We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POOR VALUE”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Holiday Inn charges for the second person $10.00
I have never had to pay for an extra person if we're only two adults.

We took the best for value package with breakfast not realizing that they only give a voucher for $20,00 (the buffet was $40.00 for two adults)

At every Hotel we have stayed at in the past they have always covered the full cost of breakfast when taking a breakfast package.

The total cost for one night was $230.78 including taxes, extra person, breakfast was an extra $20.00 even though we took a breakfast deal.

Holiday Inn is getting to expensive for the vacationers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationing711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear vacationing711,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    57
    28
    7
See reviews for
48
41
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good value - nice rooms, nice amenities, restaurant attached. Travelling for business, this is only about 10 mins from downtown and was much better value than the more central hotels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckeenan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great hotel @ a reasonable $$$.
Great location between the airport / down town and the mall.
$10 cab ride to almost anywhere.
Great bar and restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn St. John's for 5 nights in early May with a large sports event. Our room may have been the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in. Two tiny double beds(not queens) completely filled the room and the front desk told us that they could not give us a rollaway bed for our daughter because the rollaway would not fit in the room and was against fire regulations. The bathroom consisted of a tiny tub and toilet. The door to the bathroom was so small you had to turn sideways to get in, even though we are a small and fit family.

Outside of the bathroom, in the closet area, was the sink and mirror. Strangest set-up we have ever seen. Very inconvenient. Also, the walls are not sound-proofed well so you could hear the neigbours each night.

The hotel does not offer a breakfast. However, there is an East Side Marios attached to the hotel. East Side Marios was good for supper, however, for breakfast they were charging $9 per kid and $19 per adult for a limited buffet. Really? $56 plus tip for our family of 4 for a breakfast? No thanks. For most breakfasts we just went down the road to Tim Horton's.

The swimming pool for the hotel is outdoors and was slightly larger than a kids paddling pool. Of course, the pool was closed and is only open July and August. The fitness centre had 1 weight machine and it was not in very good condition. There was also a treadmill and one stationary bike.

Overall, the hotel was terrible and for $135 per night plus tax we felt it may have been the worst value we have gotten for a hotel.

We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natronic774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback. We will certainly share your feedback with our team members and our partners, East Side Mario's.

Rita M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I arrived after a 4 hour drive from Grand Falls, the greeting at the front desk from Millie was not friendly nor was it professional. She did not great me as a paying guest, but as someone who was interrupting her work.
The hotel is conveniently located (downtown, airport and shopping). I am a platinum member and therefore entitled to an upgrade, so I was given a king room, which is very spacious.
The room is clean, modern and the bed comfortable - just what you would expect with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibi_azim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear bibi_azim,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience and for being a Priority Club Platinum member. We are pleased you liked the hotel location as well as your room accommodations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
481 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My first room was an executive room. Nice room, but I had to go back to the front desk and ask for another room. There was no way to open a window and get fresh air in the executive rooms. The air was pretty stale in the room. The standard room I got was small and cramped, but I made out. The bathroom area where the toilet and shower are is VERY SMALL. The only way I could have enough room to dry off after the shower was to leave the bathroom door open and I am just an average size adult. If I had been a large person, there would not have been room to be in the bathroom and dry off. I felt like for what I got, the price was too high. The hotel is not far from the airport or down town which is nice. This would not be the place to stay if you wanted to spend your time down town and did not have a car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Traveler06232009,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Holiday Inn St. Johns. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in St. Johns.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

As a platinum priority club member was upgrade to the executive floor with the feel of a King jr. suite - small sitting area, desk and large flat screen.

Also receive a welcome package from the hotel with a bottle of water and some treats.

This hotel is close to the airport but I have never heard any planes with my many stays over the years.

Exterior of the hotel appears warn down slightly and could use some updates. Inside is clean and oddly laid out.

I usually stay here for easy access to the attached restaurant (east side mario's but it is overpriced, as I find the hotel is over priced)

I'm always treated well and feel welcome by all staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
378 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Property: Holiday Inn St. Johns
Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing