We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location and Building at a Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and Building at a Cost”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Sheraton St John's is a prime location. Views of the habor and great walking access to the heart of downtown. The Concierege is helpful and want to make sure you enjoy your experience, however the the rest of the service was at par and for a quality hotel with high prices. I expected more. I had more service offered at an economy hotel I stayed at the next day. I really did enjoy the hotel, the views and my expereince in St John's but for the money I spent, I was not impressed by the service and at times when organizing the boardroom event felt I was an inconvience to the staff.

Room Tip: Get a habour view room and get a nice breakfast outside the hotel at the cafe kitty corner from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our spectacular harbour views and the convenience of our central location. We were, however, concerned with your comments regarding the service you received and the feeling that created. Rest assured I have passed these comments along to the appropriate departmental managers as this is neither commonplace nor acceptable. When you stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland there is no request that is too big or too small; we are at your service. I apologize that you did not experience this kind of service and invite you to contact me personally so I can address our shortcomings. My email address is chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    266
    105
    39
    19
See reviews for
82
146
34
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rooms are slightly larger than normal Sheraton (former Fairmont property). The staff in the hotel go out of their way to help you and is one of the best hotel's in terms of service. Very expensive shops and food & beverage in the hotel so go out. At the far end of all tourism and city sites so be prepared for a 20 - 30 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrlanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay with us as the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Guestroom and were able to experience the wonderful service our staff have become known for. We are disappointed that you found our food and beverage offerings expensive as our Executive Chef and Restaurant Managers have made a concientious decision to have our offerings at par (and often times lower) than other popular restaurants in the downtown area. If you would like to discuss your stay further I would love to hear from you; I can be reached at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful view of the harbor from our room.The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant had wonderful food and the staff gave excellent service.Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. The location was perfect for shops and restaurants.i would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank onthegoallthetime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. Even though our location and views are spectacular it is the service provided by our staff that we have become known for. We hope that your memories of this stay will lead you back to visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Classy address gives a hint of the type of place this is: elegant. Ask for harbor view. It is worth it. We could see the harbor entrance and inner harbor and were high enough to avoid noise. Wonderful beds. Nice bathroom but the toilets almost always require two flushes. Very nice bellman brought us to our room and was our friend and advisor throughout the stay. He could be a tour guide! When we tried to extend our stay by one night (a Friday) we were blocked and moved down to Hill o Chips (Quality Hotel).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birdwalk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We would like to thank you for the wonderful comments. It is always a treat to hear from our Guests about the magnificent view of The Narrows they get to enjoy from our Guestrooms. Our Porter team are true ambassadors for the hotel and our city as they know all of the must see sights and restaurants no matter how obscure or hidden they may seem. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned back from a four night business trip and my first visit to Canada. The Sheraton is an ideal choice to use as a base for sightseeing around St John's. The best thing about the hotel for me was the bed, possibly the most comfortably I have ever experienced in a hotel - I looked forward to relaxing in it while working on my laptop. Staying at the hotel can be expensive ($159 per night) but the quality of the room and food reflect that. Only three small negatives. One being the decor, dark and uninviting but this is just my personal opinion. The second is no fridge, but actually it was not a problem as I had an ice bucket. And the last, the view I had, faced away from the harbour.
Another reviewer mentioned noise and thin walls. This is a problem as there can be loads of banging of doors and people talking but it really did not spoil my stay.
With this being my first visit to Canada it was lovely to experience how friendly the St John's locals were and the staff at the hotel were also very friendly too.
All in all I would have no hesitance in recommending this hotel to our colleagues for their St John's stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour. Don't take an odd numbered room in the 30s as they face a bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We receive numerous comments about the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and are glad to hear they were a highlight of your stay. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and have passed along your comments to the appropriate departments. I think you will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of renovating a number of our Guestrooms and are constantly adding more refridgerators to our current stock which are available upon request. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The property is in an excellent location and has had major upgrades in recent years. However, we paid a premium rate to stay on the club floor. The bedroom was ackward and our bed was poor. The room we had on the 6th floor at the end of the hall must have been an older unit.

The clubroom has free wings and breakfast, it was great and the view was spectacular. I would recommend staying there just for this feature.

Room Tip: The units on the 7th floor are apparently better as are some of them on the 6th. New bedding is a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurftheRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and hors d'oeuvre offerings on the Club floor... and how could you not love that view? As you mentioned, we have renovated a large number of our Guestrooms and we are still in the process of updating the remainder. We receive numerous compliments regarding our beds so it is concerning to me that you did not share that experience; for that I would like to apologize. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally regarding your stay if you should so desire. I can be reached at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in St. John's and at the Sheraton. The beds and bedding are super comfortable. The food in the dining room was delicious. Would like to express special Thanks to Walter who works in the dining room, he went out of his way to help us out when we had a problem.(unrelated to dining) Great location too. Warm pool was nice for a swim.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianlady501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We could not agree with you more about the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds... they are incredible. We will also pass along your wonderful comments about the food you experienced (and Walter) to our Food and Beveragement management team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing