We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Downtown St. John's”
Review of At Wit's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Wit's Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February 2012 for one night. We really enjoyed the atmosphere of this B & B. It was very relaxing and quiet. We had room 4, which had a large bathroom with a claw foot tub. It was just perfect after a long day of shopping. It is close to the downtown core so we walked to Water Street for dinner.
Upon arrival we were told to make ourselves comfortable and there was unlimited access to tea, coffee and snacks in the kitchen areas. Breakfast in the morning was continental, but quite filling. We had croissants, cheese, eggs, toast, oatmeal, yogurt and more. It was much more than a standard continental breakfast.
We would recommend this B & B as a nice, quiet retreat!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get room 4. It is quite large and has a claw foot tub, perfect for soaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewfieTravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

After spending nearly 2 weeks in Newfoundland, we saved the best for last. We were welcomed into the "Inn" by the daughter of the owner. She was very enthusiastic and welcoming. She provided us with recommendations for restaurants, local watering holes "Bars", and directions to historical sites not to be missed while in St John's. Later in the evening we met our host Janet who was pleasant and friendly. She prepared the best breakfast in the morning and made sure everyone was full and happy. The "Inn" is very attractive and well maintained, especially being one of the older historical houses in town. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are really comfy. Stay here and enjoy your time in St John's which will grow on you quickly.
Don't forget to make a side trip to "The Battery", which is a small settlement at the end of town below Signal Hill. The homes are built into the towering cliffs and are painted all kinds of wild colors. Ask around for the old convenience store. The locals will invite you in and play the Newfoundland instrument, the "Ugly Stick" for ya. What a hoot.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank EarthGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

LOVELY, LOVELY, LOVELY!!! An extremely comfortable B & B, good location, very friendly, obliging hosts, great value, best breakfast of our whole trip, (thanks Janet). Nothing was too much trouble!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Two couples stayed at this B and B in JULY.. because we had to leave early in the morning the Owner prepared a special breakfast the night before. So we left early sated with fresh fruit. We were actualy lucky as the power went out in the night all across the downtown core. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintainned. The location is within walking distance of the Port and George Street. For both couples this was a first time staying in a B and B. We were very impressed and would like to go again. Thanks for making our first night in Newfoundland so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Janet made the best breakfast on our whole trip. She is so nice to talk to, the home is lovely, the room is cosy, our bathroom was big. You get a free parking pass which is good for downtown parking as well (George St). The location is perfect to walk around shopping or head up to Signal Hill. The only down side to this B&B is you have to carry your luggage up a steep flight of stairs or even 2 flights of stairs. You might want to check if she has a lower floor room if possible. Thank goodness I have a strong pack horse of a husband, lol.

Room Tip: if you cant carry your luggage or have someone else carry your luggage then see if she has a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missingthebuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night, at the end of our time in Newfoundland. We were in Room 3, which was on the small side, and equipped with only a shower. The bed had a feather topper pad over it, which actually wasn't that comfortable, because it was kind of lumpy, but I know that some people like them. The sheets were soft, and smelled delicious. Breakfast was very tasty, and Gary and Janet are affable hosts.

My only caveat, and it applies to most of the B&B's in St. John's - is that you should expect to have to climb 2 or 3 floors of steep - STEEP - narrow stairs. We left our big suitcase downstairs, and only brought up the small bag. If you have bad knees or ankles, or are overweight - you'll be better off in a hotel in St. John's.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Like coming home to friends and family cozy atmosphere, spotless
rooms, food was delicious a must stay. I have already picked out my
room for next time.
May06-13 2011
Bonnie Richmond, BC

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bon_MacQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
622 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Roses Heritage Inn
#2 of 25 in St. John's
166 reviews
Hometel on Signal Hill
#5 of 25 in St. John's
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wit's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wit's Inn

Address: 3 Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1M9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Queen Anne home c.1890, located in the heart of old St. John's. Spacious and airy, we provide our guests with a comfortable night's stay and a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. Minutes away from many of the most popular historic sites and attractions; we are on the doorstep to the East Coast Trail and inner city trail systems. We are happy to provide insight and suggestions into local sights and tours; we welcome everyone equally and hope to ensure an enjoyable visit. Bedrooms each have private en suite bathrooms, cable/DVD, desks and seating. WiFi and guest computer and printer. Fresh locally sourced breakfast included, made daily from scratch. Pantry with fridge/freezer, toaster and microwave provided for guest use and on-street parking is provided for all guests. Host/owner operated; within short walking distance to major attractions, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Wit's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wit`s Hotel St. John`s
At Wit's Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing