We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Retreat”
Review of Abba Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abba Tourist Home
Ranked #22 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Me and my girlfriend decided to get away for a weekend and had no idea where to stay as I am never a fan of cardboard cut out hotel rooms. Did some research online and found Butternut, thought the name was interesting and the rooms looked nice so we made a reservation. The first thought that entered my head when I seen the room was that the pic's did not do it justice. After walking through the doors to the room and it being bigger then my first apartment we seen the hot tub which was only made more amazing by the king size bed. There aren't enough good things I can say about our stay, other then the fact that me and my girlfriend are planning on making it a yearly thing.

Room Tip: The room on the far left on first floor has a hot tub in the room and a massive bed. After walking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Abba Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights during the off-season. Management were very helpful when there was some initial confusion regarding the booking. All sorted quickly and professionally- The room was very nice, spacious, and quiet on the 2nd floor. Location is very convenient although St. John's streets and traffic can be challenging to the uninitiated! You don't need a car to visit downtown or George Street, but if you do, they provided free on-street parking pass.

The timing to attend the complementary breakfast did not fit our relaxed vacation, but there were other options nearby.

I would stay at Abba Inn again.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view to the harbour, a whirlpool tub, and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ICFY95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Abba Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Recently returned to the city of legends, St.John's NF

Read thru the more recent reviews, but wasn't concerned

I had stayed here before, and knew it was one of the better places in town

So, booked a room for a few nights..

It was just as expected..nothing had changed

Clean, comfortable, can't beat the location..right close to the harbour..downtown..

Oh..and the breakfast..delicious..

Would return yet again..solid value for the dollar

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Henrik33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I've stayed at Abba many times, and their other locations including, Butternut (Now Cabot House), Gower street, Kings Road, and Bond street. All these locations are smack dab in downtown area. The most beautiful part of the city, with an average of a 10 minute walk to all the hotspots in this small but yet booming city.

On the on season where yes it is difficult to get rooms in most B&B and many hotels around the area hot breakfast is provided everyday with varies from each B&B depending on the staff that is working. On the off season they usually try to provide with hot breakfast but it is off season and you can't expect them to wake up and cook a meal for one person everyday. It is very unpractical.

The service is fantastic, run by a small staff that have to do all your biding cleaning you rooms, and serving your hot meals very morning. It was very homey and warm feeling every time I stayed, and I never had one bad thing to say to the staff, the service or food that they served.

I've read the prior reviews, and I couldn't believe that it was the same B&B they are talking about. The rooms are beautiful, and its a business so credit card number is required if you book in advance due to the fact they are holding the room for you so no one else gets it on the day you could. If you cancel for any reason under a 24 hour notice you will be charged a holding fee because they could of giving the room to someone else which is inconvenient for the management. So if the management gets pissed off at you that you decided to take the room and call back 10 minutes and cancel well, Id probably charge you too.

B&B are not company owned they are a family business. Its not the delta hotel! You want fancy and no service and a massive building and fancy service stay their.

Many of my friends and family stayed their and gave them a 5 star rating. They work hard for their guest. So please be friendly and take your chance to stay in these beautiful locations because you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Cabot House is the larger B&B the own in a beautiful part of town. The house is old but has stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Newfie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed from Feb 16th-19th.

The positives: The room was clean and was a great value in the off season.

The negatives: The management was the rudest we have ever encountered and not at all reflective of the people we meet in Newfoundland. The breakfast is just cereal and not worth waking up for.


It would have also been nice to have an extended check out time given this was the off season (We received an abrupt "No"). Our friend stayed at the Narrows BandB where a hot breakfast is provided and he was allowed a late checkout. In fact we ended up waiting here before traveling to the airport and would recommend it.


When staying at a BandB, you expect more personalized and friendly service. I recommend you try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in room 5. This has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Abba Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

This review provides us with an opportunity for CLARIFICATION.

We advertise a Healthy Choice Breakfast as being provided between 7:30 to 9:30.

Fresh fruit
Yogurt
Toasted whole grain bread
Bran
Margarine
Jams
Marmalade
Choice of 5 cold cereals
Low fat milk
Freshly brewed coffee
Various teas
Chilled orange juice
Artificial sweeteners

Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have even the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes on the premises.

There is a major supermarket complex just around the behind us where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

Check out is at 10:30. Guests can certainly leave their luggage for later pick up but staff have the right to scheduled hours to clean and prepare rooms for new arrivals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I arrived to the city at 2am, so just want to find a cheap place to crash for the first night before moving to a better place for the 2nd night. It was "just right" B&B. Be expect some noises at night time since it's old house. The septic system was unforgivable. At night, you can hear if someone just flushed the water from the floor above. The king bed is from 2 single bed, which create a crack in between. Overall it was just right B&B. Stay there from 2am of Saturday, and the breakfast was just cereals.

Room Tip: I guess higher floor less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luuboico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Abba Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

On first glance we did not believe this review was legitimate.

As small Inns go, ours would have to be among the quietest.

Plumbing is all on the left of the house running thought the washroom walls and not into the bedroom wall cavities. If the ensutie bathroom door were closed one would not expect any noise at all. All the walls have sound retardant drywall and insulation.

On checking we determined that this was a one night online booking for a late arrival in our queen on the top floor. We put them into a room with extended twin beds on the ground floor so that they would not be carrying luggage through the house in the middle of the night.

We are very sorry that these guests were less than pleased.

All constructive criticism is a learning exercise. We will see what we can do to prevent late night arrivals for one night bookings via online reservation services. That is simply not our clientèle.

Likewise with the estate operations. There are some magnificent estates in the City that are destinations in themselves. These are not something regular properties could even begin to compete with. It might be that Canada Select should develop a new grading classification to differentiate between a 4 Star Bed and Breakfast and an estate with manicured grounds larger than a City block.

We strive to offer spacious, clean, comfortable rooms in one of the most central locations in downtown St. John's. Memorial University is 10 minutes away by bus, with the bus stop perhaps a two minute walk from our entry. Almost all City tourist attractions are within a ten minute walking radius.

Most of our guest rooms are in excess of 225 sq feet / 21 square meters. 4 Star Canada Select grading requires just over 100 square feet

Their guest room featured fresh interiors with designer finishes and eclectic artworks

AMFM alarm clock radio,
Coffee maker/tea service
Free hot breakfast service at 8:00
Free direct dial local calling,
Free parking,
Free WiFi
Ensuite washroom with tub and shower
Hairdryer
Precise individual temperature control
60 channel TV
Private telephone extension
Travel rack
Window that opens
Work desk with chair
Lighted closet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We couldn't find a room in St. John's as it was very busy in the summer..we called here and before we could ask anything they wanted our credit card number. I drove around following the directions that we were given and just couldn't find it, so in a matter of about 10 minutes, I called back and cancelled. The manager/owner was rude and told me that he had to go out of his way to put the keys in the mailbox. The next day my card was charged for 1/2 the room rate. I did get my money back a couple of months later through my CC company. The place they had for us was actually an overflow and not ABBA..but my rating is how rude the management is. If you like hospitality...don't stay here!! My rating is not of the ABBA property but of the service!!

Room Tip: Don't give your credit card number to them until you decide to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank L0vet0travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Abba Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

It is difficult to respond to a an incident which didn't happen.

There was no such booking at Abba Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Cabot Guest House
#18 of 25 in St. John's
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Tourist Home

Address: 36 Queen's Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $50 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Tourist Home 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Email enquiries preferred. Center of Downtown ten minute walk to George Street, Signal Hill, Hotels Delta, Sheraton, Marriott, Mile One Stadium. Nestled safely on elegant Queen's Road below Rooms Complex (Museum, Archives, Art Gallery) and RC Basilica, in well lit area, among historic cathedrals, theaters, and fine restaurants. Rooms have WiFi, 60 channel CCTV, and a/c during summer. There are excellent breakfast restaurants within a two minute walk catering to every dietary need ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abba Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Inn b&b
Abba Hotel St. John`s
Abba Tourist Home Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing