit to this hotel and was due to unforeseen circumstances that I chose it. I had booked two rooms online, one for my family and one for the Mother-in-law. When I checked in I told the desk clerk that the other room would be checking in shortly as they were about 15 min behind us on highway. Come to find out later that when she arrived, they told her there was no room booked for her. It took the desk clerk 10 minutes to find the room, despite being given the exact name it was under. Then there was an issue with them not getting the seniors discount. Unsure what the problem or resolution was there so cant speak to that much.

Upon getting to our room we discovered the fridge I had pre-requested was there. We had a baby with us and needed to store milk, so that was a plus that they provided one. The rooms don't come with a fridge apparently... so heads up there. The rooms are smaller then most places which was most noticeable once you setup your luggage on the racks. It gets cramped in there fairly quick and we couldn't keep the stroller inside as there was no where to put it. Had to keep it in hallway until we went to bed. If we needed a cot, there would have been no place to set it up for sure. The room had a noticeable odor. I could not place the smell but my best guess was that it was due to an old room with poor ventilation and dirty AC unit. All providing for high humidity. We had to keep our window and door open for a few hours to vent the place. It was reported to the front desk, they indicated housekeeping would take care of it but when they showed up they gave us towels and indicated there was nothing really they can do about it. The Mother-in-laws room also smelled, however theirs almost seemed like it used to be a smoking room, or someone recently smoked ALOT in it. The carpet appeared dirty and had numerous stains, which may have contributed to the smell ( See photos ). Noteworthy was the fact that the lobby appeared to have a strong odor at times as well, similar to the rooms, so maybe they have an overall air quality problem. The air in the hotel always seemed humid and heavy.

On the plus side the beds were fairly comfy and we did sleep well. There was concerns about noise as this hotel overlooks a busy tug boat dock. It was noisy during the day but for the most part once 6 or 7 PM hit the place shut down.

The restaurant had great a breakfast and friendly staff. They are busy with non-hotel patrons for evenings but if you mention you are a guest they seem to make it a priority to get you in. "Reservations Recommended" according to front desk.

One problem we did encounter was that the bathroom sink kept leaking bad. When I investigated there was about 2 tubes of caulking on the bottom of sink so it was obvious it needed replacement. Hotel staff said "Yeah we got a load that need to be replaced so we will add it to the list". Travelling with a baby we had to wash and sanitize bottles and related gear so this became a pain. I had to either refill the sink every 2 minutes or place towels on floor to catch the water.

Wireless Internet from room was slower then what you may have at home, but not as bad as most hotels I have stayed in. I was on second floor and sometimes this is dependent on where they have routers placed to.

Its a good location if your interested in the downtown thing, great view of the harbor for sure. I don't think I would stay here again, better value for $180.00 a night elsewhere. But if your stuck for a place to stay it will get you by. I tried to snap some pictures from phone, they aren't the best quality but better then nothing.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge they have them and can be requested in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Have stayed at this property several times. Rooms are updated and clean but small for two people. WiFi works well.
Tried to use restaurant but seemed to be very busy and manager did not seem to interested in providing possible sitting times...so we walked down to George Street. Good parking lot. Good value for money, if you are getting a corporate rate!

Room Tip: Stay away from the water side if you are a light sleeper as boat loading and movements are 24 hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

During my 3 month intermittent stay at the hotel I always had the feeling of a second home with the friendliness of the front desk staff, the beautiful views over Cape Spear, Signal Hill and the harbor - especially the corner rooms! Loved my stay so much that I fell in love with one of the front desk workers, starting another little adventure of our own...

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the 3rd and 5th, and harbourviews on 4th and 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egge0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
762 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The quality hotel in St. John's is very conveniently located to downtown and most importantly George street. Looking a bit tired, the decor seems to be straight out of the 1980's. The service was outstanding from the front counter, they were friendly and helpful whenever called upon. However, that did not make up for the okay condition of the rooms and dated decor. The beds were not the most comfortable and for the price of $159 plus taxes, one expects more. Some locals told me that this was fleecing season for tourism and it seems that the Quality Hotel was in on the take. For that type of price, I would expect luxury, not a passable experience. Lastly, I left behind a gift for my daughter, and I KNOW I left on the bed. Granted it is my fault, but I immediately contacted the hotel to ask for my daughter's gift. Low And behold, housekeeping did not find anything. Though my fault, again I expect from a classier place that they would return something like this if requested. I would look elsewhere in st. John's before going to the Quality Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Property: Quality Hotel Harbourview
Address: 2 Hill O'Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Quality Hotel Harbourview Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing