We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East coast hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banberry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, ON Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“East coast hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My wife and I recently took our first visit to "The Rock" and had an amazing time, thanks in part to our wonderful hosts at Banberry.

We arrived very late on a Friday night and our hosts were still awake and there to greet us. They welcomed us to the B&B, Eileen gave my wife the keys and the low-down and Danny helped me park the car in the free parking lot around back. The Banberry and The Park House Inn are sister B&B’s and so, our hosts explained, breakfast was served at Park House—makes very good business sense, and they are side-by-side, so no inconvenience whatsoever. It was late, so in that spirit, the greeting was friendly and efficient – exactly what the doctor ordered.

We chose the Signal Hill Room in the Banberry – top (3rd) floor and as the name suggests, with a view of the Harbour and Signal Hill. The view is not spectacular, as it is only a 3rd storey, but much better than staring at a brick wall. The room itself was large yet cozy, clean, and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfy and the room had a private full ensuite. All hardwood floors, so no worries about dirty carpets or allergies.

The next morning we woke up well rested and sauntered on down the stairs and outside to the Park next door for breakfast. And breakfast was…WOW. The dining room was set up as a fine restaurant and we were immediately served a fresh fruit bowl topped with a vanilla yogurt (or custard?) and a freshly-baked muffin. Then chef Danny (also the owner) introduced breakfast as an omelette with brie and mushroom and a hint of mint – very tasty. As we were finishing our breakfast, Danny sat down and joined us. It was near the end of the breakfast hours (served 7 or 8am to 10am)—we’re not certain about the early hours as we were on vacation so we slept in every day —and so the dining room had emptied. We enjoyed Danny’s company and he gave us lots of tips on touring St. John’s (and the Avalon Peninsula). It was a great way to start our Thanksgiving long-weekend in St. John’s.

We stayed a total of 4 nights, from Friday to Tuesday, and everything went very well. Danny, Eileen, and the gang went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Serving up three-course gourmet breakfasts (something different and delicious everyday) and providing us with great recommendations for things to do and places to eat was just the start. Their genuine interest in their guests and their open, down-to-earth demeanour really made us feel welcome and helped make our first trip to Newfoundland a special one. They even went so far as to invite us to join them for Thanksgiving dinner—completely unexpected, and very appreciated—hospitality-plus!!.

What we experienced goes well beyond typical Newfoundland or “East-Coast” hospitality. We are both originally from the East Coast (though now living in Ottawa), so we are speaking from real experience. Our impression was that Danny is an owner who seems to have fun at what he does, who enjoys being a host, a chef, and a top-notch B&B owner—and he truly cares about what he does, a rare find these days.

Thanks again, guys, we'd definitely come back! In St. John’s we have definitely found our home-away-from-home.

Note: We booked via http://www.bbcanada.com/ (since it's not listed in TripAdvisor's options)

  • Liked — hospitality, cleanliness, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo_n_To_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Just fabulous... This was the St. John's welcome that we had heard about! Danny and his staff were very accommodating and made my wife and I, and our two teenage children very comfortable. Great rooms - clean and beautifully attired.

Within easy walking of great restaurants, views, and, The Rooms (a must-see).

When we're back in St. John's, this will be our port-of-call.

  • Liked — Friendly warm welcome
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_the-Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Stayed here June 2006 for 4 nights. It was under new management, having just been taken over by the owner of the Park Inn B&B next door, Danny. We stayed in the rustic ground floor Labrador room, which was comfortable and reasonably large. The location is good, being just five minutes walk away from downtown. Off-road parkling is provided and we were offered use of the kitchen and free internet access. Danny is exceptionally friendly and cooks a good and plentiful two-course breakfast everyday: there isn't any choice, but you get something different each day. There are also good restuarants nearby: try Aqua, Restuarant 21, Magnum and Steins and The Pepermill. If returning, I would definitely stay here again, though I might try and stay in Park Inn rather than Banberry (because it looked a slightly more plush building inside).

Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2005

Just returned from 6 nights in St. John's, all spent at the Banberry. Elizabeth, the owner/proprietor, is a positively lovely person, warm and accommodating, without being intrusive (though occasionally a bit absent-minded). The breakfasts are very good, and she is very flexible with eating times. It's easy to feel comfortable wandering anywhere in the house, and all the staff are very friendly. The home itself is gorgeous, basically a classic Heritage property--high ceilings, wood floors everywhere, period mouldings and furnishings, fireplaces in many rooms. Ample parking is available across the street at MooMoo's (a popular ice cream venue). The Banberry is only a few blocks uphill from the bustle of downtown, and only a few blocks from the Rooms (which was a bit disappointing, I must admit, as the exhibits were rather sparse, and the art mediocre). The price was very reasonable for what we got. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRKMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

The first stop on our round the world trip and our holiday began with a top class experience. We stayed four days.

The Canadian owners are geniune, warm and welcoming. Our booking was handled efficiently and in a friendly manner by email. The photos supplied of the rooms were very helpful and accurate.

Our flights arrived into Newfoundland in the early hours of the morning and the owner remained awake to welcome us. It was so special.

The room is so very beautiful. This B&B sets the benchmark which others will be lucky to match. The beds are very comfortable and every homecomfort was available. The rooms are presented with antiques and luxury furnishings.

Breakfast was delicious. Perfectly cooked and varied. The ambience was great and enabled guests to chat about our experiences.

A fabulous plus point is the welcome received every evening when we returned from our excursions. We shared our enjoyment over a glass of wine and received many ideas for things to do.

The B&B is ideally located within an easy walk of historic buildings, shops and restaurants. It is a short drive from the airport and other routes out of town.

Conclusion. Whilst we started our trip here we eventually drove over 8,000km in Canada and covered six Provinces. We stayed in many B&Bs. Banberry House was quite simply the best. We will go back again and again and again.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bortiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2005

My husband and I enjoyed an unforgettable October weekend at the Banberry House during the height of the fall colors. We arrived on a Friday in the late afternoon, and were welcomed warmly by our host Elizabeth.
We spent two nights in the wonderfully cozy Labrador room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the fireplace cozy, and the bathroom was luxurious. Breakfast at the Banberry House is a real treat, and is among the very best we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2005

Went there in June 2004, the room and the staff exceeded my expectations. The cozy fireplace in my room topped it off, and the breakfast was terrific. Not sure why the “not up to par” person had smoke in the room, all the rooms are no smoking, perhaps the fireplace was lit without the flue open, and being cold in August must be an oxy moron. Our experience was 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 22 in St. John's
719 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
387 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banberry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banberry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Banberry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 Military Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banberry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banberry House Bed And Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing