We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was attending a conference that was being held in the hotel's convention centre. The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided good views of the city. Free parking and free wifi are are welcome. I found the hotel staff to be quite friendly and accommodating however the food and beverage staff that were assigned to the conference included meals were not responsive to guest needs (all attendees were hotel guests) and was surprised given the caliber of hotel.

We ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food and service there was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andydufrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feelings about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities (parking and wi-fi) and got to experience the hospitality our associates have become known for. We are disappointed to hear that your conference meals were not what you had expected We have passed along your concerns to our culinary team. We hope to see you again the next time you visit St.John's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 825 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there with friends in August. It has been a couple years since we had enjoyed our last stay there when it was the Hotel Newfoundland and I have to say it has really went down hill! My booking was screwed up and I had to pay for an extra night which I was told would be taken care of when then manager arrived in the morning. NOT! It is the last week in September and still nothing. $358 for a room which we could not sleep in because of the noise downstairs! Our friends could not use their tub because it was broken and we all were awakened by dogs barking at 5:00 am. We told the people all about it upon check out and we got " oh I am so sorry". That's it! Not one other word. We will never stay there again. We moved to the Marriott just a stones throw from the Sheraton and it was awesome!! Don't waste your money by staying at the Sheraton!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and view them as an invaluable resource which allows us to celebrate successes and identify areas of opportunity. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered on your stay and we would very much like the chance to speak with you further regarding your experience. I can be reached directly at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great harbor view room. Bed was great. The room itself was spacious enough but had an air conditioner that sounded like a jet plane taking off. When we inquired about it we were told that some floors had been updated and ours wasn't. Fridge broke down but was promptly replaced the following morning. Gift shop was closed due to a change in ownership so we had to go out to get snacks, etc. Having said that, all the staff were pleasant and professional, making the inconveniences minimal. We were there for a conference so were not paying the posted room rate of $425. or $475 (can't remember). We did not feel the room or hotel could command that kind of rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room ,high floor, with newer air conditioner.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful view and comfortable Sweet Sleeper bed. We apologize for the inconveniences you suffered no matter how "minimal" and are glad to hear they did not negatively affect your stay. We hope to see you return soon so we can show you our newly renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton St-John's for 4 nights in early July. Room was large, extra clean, quiet, with a comfortable king size bed, free internet access and a great harbour view. The service at the hotel was first class: attentive and friendly. Location is great since this was near the start of the trails leading up to signal hill. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening and it was fabulous. There is also a nice place for breakfast right accross the street and a Loblaw's less than 4 minutes away by car. We really enjoyed our trip on the "rock". St-John's for a city its size has a lot to offer in and around it. Too bad that the forest fires in Labrador and Quebec made the skies grey for most of our trip but that was not a big deal. Felt that the people in NL are the best!

Room Tip: Of course, a harbour view is a plus !
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We appreciate your kind words RobCh and the time it took for you to share your review. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to the fullest (including our complimentary amenities) and that the only thing left is for you to return and see our blue skies and fresh ocean air. We'll hold a room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland as part of a wedding. The reception was held in their atrium gallery, which was unique and very classy. We had prebooked a room porthole view of the city and it was incredible. The room was clean and well appointed. I tried to take a decent pic of the porthole view, but alas, I am a terrible photographer. Conveniently located, and friendly staff - put that goes without saying on the rock :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassbrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thought about your visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding in our wonderful courtgarden, it truly is a beautiful feature of the hotel. You will have to come back and stay with us again in order to capture that elusive picture from the porthole window. *Hint* The view is stunning when the city has a light layer of snow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely hotel, extremely clean, and despite its size remarkably quiet. The beds were
heavenly, so comfortable with layers, sheet, thinner duvet and then a thick duvet as well.
Generous supply of pillows both soft and firm for each bed. A big wedding was going on
the Saturday night we were there, so well done that the rest of the guests only saw
a beautiful bride and groom, everything else was contained in the ballroom so that one
only saw a table with the wedding cake, if you looked over the railing down into the
atrium. To hold a wedding of that size that in no way intruded on non-involved guests
shows a truly well managed facility. We will now return every time we visit my daughter
during the coming five years of university.
Thank you to all of the very friendly and professional staff, you were all wonderful.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, excellent room. They have more expensive higher level rooms with harbo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and will be visiting us when you return to see your daughter. Please make sure to stop by the Front Desk and say hello when you come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a king size bed in a renovated room overlooking the harbor. It was very comfortable, the bed was great. All of the employees were friendly and very helpful. The location is good but still represents a 15 minute walk to George Street, which felt a little far especially in poor weather. We would definitely stay there again! Ask for a renovated room if possible!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

mep23,
We thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor and for the kind words. We could talk about our prime location, comfortable Sweet Sleeper beds or stunning views as reasons to stay with us but it is the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff which you mentioned which set our hotel apart. We will make sure to pass along your comments. Hopefully we get to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
326 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
607 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $152 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing