We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
11
12
7
4
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
12
7
4
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 49 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2015

nice old Victorian inn. the room was spacious and clean. walking distance to downtown historical area and restaurants. Breakfast is serve your self of cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. We had a good time chatting with the owner and getting tips on what to see and some history of the area. Would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night at the CQ. On driving in there were some dodgy individuals sitting outside. We arrived to find no one at reception, we found a girl at the bar who checked us in at $160 a night. Our room was on the second floor, no lift. Our room was clean, large but there was paint peeling off the walls and a huge scratched patch in the floor. The bed was comfortable and we had a quite a good night sleep, unlike others who have stayed here. The WiFi didn't work on our floor but did work in the lobby, when I brought this to the owners attention next morning, he told me it worked but I was not logging on properly. Our bathroom was good except the toilet roll was empty with no replacement roll to be found. This place needs a lot of work to be done and shouldn't be charging $160 per night. Breakfast while adequate was served on the pool table.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Grahamh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 kids in July 2013. We stayed for 3 days.

At only $160 it was the cheapest place in St. John's.

We had a memorable experience. Our kids still talk about it.

Not sure where to start. Despite our reservation our arrival seemed like a pleasant surprise to the staff. They did manage to find us a room after only a little scrambling.

Cups in our room were in sandwich bags. This seemed somehow worse than ordinary cups.

Breakfast was served on the pool table. That seemed fitting as you could indeed have beer for breakfast if you were so inclined.

Our reservation was for two nights - but when we came back from a day out our room had been emptied and our stuff shoved under the front counter. Some sort of miscommunication between staff. This was quickly and easily rectified with profuse apologies and a scolding for the staff member deemed responsible . No harm done.

The room was large and comfortable.

The staff were relentlessly friendly. Everyone including the proprietor were colourfully talkative and eager to provide help and advice. Just a great bunch.

The room was far cleaner than the online reviews let on.

True, it was not a generic antiseptic chain. There are fine chain hotels available for those who are into that kind of thing.

On the whole we had a great time and we would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

For those who want the convenience of living in the heart of a modern, international seaport city while experiencing the feel of a 19th century mansion, The Captain’s Quarter’s Hotel is the place you’ll want to stay. St. John’s is the oldest city in North America and as one strolls the many narrow streets, a sense of nostalgia fills your heart. From the old stone and brick buildings, and colonial street names, you can sense the history of the city with its traces of imperialism.

The hotel itself is nestled along King’s Bridge Road, and is one of many mansions once owned by English, Scottish, and Irish merchants of St. John’s. The original hardwood floors with parquet borders, the fourteen- foot high ceilings, the ornate fireplaces, the friendliness and great service provided by staff, and the reasonable cost of staying makes this place one to consider. As it is in such a great location to take in many of the city’s historical and modern day lifestyle, you can save on taxi fares and walk to your destination, breathing in the fresh salt-water air that St. John’s is well known for.

Room Tip: My room was on the south side, second floor, bright and quiet . Although on a busy street, the hotel is situated in the centre of a very deep lot. The high ceilings and privacy helped me to rest and do my writing. It felt like I was in a lovely old home.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bernice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2014

Manor needs lots of repairs to restore its beauty! Rooms were clean but could do with new furniture. It could be a beautiful place to stay. Walking distance to all amenities. Debbie was a fantastic Hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pumas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews