We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a clean hotel and the staff is nice. The hotel provides a decent hot breakfast for the guest. If you are on foot, your have very limited options for food. There are a few places about a miles or so walk, but with the ever change weather of St John's you could be caught out in the rain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnluvsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear JohnluvsAK:

Thank you for your comments and rating. We are delighted that you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's as your get-away hotel and that we met your expectations. Our Complimentary Breakfast is definitely a hit with our valued guests. Thank you for mentioning it!

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope you will provide the Fairfield Inn & Suites team of professionals another opportunity to ensure a memorable stay.

Yours in hospitality,

Cyril Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a week ago for 2 nights. This hotel is located near shopping malls as well as many restaurants, some restaurants within walking distance. o Eastview Mall which has many great stores is not a far drive on the hwy. The hotel itself was very clean in the common areas, as well our room was quite large and very clean. I do not impress easily but was very happy with our accommodations. The breakfast buffet had many items to choose from and was well stocked throughout the breakfast period. We had a room across from the elevator and expected to hear noise late at night when people returned to their rooms. We had a great sleep and heard nothing. The front desk staff were so accommodating and very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Melanie858:

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's and had a positive experience overall. Promising you a great room and surroundings that reflect the highest quality standards are what we have become known for within the city. We are delighted that you chose Fairfield as your destiantion hotel and home away from home.

Hope to see you again on your next travels to St.John's, Newfoundland.

Sincerely,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a unique inn experience this isn't for you. It's a typical hotel that is out of the heart of St. John's. You are near all the typical "city" things like a mall, car dealers, chain restaurants, etc. You are about a 15 minute drive from downtown St. John's. Nothing is in walking distance.

We stayed our last night so were only looking for a place to sleep before heading to the airport....it worked for us. Clean room and comfortable bed was what we needed and what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear dncrmorn:

At Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's, you can count on a friendly welcome, a clean and comfortable guest room, great features, amenities and service that will make you want to return. And we'll help you get started each day with a complimentary hot buffet breakfast!
While we may be a ten to fifteen minute drive from downtown, we are within major amenities to meet our guest requirements.
Thank you for your feedback and rating as it is appreciated and for also taking your valuable time to post through Trip Advisor.

If you visit the city again, I do hope you'll give us another opportunity to be of service. We are delighted you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's.

Best regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Before I could even check in I got an email saying their water slide was broke. Not cool, this is why I booked you. Got to our room and folded out the sofa bed and bed was not made, Weird... so I had to hunt up the sheets and blanket and I found them all over the room. Sheets in drawer and blanket in closet. Pulled out blanket to see it had milk or puke on it. YUCK... Called front desk to get new stuff. Then went to the bathroom and seen we had used soap in shower with hair on it and NO other soap or shampoo in bathroom. NOTHING... Then I checked the cups in bathroom. Lipstick smeared on glass. Totally GROSS. I went and complained in person at the front desk. They offered to move me rooms but I was settled already and she gave me a bag of soap and shampoo and 50% off my 1st stay but didn't offer anyone to clean up. NOT impressed. Then the next day we missed our breakfast at hotel because clerk who checked me in gave us the wrong time. Then when we finally got to use the pool area the pool water was yellow/green and full of chlorine. Don't think I will stay again for the price of $259 a night. I expect better for that kind of $$$

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Leah W:

I appreciate the feedback and understand your frustration. We certainly didn't meet your expectations, nor our own. We promise to always give you a room that's clean, fresh, and reflects the highest quality standards and give you the service that will make you want to return. I apologize on behalf of my team in not delivering on that promise.

I invite you to contact me directly at crussell@silverbirchhotels.com to discuss your recenty stay.

Sincerely,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel was very nice and breakfasts were good. Should have bar or restaurant on site. I I personally talked to person at front desk for 4:30 a. M. Wake up call for next morning. She checked file and said O.K..No wake up call was received and flight was missed. Totally unacceptable and beyond any more civilized comment

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Rob L.

Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate the frustration shown as you should have received your wakeup call as requested. We did not meet your expectations, or our own- I sincerely apologize. I'd like to speak with you personally on this matter. If I could take a moment of your time, please contact me through email: crussell@silverbirchhotels.com

Once again, Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's apologizes for the disruption to your day and the frustration caused due to our error.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and had variety but had a little trouble getting a seat. Overall our experience was nice would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Heather S:

Thank you for the great feedback and awesome rating! So glad you enjoyed your visit and everything was to your liking. Our complimentary breakfast offerings are quickly becoming the talk of the town and our guests are providing us with positive feedback.Because of its popularity, especially on weekends, the breakfast room does fill up quickly and we try to open another area around our meeting rooms. Apologies for the inconvenience if you weren't able to find a seat.

We sincerely thank you for the opportunity to be of service and that you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites as your getaway destination hotel.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel! We ended up booking very late 4:30 after a horrible experience at another hotel. They were able to provide an accessible room to us in a snap!

The staff is fantastic and will go above and beyond to help in any way!

They are knowledgeable about the area, the best restaurants, what to see and where to shop!

The rooms are spotless, well designed and truly fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytravelerKimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear HappyTraveler KimR:

Providing our Valued Guests with top notch service is what Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's does best and what we've become known for within the city. We are so delighted that you selected our hotel as your home away from home and welcome you back soon. As well, we are pleased that you took the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor and provide us with a Super rating.

Safe travels and all the best,

Cyril Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 24 in St. John's
219 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 199 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn St. John's)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, gives you confidence that your business or leisure trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. Ideally located between the St. John's Airport and the downtown core, close to business parks, the University, and the province's largest shopping mall, we provide you with just what you need, so travel is easy and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn St. John`s Hotel St. John`s
Travellers Hotel St Johns
Travellers St Johns
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing