We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaside Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
Ranked #4 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
SOUTH FLORIDA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leaside Manor”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just returned from an 11 night stay in Newfoundland and 7 nights in Nova Scotia. Leaside Manor was our introduction to Newfoundland and our first B&B of the vacation. We stayed three nights in the Upstairs Argentia Suite. This was a large room that easily accommodated my husband and myself. It was well appointed and the staff were all very friendly. The only comment I would make about the room was to be careful if you're a tall person. There are low ceiling beams that you have to watch out for, especially in the dark. My husband is tall but we didn't have any unwanted encounters with the beam. The room had a large tub and separate shower and was very light and warm. The breakfast specials varied each day and there was always an assortment of cold cereals. Peggy, the onsite manager was very nice to us and provided utensils, etc for us on one of the nights we brought dinner in from the local grocery store. This B&B is not right in the heart of downtown, which might be a good thing if you want a more quiet atmosphere, especially at night. It is only about a 5-10 min drive into town and on the more crowded nights in the downtown area, might be smarter to take a taxi both ways. Found parking to be very difficult in downtown St. John's on of the our attempts.

Room Tip: There is a neighborhood laundromat nearby if you need. Ask Peggy for the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevsouthflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    75
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
44
455
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Leaside in August and enjoyed it ! The staff was amazingly friendly, the Manor is Immacualte and extemely Beautiful and Romantic. We were only there one night but wish it was longer, we will definately return again. We stayed in the BakeApple Suite and it was absolutely Stunning, Beautiful, Romantic - No other word than Perfect describes it.

Thank you Leaside - we will be back again soon.
Deirdre and Paul

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlinehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

i have stayed at many B & B over my travels as a sales rep for Atlantic Canada, the Leaside manor is the absolute best i have stayed in. The service was top notch, the rooms were gorgeous . i stayed in three different ones, and each one brought a huge smile on my face to be able to stay and enjoy the decor, the jacuzzi tubs, and the coziness of each room. I stayed in a few other B & B's during my trip to Newfoundland and nothing compares to the Leaside Manor.
Can't wait to go back again.
Lynn Marie Boudreau

Room Tip: i loved the signal hill room, has a full suite, kitchenette, huge jacuzzi tub. i also loved the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNMARIE199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Leaside for 5 nights. It was a delightful start to our (wonderful) vacation on The Rock. It's a very pleasant property, clean and well-kept. The rooms and common areas are decorated mostly with antiques and furnishings that were reminiscent of my grandparents home. In contrast, the three suites on the lower level are more chic and moderne. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast is served in a large bright dining room, that is nicely appointed with period knick-knacks and a large map of Newfoundland. Guests sit around one large table, family style. We enjoyed talking with other travelers about what to do and where to go during our vacation. The table isn't large enough to seat all guests at once, so if you arrive for breakfast at peak busy hour, you might have to wait in the comfortable 'lobby' until space becomes available and enjoy a cup of coffee while you're waiting. Or you can take breakfast in your room.

There is free WiFi available, with a number of base stations providing good coverage around the property. Alas, they are not configured to provide seamless roaming, but that's a minor inconvenience.

A recent review here complained about the lack of choice at breakfast. In contrast, we experienced a nice variety during our stay. Every day there was a 'special' of some sort (french toast, western omlette, etc), or one could request eggs made to order. In addition, there was an assortment of cold cereals for those not wanting a hot breakfast. The main course was usually preceded by a special not-low-cal treat (apple crumble, for example). There was a selection of juices, plus coffee and tea. The food might not be considered 'gourmet', but it was consistently well-prepared and satisfying.

While the Leaside is generally well-furnished and equipped, there are some notable lapses not in keeping with a top-rated property. Our suite (the Bakeapple) was a large room with a queen bed, a big tub (not jetted), a sofa for watching TV, an ensuite bathroom with a tiny shower stall, and two closets. Alas, there was not a single hanger to be found, so we couldn't hang up our garments. And there was only one luggage stand, which my travelling companion commandeered immediately upon arrival. So for the duration of our stay, my suitcase sat on the floor and I'd rummage around on my hands and knees deciding what to wear each day. We checked out some of the other rooms during our stay and found that some had no luggage stands at all. Another amenity one might expect are fluffy white bathrobes, especially since most of the rooms are equipped with large bathtubs. A couple of suites even have jacuzzis. Dora and staff could easily correct these shortcomings and further improve the Leaside experience.

The Leaside Manor is situated on a hill with a rather steep driveway at the left side of the building down to a gravel parking lot behind. The narrow driveway entrance can be a bit hard to find in the dark. The main entrance to the lobby is at street level. It's a goodly climb up the driveway dragging one's luggage for check-in.

TIP: there are two paved parking spots just to the right of the building on street level. It's not obvious they belong to the Inn, but are marked by a "Canada Select" sign. First come, first served. If your room is on the main or upper level, these two spots are more convenient.

TIP: the Inn has three suites on the lower level in what used to be the basement of the original heritage building. They have private entrances off the parking lot. If you or a member of your party are mobility-impaired, these lower-level suites are ideal, as you don't have to park in the lot and then climb up the steep driveway and stairs to reach your room.

TIP: while Topsail Road is by no means a busy thoroughfare, it's has a bit of an incline (and St. John's seems to have a lot of cars with bad mufflers!). If you are a light sleeper, you might be disturbed by noisy vehicles zooming up the hill at night. The Bakeapple Suite and two others on the second floor have windows overlooking the street. If noise is a concern, be sure to ask for a room at the back of the property.

Despite these minor criticisms, we'd gladly return to the Leaside Manor on our next visit to St. John's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screen-gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Leaside Manor the night of our wedding, and had a great time. The room was very nice and the bed was quite comfortable. The hot-tub was very relaxing after a very long day. We were treated to a delicious breakfast in our suite the following morning. Leaside manor is a great place for a romantic evening, or just a relaxing stay in the city of St. John's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leasidemanor, Owner at Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding! We hope you will be back with us celebrating many anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have visited St. John's 3 times, so to make such a declaration as the title may seem a bit presumptuous. However: we will stay nowhere else on any future visit. For the same price as an upper-mid category hotel room at, say, the Delta you get so much more.

We stayed in the Bonavista Suite. Private entrance, Jacuzzi, separate shower/WC/wash-up area, King bed with such beautiful decor and fridge/microwave/coffee maker/sink/dishes. OK, no harbour view...but the suite so was beautiful that we never wanted to look outside! Add to this that breakfast was served in room as part of the stay and it was an incredible oasis to be cherished. We also had a small private patio with two Muskoka chairs for a relaxing drink in the evening if the weather had co-operated.

The decor was very ‘modern’ for an old, stately B&B with such history, but if you want period style rooms they are available. Excellent service and so very close to downtown. If you feel like a night out on George Street or a lengthier sampling of one of the many excellent restaurants and their wine lists, its only a $10 cab fare.

Very friendly staff: I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leasidemanor, Owner at Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It always brings us great joy when we hear that our guests so enjoyed the place! Hope to see you back with us next time you visit the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 5-night stay at the Leaside Manor Inn. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and our room (Bakeapple) was clean, spacious, and well appointed. Even though we were there in the summertime, we got good use out of the jetted tub and the fireplace (the fireplace is not real, but looks pretty). The included breakfast was OK--rather basic, but serviceable. The location is not far from downtown St John's; we were told it was about a 30 minute walk, but we chose to drive since parking downtown was not too tough.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Monastery Spa & Suites
#21 of 22 in St. John's
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments

Property: Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
Address: 39 Topsail Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2A6, Canada (Formerly Leaside Manor Heritage Inn)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaside Manor is St. John's most popular small inn/B&B, offering romantic, double tub suites with fireplaces; fully-furnished executive apartments; unique meeting facilities with catered meals - all within a 5 minute drive of the downtown. An owner-hosted facility, Leaside offers a full cooked breakfast served in your suite; free wireless, parking; trip planning assistance. Leaside provides all the amenities of a hotel while giving you the personalized attention that only a small inn can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaside Manor Heritage Hotel St. John`s
Leaside Suites And Executive Apartments Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing