We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room but long ways to get to it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada St. John's
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great room but long ways to get to it!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You have to take a LONG trip to get to the elevator and it is a small and squeaky one that I was a bit worried something may go wrong each time I took it. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the spacious, modern and clean room. It also has a nice kitchen with a microwave and a full-sized fridge! Overall, we are very pleased with our stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyMapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaStJohns, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Ramada St. John's. All feedback is very valuable to us and we utilize responses such as this to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.
The location of the hotel elevator is unfortunately located in an area of the hotel that is not in the lobby area. I am pleased that you were very happy with your guestroom which is most important to any hotel stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    196
    110
    41
    9
See reviews for
155
138
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times in recent years and have had overall positive experiences with the hotel itself and staff. During this particular stay I was upgraded to a king suite. This room was very well appointed and ++ spacious!! Cleaning staff do an amazing job and the service I received during check in and check out reminds me of the many reasons I most often choose this hotel when staying in St. John's. Also, I highly recommend the resturant, PJ Billington's....Excellent food, great prices and fantastic service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review crystalnl. When possible we upgrade our guests and particularly our loyal guests and Wyndham Rewards Members. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, it means a lot to our entire team at the Ramada St. John's. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Regards, Greg Fleming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,030 reviews
402 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for one night based on TA reviews.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport ($27). They have a shuttle but I didn't know about this. The next morning I needed to leave to the airport at 6:30 AM and asked the hotel to book me a taxi and wasn't offered the van--maybe it doesn't leave that early.

The hotel is off a highway and surrounded by some a few other chain stores and restaurants but otherwise not close to anything.

The front desk staff were very helpful in storing luggage and getting me checked in. However, the hotel is very old and I had to go through a labyrinth of old, dark and dirty carpeted narrow corridors and a very old and slow lift to get to my room (301). Fortunately, my room was clean and spacious and the carpeting newer. Free WIFI was fast, they have a reasonable selection of cable channels and a small but decently equipped exercise room. Note, however, that it is locked at night.

As you step into the restaurant/bar you come upon a row of slot machines--this is not fine dining. However, service is excellent and the selection reasonable. There are few vegetarian options, but the staff will work with you to come up with something you can eat.

I got a good night's sleep but thought the room rate ($187 on Expedia) was far too high for a hotel needing to be refreshed in its common areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from the Ramada St. John's, and I am please with my choice of lodging. It was as I expected from my research - including using TA reviews. It is a busy area, but I heard NO road noise at all from my room. I would not want to be there w/o a car - so if you plan to do all your sightseeing on foot or by taxi, don't stay here.

I did not use their restaurant, but the aromas were good as I passed by. There is close access to many chain restaurants and stores - but again, a car is pretty vital.

The room was very large, even with 2 queen beds. It was clean (I like the trend of encasing comforters with clean white sheets); TV station selection wasn't huge, but certainly adequate. At time of reservation I asked for a room on the top floor and away from the elevator (all to reduce noise impact), and that is what I got. The only noise issues I had was some loud door closings from nearby rooms late night or early morning - but that was inconsiderate people, and a common problem in hotels. The staff I encountered was always friendly.

So for what the Ramada is advertised as, and the hotel chain level expected - it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Always try to get a top floor room, away from elevator & vending. No hotels during their shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfm132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review sfm132. We do our best to accommodate special requests and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to our entire team who work very hard to meet and exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Regards, Greg Fleming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The staff at Ramada went over the top to help me stay in my room a few more days than reserved. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. Internet was free and reasonably quick. Plenty of parking, all easily accessible. The hotel is pretty far from the downtown area, but well positioned overall for those with a vehicle, which allows access to the newer conveniences and shopping away from the city center.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Saint John's has a shortage of quality accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel, it means a lot to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Regards, Greg Fleming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable, the kitchen makes it great for extended stays. But if you want to just visit George Street and downtown, choose something closer to downtown like "The Battery".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaseCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton NL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my parents and we enjoyed the hotel and location. The room was clean and the beds were comfy! All requests we had during our stay were met by the friendly staff! Jeff the front desk attendant,was really friendly and helpful, truly a great worker that really cares about the guests experience. Checkout was quick and efficent.We enjoyed our stay and would stay again, however I do not recommend PJ Billingtons the restaurant in the hotel whatsoever, friendly staff but not so good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaStJohns, General Manager at Ramada St. John's, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. If possible please contact me directly in regards to your concerns regarding our restaurant gfleming@ramadastjohns.com Regards, Greg Fleming, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
363 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
534 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada St. John's

Property: Ramada St. John's
Address: 102-108 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3R2, Canada (Formerly Hotel St. John's)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada St. John's 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada St. John's recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation that included all guestrooms, public areas, restaurant and banquet/meeting rooms. All guestrooms are very tastefully decorated and are over-sized, offering free wireless hi-speed internet, large work desk, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada St John`s Hotel St. John`s
Ramada Hotel St Johns
St. John's Ramada
Ramada St. John's Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing