We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you would expect at a Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As you would expect at a Sheraton”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is good, with some nice touches. The location is very good, handy to many attractions. While it was generally clean and well-equipped there were small irritations that you don't expect in a hotel of this level and cost: no china mugs were available and had to ask repeatedly for paper cups for the coffee maker, no regular tea or coffee (only flavoured tea and decaf coffee - had to ask for regular), had to ask repeatedly for small things that were missing - not special things, just the usual. The service was very friendly but just not very professional. The corridor was not vacuumed for days and the same bits of garbage lingered. These were small things but added up to a poor impression. The breakfast is expensive and just ok.

Room Tip: Pay more if you want a harbour view but the city view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but are very concerned with some of the issues you mentioned. Though you listed them as "small irritations" they are indeed very important. Paying attention to the little details is something we take pride in and we apologize this did not happen during your stay. We have passed along your comments to the appropriate departments for follow up. Again, we thank you for your feeedback and hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    319
    117
    44
    19
See reviews for
100
189
44
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room was comfortable, I slept well on the bed and the HVAC system worked well so I could have it colder when I slept. The elevators are slow and there probably aren't enough of them so there were some relatively long waits for one to appear. The staff were great, particularly the concierges, who were very helpful in making reservations and providing advice.

The hotel is well located close to downtown St. John's, near lots of restaurants etc.

I did not find the breakfasts offered to our conference all that great although part of that was the choice of food offered which I assume was a choice of the organizers rather than the hotel. The one dinner we had was decent and served very quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Obviously a view of the harbour is nice but I am not sure its worth the extra cost given any number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskWolfhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments regarding the staff, especially the Concierges have been noted and passed along to their departmental managers. We have also shared your comments regarding the conference breakfasts along to our catering department for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I arrived very late, but had no trouble checking in. The staff were extremely helpful.

I had the best sleeps ever on the bed. It was so soft and conducive to comfort. My room overlooked the harbour and Signal Hill.

The hotel is also in an ideal location to walk to many restaurants, shopping and attractions.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are likely better if you care about that sort of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulips300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It was no surprise to read your comments about our wonderful Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. We think it may be impossible to not have a fantastic sleep. We are happy to hear that your arrival was a smooth experience regardless of the time. Hopefully we get to see you the next time your travels bring you to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. My mother used to be the seamstress at this hotel many years ago when it was The Hotel Newfoundland, so I grew up visiting her there and it was nice to finally spend a night.

The lobby is stunning. The area is popular for wedding and graduation pictures. It is filled with greenery and all windows. It is two floors and the lower floor offers the quaint pool and hot tub area - along with a fitness area. There is a bar and a restaurant as well. The whole lobby area is hard to explain, but it is quite different and unlike any hotel lobby I have been in. I really like it.

The staff are hard working, and although I may be biased because my mother worked there, I can say they truly care about your stay. If you need something, ask. They will do everything they can to accommodate.

The location cannot be beat. It is just on the edge of all the downtown happenings and a short distance to signal hill. If you have strong calf muscles you can even walk to signal hill.

Overall, I really enjoy staying at the Sheraton. The hotel is quite cozy and it is very clean. I do not think you would be disappointed by staying there.

Room Tip: There may be an extra charge, but ask for a room with a harbor view and on the highest floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us Jessica S. There are so many people here in Newfoundland that have special memories of our hotel and we always love to hear your stories. Often times when people have an emotional connection to a hotel it is hard to live up to the memories. We are glad to see that was not the case. The next time you stay with us please let us know in advance so we can arrange a visit to some of your mother's old stomping grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel, but very laid back, this led to all sorts of small and annoying issues.
For some reason they had no coffee for the rooms through our stay. Only decaf, maybe there is a world shortage?
Room not made up on one occasion
Breakfast was really nice but a little expensive, slow at replacing some items.
There seemed to be too few staff on DIY, perhaps because of the large number of wedding parties they seem to have.
Staff were really very very friendly, but seemed unaware of the great trolley tour around St Johns ...
The restaurant was good, but service not very rapid.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good afternoon jason045,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is through feedback such as yours that help us identify areas in which we can improve our operation. We have passed along all of your comments to the respective departments heads for their review. We hope to see you the next time you visit St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here while visiting Newfoundland. It clearly, by far, is the best hotel in all of St. Johns and most likely on the entire Island. Our room was comfortable, clean and very quiet. The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful and the staff very nice. We had a problem on our last night at the hotel when our AC conked out (Windows do not open so you need the AC in summer) and we were immediately moved to another room on the same floor. Sometimes unexpected problems do occur, but the true measure of a hotel staff is how quickly and how well they take care of the problem and here they were prompt and efficient in moving us to the new room.
Good breakfast in the main dining room and the food for dinner was very good. Only drawback was that the gift shop was closed. Only complaint is that we were on the club floor, but the food served in the evening was pretty bad, there were no alcoholic drinks served (not even beer or wine) and the club breakfast was pretty bad. One morning the club was closed for breakfast and they gave vouchers for the main restaurant, which was very good so after that we just ate at the main restaurant and paid for it. After all, if you can afford to stay at a first class hotel you can afford to pay for breakfast and not settle for the poor excuse for one served at the club.

Room Tip: Get the view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We were thrilled to read your glowing comments and see that you had an excellent stay with us here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms due to the malfunction of the AC unit but are glad to see our associates were able to handle the issue quickly and with their usual care. We will pass along your comments about the Club Lounge food offerings to our Executive Chef for his review. Thank you for staying with us and we hoep to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I was in St-Johns NL for meetings and the stay at this hotel was great! We were served great, food was great. Had great breakfast and lunches. Rooms were very clean .. I would recommend this place ! Location is excellent as we were only a walk away from down town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc37us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was an excellent one and you would recommend us as the place to stay in St.John's. Hopefully we get to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
304 reviews
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 22 in St. John's
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing