We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scallops, ever!”
Review of Bistro Sofia - CLOSED

Bistro Sofia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: If you're looking for amazing dishes, cakes and desserts at affordable prices, we are here at Bistro Sofia! Bistro Sofia offers warm, casual dining and robust bistro cuisine, in addition to an outstanding selection of house-made pastries. Make sure you save room for dessert!
Rutledge, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best scallops, ever!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was able to have dinner at Bistro Sophia twice. The food is undeniably great. The service is, at best, rather uneven. On my first visit the waiter replied "not a problem" to absolutely everything we said. He was very hard to find - I was unable to tell if he was messing around, slow or had too many tables - the next table over was experiencing the same waiter inconsistencies that we were.. On both visits the servers neglected to tell us that in order to have dessert we'd have to go up to the counter and order - we sat and waited, and waited and waited for either a dessert menu or some notice from our server that he/she was alive. Very weird for such an expensive place. Seared scallops (as an appetizer) were divine. The filet mignon entree was also very good. Enjoyed both desserts, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    21
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Bring Small Appetite and Big Wallet”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I liked the quality of what I had but the portions were small for the prices. I started with a salad that cost $9.95. For that I expected a decent size salad but this was a small salad that I would have expected to pay $6 for.

Many entrees were in the $28--32 range. We had a large party which may have accounted for the slow service- 3 hours for dinner.

They are known for their desserts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunDogandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albert
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Still Smiling !!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not realizing that having Sting in town <third week of June> would necessitate reservations on a Wednesday evening we had struck out at three previous locations! While the Bistro Sofia was equally busy with the pre-concert crowd the gentleman who met us at the door made an effort to find us a table which worked out extremely well. The effort put in to accomodating us continued on throughout the evening! Even though the restaurant was VERY busy both the gentleman and two ladies who served our table took time to answer our questions and make us feel comfortable! Their efforts were so appreciated and noteworthy of special recognition!
St. John's is noted for many fine dining establishments <and equally very high prices!> We found that while the quality of food at Bistro Sofia was just superb their prices are actually a bit lower than other similar restaurants. Many entries are in the mid-twenties, for example, which would be the starter level at other places. Our meals were just outstanding !! Personally had some soup <believe it was chicken vegetable> which was prepared perfectly and hit the spot on a cool & rainy evening. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her salmon <over a risotto base> which apparently was done to perfection. My entrie was something a bit different - a Lamb Shank. It was AMAZING !! So meaty --- so tender --- so flavourful!! The vegetables were also great ! Remember our hostess describing how the asparagus was prepared as we had to ask !!
We had been here before for desert <about three years ago> so had to try something again! The selection is almost overwhelming <you can go and look at the counter> and our choice was one of those 'best ever' that one feels at the time!
Thank you front staff and chefs for making our final night in St. John's before heading home to the Prairies most memorable. Am sure that many others will enjoy similar experiences to that which we so enjoyed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Last minute reservation on a busy Friday night, but ened up with a wonderful window table that allowed us to catch all the action outside.

Place was packed, staff was run off their feet.

First the not so good; waiter sat us down, and then nothing for 15 minutes, no menus, no water, no waiter, table beside us was seated and had their order placed before we even got menus.

Now the good; once our waiter showed up, he apologized for the delay, and we had great service for the balance of the evening.

Food was incredible, I had the fresh cod that was pan fried with vegetables that were perfectly cooked. Companion had the tenderloin steak (steak was a tad undercooked) with an incredible reduction sauce over it, mashed potato and vegtables on the side, she loved it.

Nice selection of reasonably priced $35-$55) wines, we had a Zinfandel which was delicious.

We finished off with a home made 5 layer chocolate cake, (all deserts are made in house) it was wonderful!

Great choice, I'll go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Global4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Based upon other recent reviews, Bistro Sofia seemed a good choice; however the atmosphere was dated and the food only fair. The mussels were fresh, but lacked flavour. The beet salad with feta lacked elegance with its (few) squares of beets and oversize pieces of lettuce. With a little bit of attention, it all could have been better. The desserts looked good, and it seems this might be a good locale for a dessert and coffee. Service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sofia also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
Goulds, St. John's
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing