We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, well located, comfortable”
Review of At Wit's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Wit's Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You won't go wrong if you decide to stay at At Wit's End. It's well located for the restaurants on Water and Duckworth Streets. Our room was spacious and comfortable; full breakfast offered; proprietors were more than accommodating, and are very knowledgeable about area's attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPL61113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for At Wit's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely B &B. Could not have asked for anything more. Very comfortable room. Spotlessly clean and a wonderful breakfast. We have stayed all across the island and this would rate as our very first choice. We certainly would return if we are in St.Johns.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitchenerScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Everything about this place was perfect! It's absolutely beautiful and at the same time totally comfortable. Janet and Gary are warm and welcoming and full of good advice on what to do in St. John's. There was port available the evening, chocolates in our bedroom, and a refrigerator for guests stocked with various snacks and treats for the taking. (We left some beer there. If you hurry, maybe you can still get one!) Breakfast was delicious—especially the homemade biscuits. Mmmm. And, oh yes, Bowzer the resident cat is super-friendly. We were sad that we only had one night to stay; if we are ever back in St. John's (and we hope we will be), we will absolutely stay at At Witt's Inn again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelinJenny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Found out exactly why the reviews are so positive and high! Spent 3 nights. Wonderful bedrooms and bathrooms. Delicious breakfasts! Brewster the cat is one of the friendliest I've ever met! Port on the table each evening...very delicious! Access to a kitchenette and fridge for eating and storing snacks with coffee and tea always available. I could go on and on but....check it out yourself if you are in St. John's, you won't be disappointed!! Great recommendation from Janet and Gary, the ever so special hosts, for dinner....Bacalau...scrumptious! Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in St. John's. Did I mention that it's within walking distance of Water, Duckworth and George Streets?

Room Tip: Room 1.....bright with 2 twin beds!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent our last night in Nfld at this B&B and were very pleasantly surprised! The room was lovely and large. The bathroom was huge, and had a clawfoot tub and great shower. There were all kind of amenities; bathrobes, chocolates in the room, nice fan to keep things cool, wireless internet to name a few. The house is beautuful and the hostess, Janet very friendly and helpful. We could not stay for breakfast in the morning, so she packed us a wonderful continental breakfast to go. It has a great location close to everything. A very good find!!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ladies from Niagara....Amazing local cuisine served at breakfast and the home is beautiful with great accommodation and amenities. Hosts Janet and Gary gave us great ideas for a walking tour of downtown. Stayed two nights...a great start to our road trip through NFLD in June 2012!

Room Tip: Nice option of a room with twin beds for pals to share.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEL5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I travelled from east to west in Newfoundland and stayed at 10 different bed and breakfasts. This one was tops. We stayed in two different rooms at At Wits Inn and both were lovely, lots of room and well laid out. Janet and Garry were very helpful, letting us know what to see and where to eat out. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. The breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit and hearty courses. The home is attractively decorated. I would highly recommend staying here.
Parking is on the street with a permit from the B&B. Our room faced the front and did find some traffic noise in the evening but it was quiet after 11Pm for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovebirdnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
825 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
607 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
404 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
327 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wit's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wit's Inn

Address: 3 Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1M9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $105 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Queen Anne home c.1890, located in the heart of old St. John's. Spacious and airy, we provide our guests with a comfortable night's stay and a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. Minutes away from many of the most popular historic sites and attractions; we are on the doorstep to the East Coast Trail and inner city trail systems. We are happy to provide insight and suggestions into local sights and tours; we welcome everyone equally and hope to ensure an enjoyable visit. Bedrooms each have private en suite bathrooms, cable/DVD, desks and seating. WiFi and guest computer and printer. Fresh locally sourced breakfast included, made daily from scratch. Pantry with fridge/freezer, toaster and microwave provided for guest use and on-street parking is provided for all guests. Host/owner operated; within short walking distance to major attractions, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Wit's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wit`s Hotel St. John`s
At Wit's Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing