We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in St. John's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“The Best in St. John's”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton in St. John's recently as part of a legal convention. Because I am a Starwood Preferred Guest member, I was given a room on the top floor (7th floor) with a harbour view. The view was stunning. The room was spotless and large. The service was first-rate - very courteous and helpful. Plus, the conference facilities were excellent, for a group of 200. Too bad I could not have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Choose the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunterboeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Who could get tired of reading headlines like that? We are happy to hear you had such a great experience here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. I will make sure to pass along your comments to all of our departments as our assoicates take great pleasure in hearing our Guests never want to leave. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    286
    109
    42
    19
See reviews for
86
154
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel has a great location and the lady who checked us in was utterly charming. She blended the professional and the personal perfectly and was a credit to the company. Room had a lovely harbour view and was very comfortable. It was brilliant to have internet access in the lobby since we didn't travel with our laptops. I'm not totally sure the amenities warrant the hefty cost per night though.
My main concern relates to the day we checked out. It was, admitted, an unusual and stressful day for the staff since it heralded the tail-end of Tropical Storm Leslie. We were a bit concerned at the lack of emergency lighting during the morning's power failures. Luckily, our room was near the end of a corridor and close to the 5th floor stairway, because we would have been trying to get ourselves and our cases through a pitch dark corridor otherwise. I'm not sure how elderly guests would have managed. Staff in the lobby were doing their very best and were handing out torches. But it was a bit of an unsettling end to an otherwise good stay. I totally appreciate that days like that Tuesday are very difficult for staff members to cope with, but no emergency lighting?

Room Tip: You really need to get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dubliner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your view of St.John's Harbour and that your arrival experience was an enjoyable one. As you stated, the day of your check out was indeed a bit of an anomaly with Tropical Storm Leslie. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you endured due to the conditions which arose. As with any emergency event we experience we have reviewed the procedures we have in place in order to ensure our Guest satisfaction and safety. I would be more than happy to discuss these with you, as well as your stay, should you wish. I can be reached directly at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our stay in Newfoundland. Location is great, in the heart of St. John's with some amazing views of the harbor. Service was friendly and went slightly beyond the level of service I expected. I had forgotten my phone charger at home and I asked the person at the check-in counter if he had any cables or a charger and he brought one from the back! I was so glad as I use my phone often as a GPS tool and this saved our trip.

We got the club lounge as part of our room. It was very good for North American standards with hot snack food (chicken wings, potatoes, meatballs and even fish) served in the evening and great breakfast egg sandwiches for the morning. Starbucks coffee, juices, soft drinks and water was included which saved us a lot of money. The only thing I would have liked is longer hours for the club lounge as the breakfast closed at 930am on weekdays, which is way too early.

Parking was free but with somewhat limited spots (although we got one with some searching). Good beds and clean room. Design of the hotel was outdated and needs renovation

Overall - reccomended!

Room Tip: Get the club lounge if possible and if it's not too expensive. St. John's has fairly expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. As you mentioned we do indeed have a great location downtown with amazing views of the city and harbour. We are thrilled to hear your feedback regarding the level of service you received as it is a source of great pride amongst our associates that they exceed Guest expectations. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels, and perhaps it really, really requires a facelift and service upgrades.

It may have been because the NDP convention was at the same time, but the room was hard to get into, with the closet and the bathroom no more than a step into the room. You had to be really careful not to trip into the room.

I will say that the staff is friendly, but there were numerous times when I called for guest services that there was absolutely no response on the phone. I just want a wake up call without waiting 15 minutes to talk someone. Or my valet parking was also the busboy, and took 20 minutes to get? Of course, I shouldn't have gotten valet parking in retrospect, but the first night, was really, really late when we got in, and I simply didn't know better.

The location is wonderful and easy to get around, and the hospitality is great, but the rooms are old and dated. The mattress was lumpy, and the pillows were soft. They do try and Newfoundlanders are wonderful people when you meet them.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellow_Mzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We appreicate you taking the time to post your review. Any and all guest feedback is important to us. I sincerly apologize as it appears you may have had an unrenovated room. We are continuing our renovations and will continue to do so until all have been renovated, we are nearing 65 percent of our bedrooms now. Happy to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We staff sufficiently due to business levels however certain days there are circumstances beyond our control that could affect service. All of our rooms are equipped with Sweet Sleeper beds and for the most part have received nothing but compliments . We are concerned and would like to speak to you in person. Our Manager on Duty would be happy to take your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and used it as a base to explore St. John's area. Did lots of driving tours and easy in and out of the city. Easy to walk to downtown -- parking right in front of hotel. Great feather pillows and very nice linens

Room Tip: It pays to spend more and get a club floor room -- we ate breakfast and dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were able to experience the luxury of our Sheraton Club level and all of it's added amenities. We receive numerous comments on the comfort of our bedding, linens and pillows and are glad that you were no exception. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Spent three nights at this first class hotel in a great location in St John`s. Room was clean and comfortable. Close to downtown attractions and only a half hour walk up Signal Hill - the best way to clear your head in the early morning after a late night on George St.! Friendly Newfoundland hospitality from all at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are certainly happy you choose our hotel for your stay and that your stay was enjoyable. Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is in a great location for those who enjoy what George Street has to offer and so much more. For those hickers and site seers Siganl Hill is the place to be and only minutes from our hotel. There is so much to see and do. Again, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it's been our pleasure to have you as our guest. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel and the harbour view is a must! We spent a total of 10 days - the housekeeping staff is excellent and the food in the restaurant is well worth the wait (be prepared to wait...). We did have some problems as far as booking and never did receive the room that we had requested, however the manager was excellent to deal with and we will be staying there again on our next trip. Thoroughly enjoyed Newfoundland=:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonjd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are delighted to hear that despite the issues you encountered your overall visit was an enjoyable one. I really appreciate you taking the time to speak with me personally regarding your stay and am glad we were able to resolve the issues you experienced in a satisfactory manner. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you once again when your travels bring you back to Newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
268 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing