We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base at excellent value to visit all the area attractions”
Review of Ramada St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada St. John's
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Originally, we just booked this Ramada for two nights as we were arriving late. However, we soon found the accommodation downtown was much more expensive and subject to the noise of the harbour which can go on into the wee hours of the morning including a 4200 person cruise ship that came in when we were there. As this hotel was close to the mall for essentials, great place for breakfast and convenient to access everything, we just decided to use as our base for the week and it worked out really well. Make sure you have a good city map or GPS regardless of where you stay though as signnage is poor in places and the streets confusing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoinLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 548 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Requested to borrow a microwave to make my son some breakfast and after 3 phone calls, it finally came almost 5 hours later. Wasn't informed of the construction going on right outside of the hotel so we lost out on some sleep and with a 2 year old, that wasn't fun. We also had to pay for the week upfront, so we had no option to leave. Booked a room on the main floor because we had so much stuff to bring in with us and ended up on the 3rd floor somehow. We had to lug all our stuff up a huge staircase to get into the hotel and then wait for an elevator that wasn't working properly, so that took forver. The doors in the elevator would just open and shut, open and shut, so you would be standing there waiting for it to stop so you could go. Staff weren't very friendly. One of them couldn't even be bothered to look up from his computer while I was talking to him about a gift shop/store.....which they don't have which was also kinda disappointing. The room was ok and it was cleaned everyday which was the best thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danikris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loandbehold, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

We value honest feedback and encourage all of our guests who stay with us to post a review expressing their satisfaction or concern with our hotel.
Our talented team of hospitality professionals are more than willing to help each and every guest with any question or concern they may have during your stay with us.
At times due to high business volumes we may not be able to meet all requests, but we do our best to accommodate your needs in any way possible.
We look forward to welcoming you during your visit to the historic and wonderful city of St. John's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here only because we couldn't find anywhere else to stay in the area, but were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. First, the hotel is very clean. It is also extremely quiet- something I came to appreciate after several stays in "louder" accommodations. In addition, the staff were extremely polite and helpful, regardless of the request. Even though the hotel is a bit out of the way of downtown, it is close to several places to dine and a bus route if you'd prefer not to find parking downtown St. John's. Several entrances to the hotel allow for privacy as you come and go. The only downside is the room service which is a bit overpriced. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdwatcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Last minute booking here as most other hotels booked up so not at all bad for the price. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Room service was a bit slow and a little bit pricey. Good location for a shopping trip to St Johns as the Avalon Mall is just down the road. Perfectly nice place to stay on a stop over in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleAlbert_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were here for four days. The staff was very helpful and FRIENDLY. Our rooms were comfortable and roomy. Breakfast in the hotel was delightful. Altogether, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreenanmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We traveled in the St. John's area for a week, and stayed at several hotels and B&Bs. We chose the Ramada for our last night as it was closer to the airport, and the price was economical. The staff were lovely and helped in every way. The business centre is a tiny partitioned area in the front lobby, with access to just one computer terminal (which meant a line-up of people hoping to book boarding passes, etc.). The hotel itself is new, clean, and the rooms were comfortable. As we were just staying one night, it wasn't much of a problem, but the room layout is unusual - the beds were close to the door to the room, and the tv sitting area was at the far wall. The room doors must have been in an air-lock, because each room closed with a resounding bang (I think we heard them all close!). Perhaps it was just this one room, but it felt odd to have the beds close to the room door as far as noise & privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandieFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

If I could put more than 5 on the service category, I would. They treat you more than just a customer. They pay attention to details and remember your name as well! Thank you especially to Jerry and Glenn!
Location wise, it might be a bit away from downtown, but if you can easily grab a taxi there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomdeyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 24 in St. John's
218 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 24 in St. John's
318 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada St. John's

Address: 102-108 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3R2, Canada (Formerly Hotel St. John's)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada St. John's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada St. John's recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation that included all guestrooms, public areas, restaurant and banquet/meeting rooms. All guestrooms are very tastefully decorated and are over-sized, offering free wireless hi-speed internet, large work desk, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramada St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada St John`s Hotel St. John`s
Ramada Hotel St Johns
St. John's Ramada
Ramada St. John's Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing