We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Cambridge ON
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Delta is your typical conference hotel although this one is definitely showing it's age. Once the new convention center is finished, perhaps the hotel could be refurbished as it is due. The front desk staff are wonderful - very friendly and helpful. The lobby is interesting with the glass roof giving it an open feel. The rooms are tired and although the bathrooms have been updated, the rooms themselves could use some work. The restaurant was likely the worst service I've experienced - only 4 tables occupied however I stood for 7 minutes (I timed it!) before being seated and then it only happened when I chanced to catch the lone waitress as she was rushing by and asked if I could choose my own table - very understaffed. Overall it is ok but wouldn't be my first choice for a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre and for your kind comments about our front desk team. Our hotel is scheduled to begin extensive renovations this year and for the next three years which will indeed coincide for the re-opening of the expanded convention centre. Please accept our apologies for the poor service received in the restaurant. This has been sent to our restaurant management team for review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    293
    142
    38
    13
See reviews for
63
144
34
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did several trips to St. John's last year and it was always difficult to find hotels. If you are going there and are able to book this Delta, do it. It's a nice place to spend the night and centrally located so you can walk (in the rain) to pretty well whatever you want to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel. We are pleased you found us to be nice place to stay. We are indeed centrally located and as an added bonus, we do offer umbrellas for those walks in the rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable.
Staff are very cheerful, but some appear to be more willing to chat (to improve the tip) than actually give a good service.
Food is dismal - will not eat here again, for the duration of my stay, if I can avoid it.
The menu looks reasonable, if a bit generic, but the food quality is so poor. Breakfast buffet should be abandoned unless Hotel is really busy - because food on it is more sustenance than pleasure. Have found a nice restaurant which serves and excellent breakfast for same price as the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference. We are pleased to advise that the hotel will be undergoing renovations beginning in the new year. We are sorry that you were not pleased with our food quality. Your comments will be reviewed with our culinary management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend and I had an amazing service experience (bad amazing) and with so many great places to eat, I felt I had to highlight this negative one. We arrived after 10 am on Saturday to notice every table had dirty plates on it. One table for two was cleaned for us. We left after 12 noon because we were having a great chat. Our server let us know right away the service would be sub-standard. He said this was not his usual shift, he had no training and they were short staffed. Indeed. We saw the buffet get replenished once when fresh breakfast meats were brought in. The server brought us our coffee and tea and did not ask in two hours if we wanted more. The second and last visit was to bring us large glasses and ice. Get ready for the next bit - the omelette station was usually without a staff person, but when a chef showed up around 11 I got a veg omelette. He had no plates. I brought him a dozen plates from the other side of the buffet. I found tea cups for my friend and I to drink the water and juice I found in the server station. We drank water and juice from tea cups. My friend suggested we eat there and he was embarrassed at the recommendation. It was an experience and all I could do was laugh and be amazed. I would expect this at a 1 or 2 star, but never a Delta. Other small points - two staff talked about how busy it was. Not while we were there. And still a sea of dirty tables. And another staffer complained to another table how poor the set up was and they need to complain to their manager. Is there anything worse than overhearing staff complain - while surrounded by their poor service? Burn out? No pride? Poor training? Take your $17.50 buffet price and go to Gracie Joe's on Quidi Vidi Rd. A well-oiled restaurant machine with sweet staff and amazing food and coffee and peanut infused hot chocolate. See you at a fundraiser Delta - never on my own for sure. Sheraton's bivver and Opidan are miles above.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room and cannot comment. Probably a harbour view would be preferred in our beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlCanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel Restaurant. We have reviewed and discussed your experience with the server who was on duty who regrets the manner in which he handled the frustrating situation. I must advise that you were not attending our festive lunch buffet as you indicated but our usual breakfast buffet. On that particular day, the restaurant was short staffed due to multiple sick calls. We regret that it resulted in a poor experience for you and your guest. Contacting us directly would have resulted in suitable compensation. We certainly hope you will consider giving us another try in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beware people, my wife and I attended a large Christmas function at the convention centre last night and need I say the food was bad, real bad, started with something on a plate called a salad, it was about ten little pieces of spinach with 4 berries laid on it. Looked and tast like something a 4 year old would make, the main meal was suppose to be Turkey supper. Remember yrs ago when you could buy the turkey in a bag and all you had to do was boil it and it came with its own gravey, well that's what they served, along with cold cold carrots and poorly made mashed potatoes, no flavour or seasoning at all, and dessert was frozen chees cake. There were guest there from all over the world and we served them this crap, sad. Very poorly done by the person in charge of the kitchen....I really can't call them a chef.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farmeral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal at the convention centre during your recent holiday event. I can assure you that turkey dinner which is served at many holiday functions is not processed or boiled in a bag. All turkeys are cut from the bone and prepared in customary fashion. The menu itself would have been chosen and approved by your event organizer and not by our chef. It is unfortunate indeed that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is average/good. It is located in downtown. The rooms are spacious and pretty big. The furniture and carpet look old.

Bathrooms are big and house keeping is done daily and they do a very good job. Lobby looks old but have a different look.

there are plenty of good restaurants near by. Harbor is in few mins walking distance.

The only thing i did not like was Working desk has a chair without wheels, it looks more like a dining table.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Imtiaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you are going to St. John's and want to be right where all the action is, well this is your hotel. They are next to the Convention Centre and a couple blocks away from the Famous George Street. They are also walking distance from their downtown area (shopping and restaurants).

I'm giving this hotel a 4 star because of its location, its Fitness Centre and its very good service. The room itself is comfortable but the carpet had cigarette burns at some places. That carpet must have been there for a long time! They definitely need to revamp the inside of their rooms. Although the room looked clean.

If you are looking for a place that gives a good service, a great location, a nice and handy Fitness Centre (pool, whirlpool, sauna and gym) and you can "lower" your expectations for the room... this is your place!

Room Tip: If it's your first time in St. John's, you could ask for a room that faces the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDM246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 120 New Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing