We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean - Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peace River
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Clean - Not impressed”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Before I could even check in I got an email saying their water slide was broke. Not cool, this is why I booked you. Got to our room and folded out the sofa bed and bed was not made, Weird... so I had to hunt up the sheets and blanket and I found them all over the room. Sheets in drawer and blanket in closet. Pulled out blanket to see it had milk or puke on it. YUCK... Called front desk to get new stuff. Then went to the bathroom and seen we had used soap in shower with hair on it and NO other soap or shampoo in bathroom. NOTHING... Then I checked the cups in bathroom. Lipstick smeared on glass. Totally GROSS. I went and complained in person at the front desk. They offered to move me rooms but I was settled already and she gave me a bag of soap and shampoo and 50% off my 1st stay but didn't offer anyone to clean up. NOT impressed. Then the next day we missed our breakfast at hotel because clerk who checked me in gave us the wrong time. Then when we finally got to use the pool area the pool water was yellow/green and full of chlorine. Don't think I will stay again for the price of $259 a night. I expect better for that kind of $$$

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Leah W:

I appreciate the feedback and understand your frustration. We certainly didn't meet your expectations, nor our own. We promise to always give you a room that's clean, fresh, and reflects the highest quality standards and give you the service that will make you want to return. I apologize on behalf of my team in not delivering on that promise.

I invite you to contact me directly at crussell@silverbirchhotels.com to discuss your recenty stay.

Sincerely,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
101
56
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel was very nice and breakfasts were good. Should have bar or restaurant on site. I I personally talked to person at front desk for 4:30 a. M. Wake up call for next morning. She checked file and said O.K..No wake up call was received and flight was missed. Totally unacceptable and beyond any more civilized comment

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Rob L.

Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate the frustration shown as you should have received your wakeup call as requested. We did not meet your expectations, or our own- I sincerely apologize. I'd like to speak with you personally on this matter. If I could take a moment of your time, please contact me through email: crussell@silverbirchhotels.com

Once again, Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's apologizes for the disruption to your day and the frustration caused due to our error.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and had variety but had a little trouble getting a seat. Overall our experience was nice would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Heather S:

Thank you for the great feedback and awesome rating! So glad you enjoyed your visit and everything was to your liking. Our complimentary breakfast offerings are quickly becoming the talk of the town and our guests are providing us with positive feedback.Because of its popularity, especially on weekends, the breakfast room does fill up quickly and we try to open another area around our meeting rooms. Apologies for the inconvenience if you weren't able to find a seat.

We sincerely thank you for the opportunity to be of service and that you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites as your getaway destination hotel.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel! We ended up booking very late 4:30 after a horrible experience at another hotel. They were able to provide an accessible room to us in a snap!

The staff is fantastic and will go above and beyond to help in any way!

They are knowledgeable about the area, the best restaurants, what to see and where to shop!

The rooms are spotless, well designed and truly fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytravelerKimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear HappyTraveler KimR:

Providing our Valued Guests with top notch service is what Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's does best and what we've become known for within the city. We are so delighted that you selected our hotel as your home away from home and welcome you back soon. As well, we are pleased that you took the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor and provide us with a Super rating.

Safe travels and all the best,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This modern hotel is pleasant and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Slept well in a good bed with good pillows. Breakfast was filling.

It's a $10-15 cab ride from downtown St. John's but because it's away from the harbour it was sunny at the hotel when foggy downtown. The trees on the slopes nearby were nice.

The choice of restaurants nearby is not great but there is a fish and chips place and comedy club nearby plus a hotel restaurant across the busy highway. Wireless worked well.

No complaints really

Room Tip: Like all hotels it's quieter the further up your room is but I think it's just generally a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Brad58:

Our promise to you is to ensure everything is "just right!" Looks as though Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's met your expectations as well as our beautiful city and downtown area which is always worth the trip. Thank you very much for providing a rating through Trip Advisor as well as valuable feedback that I can share with my associates and leadership team.It was a pleasure to serve you and we welcome you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was a great experience. The staff were very friendly, the rooms very clean, and the pool is awesome ! Oh and the bed is super comfy which is definitely a bonus when staying away from your own ! Would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevHfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear BevHfx:

Thank you for the great comments and awesome rating! We're so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's and that your recommending us to other valued travelers and future guests. Home isn't a place, it's a feeling and We always try our best to ensure all of our guests have that emotion and guest experience. It was our pleasure to be of service.

Yours in hospitality,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in St. Johns Nl and our experience was outstanding. The service was exceptional and very friendly. Everything was perfect and the rooms were very clean and tidy. I would stay there again for sure

Room Tip: every room seems to be a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Steven H:

We are delighted that you took the time to offer feedback on your recent stay and give Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's top marks. Our promise to you, our valued guest, is to make you feel welcome, give you a room that's clean, fresh and reflects the highest quality standards, respond promptly to any need you might have and give you the service that will make you want to return. Looks like we've accomplished our goal in your review!

It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest; thank you for your patronage.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Address: 199 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn St. John's)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, gives you confidence that your business or leisure trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. Ideally located between the St. John's Airport and the downtown core, close to business parks, the University, and the province's largest shopping mall, we provide you with just what you need, so travel is easy and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn St. John`s Hotel St. John`s
Travellers Hotel St Johns
Travellers St Johns
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing