We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Nearby Hotels
$135
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$158
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$147
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$102
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
47
76
66
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
76
66
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids eat freewater slidescoffee makerfourth floorup to datemini fridgesignal hillairportdowntownstcanadawashroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 226 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I went there last night to visit my sister and go for a swim in the outdoor pool but when we asked the receptionist she said it wasn't opened yet because it's seasonal? What season do you open it for? Summer officially started last week. Then she said well you know Newfoundland weather?? The last 2 summers have been amazing and definitely warm enough to have the pool going this time of year. You offer the only outdoor pool in a hotel in this city and it's not opened for summer?? She couldn't tell me if it was opening anytime soon either. So my sisters whole family were very disappointed since that's why they booked it. The receptionist also said it was written on your website that the pool was being renovated but the only info I could find about the pool was it was seasonal. My husband had booked an executive suite for us for my birthday on July 1st just because I love the pool there so we cancelled our reservation. It was very disappointing. She was right Newfoundlands weather is unpredictable but it's summer now and it's a heated pool so if your going to post seasonal it should open the first day of summer or at least by July 1st like every other outdoor pool in Newfoundland.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank onannday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear onannday,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pool policies prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed 7 nights...the room was regularly cleaned..the restaurant "East side Mario" was awesome..the only complaint would be about the wifi.. the network was poor in my room for couple of days...may be because my room was at the end of the corridor..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Overall great stay. Lots of free parking, free wi fi was appreciated, loved East Side Mario's restaurant and the half price appetizers. They always provide consistent friendly service. Appreciate that pets are permitted as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Traveller:

Thank you for your comments as they are always appreciated.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Clean. Price is good. 5min drive from airport. There is shopping in walking distance but the bigger malls are 10min drive. Restaurant's are close by, but Eastside Mario's in the hotel is really good. Close to walking trails, 10-15min drive from downtown St. John's, Signal Hill and Mile one centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Cindy S.

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreicated.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area, along with East Side Mario's on site.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a valentines day special they had on. First of all the staff was great and friendly. The room was very clean and modern. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning again next year if they have the valentines day special on again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dillonjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Dillonjm:

Thank you for your comments pertaining to your stay at Holiday Inn St. John's for the Valentine's weekend.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & experience with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

regards,

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews