We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and clean.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. My mother used to be the seamstress at this hotel many years ago when it was The Hotel Newfoundland, so I grew up visiting her there and it was nice to finally spend a night.

The lobby is stunning. The area is popular for wedding and graduation pictures. It is filled with greenery and all windows. It is two floors and the lower floor offers the quaint pool and hot tub area - along with a fitness area. There is a bar and a restaurant as well. The whole lobby area is hard to explain, but it is quite different and unlike any hotel lobby I have been in. I really like it.

The staff are hard working, and although I may be biased because my mother worked there, I can say they truly care about your stay. If you need something, ask. They will do everything they can to accommodate.

The location cannot be beat. It is just on the edge of all the downtown happenings and a short distance to signal hill. If you have strong calf muscles you can even walk to signal hill.

Overall, I really enjoy staying at the Sheraton. The hotel is quite cozy and it is very clean. I do not think you would be disappointed by staying there.

Room Tip: There may be an extra charge, but ask for a room with a harbor view and on the highest floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us Jessica S. There are so many people here in Newfoundland that have special memories of our hotel and we always love to hear your stories. Often times when people have an emotional connection to a hotel it is hard to live up to the memories. We are glad to see that was not the case. The next time you stay with us please let us know in advance so we can arrange a visit to some of your mother's old stomping grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    269
    105
    39
    19
See reviews for
83
146
34
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel, but very laid back, this led to all sorts of small and annoying issues.
For some reason they had no coffee for the rooms through our stay. Only decaf, maybe there is a world shortage?
Room not made up on one occasion
Breakfast was really nice but a little expensive, slow at replacing some items.
There seemed to be too few staff on DIY, perhaps because of the large number of wedding parties they seem to have.
Staff were really very very friendly, but seemed unaware of the great trolley tour around St Johns ...
The restaurant was good, but service not very rapid.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good afternoon jason045,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is through feedback such as yours that help us identify areas in which we can improve our operation. We have passed along all of your comments to the respective departments heads for their review. We hope to see you the next time you visit St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here while visiting Newfoundland. It clearly, by far, is the best hotel in all of St. Johns and most likely on the entire Island. Our room was comfortable, clean and very quiet. The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful and the staff very nice. We had a problem on our last night at the hotel when our AC conked out (Windows do not open so you need the AC in summer) and we were immediately moved to another room on the same floor. Sometimes unexpected problems do occur, but the true measure of a hotel staff is how quickly and how well they take care of the problem and here they were prompt and efficient in moving us to the new room.
Good breakfast in the main dining room and the food for dinner was very good. Only drawback was that the gift shop was closed. Only complaint is that we were on the club floor, but the food served in the evening was pretty bad, there were no alcoholic drinks served (not even beer or wine) and the club breakfast was pretty bad. One morning the club was closed for breakfast and they gave vouchers for the main restaurant, which was very good so after that we just ate at the main restaurant and paid for it. After all, if you can afford to stay at a first class hotel you can afford to pay for breakfast and not settle for the poor excuse for one served at the club.

Room Tip: Get the view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We were thrilled to read your glowing comments and see that you had an excellent stay with us here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms due to the malfunction of the AC unit but are glad to see our associates were able to handle the issue quickly and with their usual care. We will pass along your comments about the Club Lounge food offerings to our Executive Chef for his review. Thank you for staying with us and we hoep to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I was in St-Johns NL for meetings and the stay at this hotel was great! We were served great, food was great. Had great breakfast and lunches. Rooms were very clean .. I would recommend this place ! Location is excellent as we were only a walk away from down town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc37us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was an excellent one and you would recommend us as the place to stay in St.John's. Hopefully we get to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

All the amenities were there for us. Although the trip was complicated on the first day when Shirley stepped aside for a stroller and twisted her ankle on the irregular graveled pavement the hotel staff were there to help. The next morning was a visit to the hospital and the staff at the hotel quickly proved a wheelchair and arranged for a taxi. She is till hobbling as the xrays showed three chipped bones. The hotel facilities were well kept and the room had an excellent view of the city through a large window while the other large window looked over the harbour. WONDERFUL We plan to go back again. Hupefully it will be soon to experience the friendly people.

Room Tip: 237 A corner room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sienacapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
First off let us state that we hope Shirley is back on her feet real soon. We are delighted to hear that the remainder of your stay was pleasant enough to overshadow the unfortunate beginning. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I chose the Sheraton because I wanted a full service hotel near the downtown area of St. John's. In terms of location, it was perfect. We were able to walk in just minutes to all the shopping and restaurants closeby. We drove to Signal Hill, but it wasn't that far either. Compared to the Delta, the Sheraton is kind of tucked away on a hill, so once we were ready for some quiet time, it was easy to escape. Overall, the staff were professional and friendly. We requested advice and assistance several times for dinner suggestions and reservations, and it all went well. My son and husband used the pool area which they enjoyed very much. The first morning we went down to the breakfast buffet, which was very average. Lovely waitress, kept the coffee mugs filled, but the food was of middling to poor quality. (Go across the street to Coffee Matters or Classic Cafe East for better options.) Now, the room: Having read the reviews, I knew the rooms were in need of updating. So, I booked a suite, and hoped that perhaps booking a larger room with correspondingly higher rate would hopefully mean a somewhat nicer room. No such luck. First the good: Very comfortable bed and linens. Extra pillows and bedding delivered quickly (again, the staff was great). Housekeeping did a good job and the room was nicely prepared for us each time we returned in the afternoon. But the bathroom fixtures were terrible (entire bathtub fixture fell off when I simply tried to draw a bath; toilet ran constantly; sink was very slow, never drained properly). No bathroom fan. I usually don't care much about a few carpet stains, but the carpet was stained everywhere. The air conditioning was room controlled but in spite of the small space, the bedroom area never reached a cooler temp, so the sitting area had to be kept uncomfortably cold. The wooden tables and chairs were chipped and dented and the furniture was generally worn. Just dreary and dated. To end on a positive note, I ordered dinner via room service once night and not only was the food delicious and fresh, it arrived within about 20 minutes. With some care and attention to the rooms, this could be a wonderful hotel. I hope some renovations are in the works!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Michelle S,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are obviously delighted to read that you found our associates to be very helpful and friendly and that the location of the hotel was a benefit for you. We are, however, concerned to see that your room was not up to the standard that you would expect from a hotel of our calibre. We have recently completed renovations on a large number of our guestrooms and have plans to renovate the remainder in the future. We hope to see you return to our property the next time you are in town so we can show off our updated product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, and I have always had a positive experience. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean, the fitness facilities are deceptively large, and the location and views are great. The rooms themselves are average, and I would tag them as being overpriced for what you get for your money. They are also in need of a refurbishment. Despite this, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to celebrate our successes and identify opportunities for improvement. We have completed renovations on the majority of our guestrooms and have the remainder scheduled to be refurbished in the very near future. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon and show you our updated product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing