We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Visited the city for Christmas shopping, and also enjoyed the comfortable bed, free wifi, large pool, and quiet room at the Sheraton. I ate at the bar the evening I arrived, and had some tasty fish and ridiculously delicious rum ice cream in a brandy snap basket. Definitely not typical bar food!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us (and that you got an early start on your Christmas shopping). We are very lucky to have such a talented culinary team at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland who produce dishes that, like you said, are anything but typical. We look forward to welcoming you back to "bivver" and the hotel on your next visit to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    257
    104
    38
    18
See reviews for
80
145
33
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was very nice, lots of room. Spent 4 days here on business. Wonderful pillows. Had the pool to myself most nights. Had to request refrigerator twice but only had to ask for bathrobes once. Gary was very helpful as was Jeff. Restaurant too expensive, might have been good but did not try it.

Room Tip: Sign up to be a starwood member - free bottled water in room. At $3.75 each it is worth it. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanaKNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. One of the only things we receive more compliments on other than our bedding/pillows is our wonderful staff; we will make sure Gary and Jeff are recognized for your comments. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the opportunity to try our restaurant due to the pricing levels as we have made a conscientious decision to be on par or lower than most of the finer restaurants downtown. Hopefully on your next stay we can have a chat over an appetizer in bivver and discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 4 lovely days at this hotel while in town attending a wedding. However booking a room wasn't quite as pleasant.

I had contacted their call centre several months earlier and had booked their "birth year" special. Or at least I thought I had. The email confirmation arrived moments later with no mention of the special rate. I called again and spoke to someone who, although polite, couldn't change the booking and suggested I call the hotel directly. The front office manager at the hotel was very helpful, apologized for the mixup and offered a choice of available rooms with the birth year rate special. We chose a club floor deluxe room. She then upgraded us to a harbour view room as an apology for the inconvenience and frustration. A nice gesture and one we appreciated very much.

However the story doesn't end there. By the look on Roza's face at checkin I knew something else had gone wrong. The rooms on the club floor were all occupied. Roza, on the other hand, was excellent. She apologetically thanked us for our patience and after checking with a colleague offered us the same privileges at the club lounge but not on the same floor. It was another disappointment in an already very frustrating process. I expected more from the Sheraton.

The time spent at the hotel after that was good. Shortly after arrival we unpacked and noticed there weren't enough hangers in the closet. After a quick call to housekeeping they arrived moments later delivered by a friendly attendant. The room was a good size and although it may have benefited from better furniture arrangement and lighting, we enjoyed the space. The king bed was very comfortable and the view of St. John's harbour was beautiful.

The food in the Club Lounge both during breakfast and late afternoon appetizers was average and the service good but inconsistent. It's a small space and couldn't adequately accommodate the large numbers present at the hotel while we were there. My only minor quibble is the first attendant's habit (not Roza who seemed to be working both reception and the club room) of clearing tables before you had finished eating. In fairness this person was quite friendly but somewhat over zealous in her attempt to be efficient. The public rooms at the hotel are lovely and this hotel certainly has location, location, location! You are steps away from shopping, excellent restaurants and entertainment. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomedicMunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the problems you experienced during the booking process. We understand how frustrating this can be and have followed up with our reservations team regarding the issues. We also appreciate your comments regarding Roza and have made a point to recognize her. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

So those Sheraton beds. Let's admit it...hello comfort.

However, beds aside, the real value in staying at the Sheraton comes from its location. In 20 minutes, you can walk all the way to the end of either Water Street or Dunsworth Street to enjoy the quaint shops and boutiques of downtown St. John's. It's an easy walk back to the hotel if you have had a few drinks at the Underbelly or St. George's streets.

Another tip...it's only a 30 minute walk from the Sheraton to the top of Signal Hill. (By the way, if you walk from the Sheraton, take the Battery Road trail to Signal Hill to walk along the harbor, as it's a less steep climb than walking up Signal Hill road. However, walk down along Signal Hill road so you can see the other rocky scenery.) Last, it's a 30 minute walk from the Sheraton to Quidi Vidi (either the town or the brewery). It's a lovely walk along the lake to Quidi Vidi, but then try taking Cuckold Cove trail back to the Sheraton for some hidden gem views of the harbor (although this trail will spit you out half-way up Signal Hill, which is great if you haven't been up to Signal Hill yet).

The value of the Sheraton in St. John's is all about their location. Otherwise, I thought it was a bit of a basic hotel, although in comparison to the other hotels that I saw when walking around, I admit that I was very happy to have been at the Sheraton.

The fitness centre was closed, but it was being renovated so it's probably quite nice now. And the food is fine. They are more than willing to accomodate (ex. add prawns to salad), and their french onion soup is tasty. Their restaurant servings are generous, which is a pleasant surprise for the hungry traveller who just arrives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland and I am sure other readers will be grateful for the wonderful hiking tips you have provided. As you stated, we could not ask for a better location when it comes to our proximity to beautiful scenery, downtown nightlife or the business sector. Our fitness centre upgrades have been completed and have received rave reviews from our Guests and members alike. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

As Sheraton hotels go - this one needs some refreshing. The bar and restaurant are updated but the rooms are very small. We could barely get our clothes in the closet - with suitcases etc. We had a nice view of the harbour and the people that work in this hotel from the reservation desk to the ladies who clean your room are really nice people and very helpful. I would have no second thoughts about staying here again - but it is a little different than would you expect from a Sheraton property. The restaurant is good - but i would avoid the lounge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_May305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view of St.John's harbour and all of your interactions with our associates. We will make sure to pass along your comments. We are currently in the midst of renovating the remainder of our Guestrooms as well as the recreation area and would like to extend you a warm inviation to return and see our finished product once completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice hotel with nice clean, compfortable rooms and beds but very expensive for what it is. Cost us short of £200 (UK) for 1 night. Supposed to have a harbour view but it just looked like some container ships to me, nothing special. Walls between rooms are paper thin and if you have a room with a connecting door it;s even worse. 2.5 hours of our nights sleep was ruined by out room neighbours arguing. We were then woken another hour later by the same neighbour having decided they would make good their argument for a further 2 hours! Around 4am we were woken again by the people on the other side with their children shouting and screaming!
As i've said it's a nice hotel and the rooms are great just a shame for the price we paid we couldn't appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you were not able to enjoy a restful experience due to the noise issues you encountered during your stay. We regret that we did not have the opportunity to address this issue at the time of its occurence in order to resolve any prolonged noise issues. If you would like to further discuss any other aspects of your stay please feel free to contact me at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Older hotel but clean and in good condition. Friendly front desk staff. The king room was a good size with a wonderful view of the water. The rooms are quiet and clean. The food in the concierge level was descent and non alcoholic beverages were included. The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants and the main streets. We would likely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the water view if you can it is a beautiful harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Our location is definitely a great benefit enjoyed by all of our Guest whether they want to be near all the amazing restaurants, experience the fantastic shopping or take in the night life that is George Street. And, let's not forget those spectacular harbour views. We are very glad to hear that our location was convenient for your needs and that the room and staff met your expectations. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking historic St. John's harbour, the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is a prime location for business and leisure travellers alike. Our warm service and world-class hospitality whilst the hotels location within easy reach of the historic city's myriad of attractions, are sure to bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing