We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but needs to step it up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Summerside, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly but needs to step it up”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location is great as it is just a short walk away from downtown and within walking distance of Signal Hill. The hotel staff are friendly but the attention to details is just a bit slack. For example, I got a wake-up call I did not book, my room service breakfast was missing the orange juice and the paper..... The rooms are comfortable but a bit tired and worn. I have stayed here before and would do so again but for the cost I am disappointed!

Room Tip: I have a room with city view on the 5th floor. I can see a bit of the water and the room is quiet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinek839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Katherine

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre. I would like to apologize for the obvious lack of attention to detail that you encountered during your stay and we certainly appreciate your willingness to continue to patronize our hotel. We would be happy to provide a complimentary upgrade on your next stay if you would like to contact me directly. I am pleased to advise that renovations to our guestrooms will commence in early 2014.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    305
    149
    40
    14
See reviews for
66
156
36
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is right downtown, a bit tired in decor but convenient, set up of meeting rooms very good, larger convention style halls are a good hike across the street via a covered bridge - a bit far , but overall good experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre.
Our location is ideally situated for conventions and we are pleased to report that with the upcoming convention centre expansion, a new and more direct link to the Delta will be constructed. In addition, renovations to our guestrooms will begin once again early next year (2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

As a family of five we did have to book two rooms which was a little pricey and my Delta Priveldge card would not credit both rooms. The kids enjoyed the pool, George street was a few monutes walk and many restaurants to eat at if you did not want to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was not included which was sad after paying $550.00 per night for 3 nights. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunscreen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre.
I do hope that your family enjoyed your time in our hotel. Our policy is that if a DP member books a second room for use by their family, then they do indeed get credited for that room. If you would like to contact me directly so this can be rectified, please do so anytime.
We hope you will consider us again in your travel plans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, NB
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed one night and it's still a good choice for downtown, however the competition is heating up with newer hotels in vicinity. Room was fine although the shower ran hot-cold briefly, which was annoying. Restaurant is a bit pricey if you wish to stay in, but there are good restaurants nearby, so lots of options. A Tim Hortons coffee shop through the pedway is very convienient and economical. Staff are always helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, a big new building is blocking the former beautiful view of the harbor, so disappointing surprise. I guess it's the price of progress and oil money. It used to be my favourite hotel and I'd stay there again because it's a nice hotel and good location, but might look at other options in future.

Room Tip: Top floors, harbour view, is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovery169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find it always to be clean, the hotel staff to be courteous, and it has all the ammenities. a safe bet when in St. John's. Centrally located to the Arena, George Street, restaurants and shopping, as well as the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre and for your favourable comments.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently booked the best hotel room the delta has to offer. Parking cost extra (never heard of that at a hotel) the room for one night cost almost $400. When I got to the room the bar fridge was broke the shower head was spraying water everywhere (roof, wall, curtain). I got woke up in the middle of the night to a phone call asking if I was using the jacuzzi (which I wasn't, I was trying to sleep). The following morning I checked out and nothing was said to me however when I got home I looked at my credit card and I seem additional charges from the delta for "water damage". I never caused any water damage. They never even told me there was an issue. Do t stay here take your lonely elsewhere not worth the price of it at all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sero901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax, ns
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location right downtown which is close to most business locations. This hotel is probably the most popular among business travellers and is very busy so book ahead. They provide free undergroung parking and have a nice gym and pool area.

The rooms are average, some tired but there is a newer section that has more modern appointed rooms.

Restaurant on site which is good but like most hotels restaurants- overpriced. The staff here are genuinely pleasant and interested in making your stay enjoable.

I've not stayed at any other than the Holiday Inn and would say you are better off here simply because of location and this could be considered a little nicer than the HI.

I would prefer a Hampton Inn when travelling but to date there is not one in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a new section room if that is important to you or ask for Delta Privilege club which is a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference. I hope that future travellers will find it helpful. We are indeed the most popular hotel for business travellers and it is advised to book early for weekday travel. While we provide underground parking, it is not free but rather a $12 per day charge. The guestrooms that you refer to as tired will be completely renovated to the new Delta design beginning in early 2014.
i can also advise that a new Hampton Inn will be opening up in St. John's in the next 6 months, but it will be quite a distance from the downtown area.
We hope you will consider choosing the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
282 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
728 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 120 New Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing