We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed have stayed in a few different suites each one of them were different however each one of them were beautiful!!! The staff are amazing!! We find now when we want a night out we keep going back. It is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing staff and beautiful rooms! We stayed in the Avalon sweet, and I can honestly say it was my dream room, jacuzzi and all ! A must stay, with complementary breakfast.... Can't ask for more :) I cannot wait to go back and enjoy a glass of wine in the jacuzzi, then curl up by the fireplace while watching the hockey game on the flat screen tv!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just spent a night at Compton House and I must say we were more then pleased the location was great so close to downtown we went to a concert , the room was beautiful and spotless and the staff were so friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a choise to either have breakfast in your room or in the Dining Room, I would gladly return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked the Avalon Suite for our wedding. It worked perfect because it was a match to our wedding colour scheme and would look great for photos. When we arrived early for our requested early checkin there were still guests from the night before in the room. The attendants gave us another room to get ready in while we waited for last nights guests to leave. Unfortunately the guests stayed well past checkout time and we couldn't get into the room to get pictures of the ladies in my wedding party to get ready. They did manage to clean the room quickly, and get myself in there to get the wedding dress on in pictures. They also allowed the groom and groomsmen to wait in the hall while I finished up and allowed pictures in the hall of our wedding party as well. They did everything they could to make sure we were happy and were not put out. There were a few little stumbles throughout our special day, but once our day was over and we made it back to our suite for the night all our troubles melted away. The room was beautiful. The fireplace was a bonus, along with the jacuzzi tub. Breakfast in bed the next morning, and the 12 noon checkout were a plus. In the past 2 weeks I have recommended the Compton House to friends and family, and will continue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephencassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great stay! Friendly staff, we will definitely be back again! Loved having breakfast delivered to our door, and the rose petals on the hot tub were so romantic! such a cute little area. We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff were very friendly and really seem to love what they do. Had an excellent stay in the Burin Suite. Really enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub in our room and the room was extremely clean. Having the option to have breakfast delivered to our room was a bonus along with the 12pm checkout. Will recommend the Compton house to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great place to spend some time with that special someone. The room was well appointed, clean and all the amenities one would desire. They even noted that we didnt make it to breakfast and called up to see if we wanted it delivered to our room. We did and it was delivered in a few minutes. Tasty too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
622 reviews
Monastery Spa & Suites
#22 of 24 in St. John's
160 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 26 Waterford Bridge Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $92 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compton House Heritage Inn & Apartments consists of a pair of enchanting Victorian properties just a 15 minute walk from historic downtown St. John’s that offers Canada Select 4-star luxury bed and breakfast accommodations. Compton House Heritage Inn has been designated a heritage property by the City of St. John’s and is set in over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens in the Waterford River valley. Both the river and the St. John’s section of the famous Trans-Canada Hiking Trail are accessible from steps just across the street from Compton House. Both properties have been professionally restored and are lavishly decorated with polished wood, ornate moldings, many original fireplaces, and furnished with antiques, period furniture, original artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Compton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton House Bed & Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing