We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compton House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Compton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just stayed at the newly renovated Compton House and had a beautiful night ... you will not find a better place to stay in St. John's hands down! So close to Downtown but yet you don't have to stay at a Hotel! We will certainly be back to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gander, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent hotel! Beautifully decorated, great location and fabulous breakfast! I have celiac disease and when I spoke to the staff they were quite aware and even had gluten free bread on hand. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Avalon Suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boots4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Puffin room was very spacious, the beds were very comfortable, the open windows a wonderful addition. The bathroom had an odor to it though - sort of stale laundry - like wet towels that sat in the washer for a day or two before being dried.

The breakfast was too much for us, so for those who like a hearty breakfast, they would not be disappointed. We are not that type, so they were very accommodating and gave us toast and jam which suited us just fine.

I loved the wide slope to the staircase. Made hauling luggage easy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
718 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Puffin room was clean, very spacious, and even had a fake fireplace lit for us when we got in. We arrived close to 10 pm, so they told us how to get in and locate our room and keys. Easy as could be. Breakfast was ample and yummy. Wonderful, cheerful renovations.

Our only regret is that we were there only 1 night.

This is not a B&B in the normal sense where a family lives on the property and welcomes you, but it was wonderful just the same. If ever in this beautiful area, we would stay here again. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for our 12th anniversary! The house has been renovated so beautifully!! Our room was the Avalon. This room was so romantic with the Jacuzzi in the room. We were served a beautiful and delicious breakfast in bed. The house is close enough to downtown to walk to nearby resturants and pubs. We will deffinatly be back again. Just beautiful!!!

Room Tip: Avalon room was beautiful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newfiebenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this accommodation for four days and enjoyed every moment of our visit. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted. Staff was very friendly and informative. Cleanliness was exceptional and the staff took great pride in keeping it that way. The hot breakfasts were delicious and were very filling and refills of coffee and tea were abundant. As well, coffee and tea were available for us whenever we wanted during our stay. The staff were visible throughout the day to assist us and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We stayed in the Victorian style Pippy room for part of our visit and it was beautiful - large, roomy and very inviting. We were told this room will be undergoing renovations later this year - hopefully it will not lose its Victorian atmosphere. We moved down to the Avalon room the next two nights (Pippy was already booked for these evenings). It also was lovely and bright with its contemporary decor and en-suite bath and so clean as well. Beds in both rooms were very comfortable. The front garden beds were being renovated during our stay and by the time we were leaving, they were finished and looked so beautiful. It was disappointing that we had to go. My husband and I hope to return next year and will not hesitate to make our reservations here. We took many pictures of both rooms and the garden and will be highly recommending this B & B to everyone we know travelling to Newfoundland.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are a bit quieter (especially the Pippy) as you don't hear people coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in the Blueberry Suite for just a single night, however it was a wonderful experience! The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and we took full advantage of the jacuzzi and granite stand up shower. Breakfast in the morning was delivered to our room and we were so sad to leave!

Room Tip: I believe that some rooms have yet to be renovated, however I did not see any of those rooms to trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Bannerman Park Suites
#12 of 23 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Hometel on Signal Hill
#8 of 23 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Compton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 26 Waterford Bridge Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compton House Heritage Inn & Apartments consists of a pair of enchanting Victorian properties just a 15 minute walk from historic downtown St. John’s that offers Canada Select 4-star luxury bed and breakfast accommodations. Compton House Heritage Inn has been designated a heritage property by the City of St. John’s and is set in over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens in the Waterford River valley. Both the river and the St. John’s section of the famous Trans-Canada Hiking Trail are accessible from steps just across the street from Compton House. Both properties have been professionally restored and are lavishly decorated with polished wood, ornate moldings, many original fireplaces, and furnished with antiques, period furniture, original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Compton House Bed & Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing