We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Clean. Price is good. 5min drive from airport. There is shopping in walking distance but the bigger malls are 10min drive. Restaurant's are close by, but Eastside Mario's in the hotel is really good. Close to walking trails, 10-15min drive from downtown St. John's, Signal Hill and Mile one centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Cindy S.

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreicated.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area, along with East Side Mario's on site.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a valentines day special they had on. First of all the staff was great and friendly. The room was very clean and modern. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning again next year if they have the valentines day special on again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dillonjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Dillonjm:

Thank you for your comments pertaining to your stay at Holiday Inn St. John's for the Valentine's weekend.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & experience with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

regards,

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Well..... not much to say about this Holiday Inn, pretty average located between Airport and downtown, aged place with clean rooms, breakfast is only available at restaurant located at ground level, no safe boxes at the rooms. Ejoyed the staff, very keen people, good wi-fi and definitively clean. Stayed for 7 days and went good since i did not have any high expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Corysp:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the wi-fi connections, along with our staff services.

Although we do not have safes in our bedrooms, we do offer safety deposit boxes at our front desk for Guest use.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

regards

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The one channel I wanted to watch RDS, was coming in black so i was unable to watch the habs game. I mentioned it to manager and front desk and they said to go watch it in restaurant. This needs to get fixed.
Also the gym was missing cleaning towels, after two days I had to go mention it to them.
My room 360 had a funny odor so I had to keep window open and it was cold!
Staff was friendly though!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Nicq:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated.

We are working with our local cable company on our chanel line up. Recently we have had some concerns with chanels dropping off from our system, and unfortunately that night, it was RDS.

Your comments pertaining to the fitness area, will be brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper for review and follow up.

Please accept our sincere aplogies and we look forward to your next visit.

regards,

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had an unexpected stay when we couldn't take off due to a blizzard anymore... Staff were friendly and when there were repeated power outages they provided free coffee, soup, cereals etc. There is a good restaurant/bar within the hotel, so it is convenient to have a drink. Pizza's are quite good.
I would have wished for a sauna or an indoor pool but there is an outdoor pool only. Not of much use when there's -35 C and a meter of snow...
Lots of walking trails nearby (which we couldn't use thanks to all that snow)...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usuallyscubadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear usuallyscubadoc:

Thank you for your comments pertaining to your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay during an unfortunate visit with the storm. It is nice to hear you found our staff friendly and accomodating and you ejnoyed the Food & Beverages services at our East Sside Mario's restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is very nice, large, comfortable! There isn't much around it in walking distance, but you can take a 10 min taxi ride to anywhere you wanna go from this hotel.They have an East Side Mario's restaraunt and it is very good but very busy! I would go back here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_gurl_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Travelling Gurl 23:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad you found the accomodations at Holiday Inn St. John's comfortable and you enjoyed our Eastside Mario's restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit.

regards,

Norman V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for work. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. The East Side Marios restaurant provided a standard breakfast menu or a buffet - it was OK. The "gym" consisted on an old Universal gym, a bike and a couple of ellipticals - nothing to write home about. The pool was outdoor and was closed for the season. Very large parking lot with good access to main roads. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zr1100c3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear zr1100c3:

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad you found your accomodations spacious and clean and were able to take advantage of our Food & Beverages services.

We will certainly share your comments with our Team Members of their friendliness. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Norman Van De Spiegle. CHA
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
866 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $111 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Pool & Water Slides Hours: Water Slides: Monday-Friday 5pm-9pm, Saturday/Sunday 9am-9pm Pool: Daily 9am-9pm The Hotel is located just minutes from St. John’s International Airport (YYT) and local Government Offices including the Confederation Building. If you plan on heading into the heart of St. John’s, we are just a short drive to Downtown St. John’s. On site amenities including two 165 Ft waterslides, indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, on-site guest laundry facilities, complimentary parking and high-speed internet access. Thinking of dining options? Stop into East Side Mario’s, our on-site restaurant. As always with the Holiday Inn brand, Kids Under 12 Eat Free (ask hotel for details). Travelling with your trusty companion? Our hotel is pet-friendly so you can bring the entire family along. The Holiday Inn St. John’s is situated near Janeway’s Children’s Hospital and the Health Sciences Centre. If you are in the area to visit the Marine Institute, we are conveniently located 5 minutes away. Other local places of interest include, Memorial University, Pippy Park and Fluvarium. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, the Holiday Inn St. John’s Conference Centre is the perfect place to stay while you visit the St. John’s area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing