We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
11
12
7
4
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
12
7
4
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 49 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We have been staying at the Captains Quarters for 10 years. Wonderful place to stay. The employees are great and can not do enough for their guests. It is like going back in time where everyone respects and is courtious to one another. No it is not a 5 star hotel, but you get treated alot better than any of the chains. Good breakfasts, clean rooms, close to everything. We love it there, and we will go back to the Captains Quarters anytime we are in St. Johns.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ennismore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My wife, son and my self reserved for 3 nights, but we decided to stay 2 nights instead. The beds screeched so bad that everyone else woke up if one of us went to bathroom at midnight. The room smelled smoke so bad. We could not figure out what was wrong with the lady manning both front desk and breakfast. We said good morning and thank you to her, butt she never looked at us in the eye and did not say hi to us at all. I asked for tea and she was not happy because she made coffee for guests already. My wife wanted a glass of orange juice. She picked up a used glass. My wife pointed it out to her immediately. We had paid 3 nights. Instead giving us one day refund, she charged me another day. Then she corrected it with reluctance being told. Too expensive for a hotel like that (C$91 a day including tax), the service we got.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Wonderful people, excellent location, clean rooms, great price and loads of character (the building and the people)! We had booked our first nights stay at a well-known chain hotel that was not nearly as friendly, clean or as reasonably priced as the Captain's Quarters and were thrilled to find this hotel on our first day in St. John's. We happily moved and were not disappointed. The staff were helpful and even pulled some strings to get us last minute reservations at one of St. John's best restaurants. If you want to feel like you're a part of 'down-home Newfoundland', then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank c-stand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Stayed at the Captains Quarters for one night on our way home to the UK, very friendly staff and in an excellent location for Signal Hill and the nightlife of George Street, they even allowed us to keep one of our rooms until 9 o'clock in the evening as our flight didn't take off until midnight

1  Thank comex1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

We stayed at the Captain's Quarters for 4 nights in 2005.
It was our first trip to St. John's. We had no real complaints about the hotel, but at the same time I'd warn people not to expect a 4 star hotel experience. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. I'd compare the rooms and accommodations to a well kept Motel 6 or Super 8 here in the states- well worth it for the budget conscious traveler and perfect for our needs, but possibly not for people who are expecting a lot of added amenities.
The hotel is located on the edge of the downtown area and within walking distance to George Street and the other downtown attractions, as well as Signal Hill. The staff was helpful offering suggestions on how to get around and the bar downstairs was pleasant. We were a bit concerned when we checked in because of the bar location, but even with a bar on the main floor, the rooms were relatively quiet.
The only thing the hotel didn't have that might have been nice was screens on the windows and perhaps a second fan--we were there on an unusually hot week for Newfoundland and while we weren't in the room much during the day, at night we had to have a fan running in the window and since it didn't have a screen, we did get a number of moths entering the room.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and we plan on staying there again on our trip to Newfoundland this year.
We checked out other hotels in the city on our 2005 trip and while some of the other added amenities would be nice, no other hotel could beat the Captain’s Quarters combination of price and location.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank johnbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews