We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad...”

Red Rock Bar and Grill
Ranked #96 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went out for a family dinner and the kids chose this restaurant. We began with some nachos and Thai wontons which were quite tasty. Dinner portions are large and everyone enjoyed their meals including prosciutto chicken, BBQ chicken, and bacon wrapped pork medallions. I unfortunately ordered the mussels as my main course and cannot say I would recommend them as they were over cooked and not very flavorful.

The servers were friendly and efficient. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jode3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The best breakfast”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely location with nice big chairs, good service and the best breakfast I have ever had. My other half had the big House Breakfast which he said was sensational and I had the Vegetarian Breakfast which was awesome. Lovely fresh ingredients, big enough but not too big. Service was prompt and the prices were reasonable. Haven't eaten anything else there but based on the breakfast would recommend giving any meal a go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall good experience last night at Red Rock. Reasonably priced and our waiter Sean was fantastic. Would definitely recommend the fish and chips.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeemanNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I drive past Red Rock every day and decided to go there for supper one night. The French onion soup (which is my favorite meal) was the worst I've ever had. My husband had the chowder which was just average.
The reviews on here said the best burger in St John's! Not even close. But by a long shot. The burger was tasteless, dry, and way overcooked. Terrible. I will never go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Good value... Average food. I had the beef sandwich, and it was ok. Others in my party had the chowder which was very good. The fijita weren't bad, the Greek salad was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Bar and Grill also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Red Rock Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing