We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Nearby Hotels
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murray Premises Hotel(St. John's)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Delta Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Super 8 St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Airport(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$342
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$130
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
202
88
19
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
88
19
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenmount roadfront deskadded touchpool and water slidegreat hotelsitting arearooms were very cleanflat screenking suiteevery morninghotel is locatedexercise roomwould highly recommend this hotellots of parkingmini fridgefree parkingdowntown area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 321 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a new hotel so as you would expect the rooms are clean. We stayed here Boxing night and found the staff very attentive. There was a snow storm when we left but I was able to start the truck from the room window.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Welshnewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear WelshNewfie:

First and foremost Happy New Year and thank you so very much for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites as your destination hotel and your home away from home during the holiday period. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and surroundings!

Hope to see you on a return visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Its a great hotel, very clean and the staff are quite friendly.
There is a complimentary breakfast which I have found to be plentiful and not bad. This hotel is more expensive then other hotels in this area and that is definitely to be taken into consideration. There are fridges, microwaves and a coffee maker in the rooms. The suites are very nice with a large tv in front of the bed and another tv in the sitting room area. There is also a pool with a waterslide that is suitable for children, small children.
The only downside would be the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Elaine S:

Thank you for your comments and rating, much appreciated.

We are delighted that you chose Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's as your destination hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you and have you as one of our valued guests. We are pleased that you took advantage of our Complimentary Hot Breakfast and mentioned our amenity selection that was to your liking.

Happy New Year!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I just stayed at the Fairfield Mariott St. John's , Newfoundland. The reason I booked this hotel for New Years is because I knew that there is a pool and slide available... Great for kids! However, the next morning at 7:00 when we went to go swimming with our very excited 5 year old the pool was closed for maintenance . The chlorine levels needed to be adjusted and water needed to be added to the pool. The pool did not open until 10:15 ( check out is at 11:00) and then we were told that it probably would be too cold to swim in... and it was. I am so disappointed with the quality of service. It was as if everything was being done to ensure the pool wasn't available! This was obviously a very busy night with a number of children staying at the hotel! Maintenance should have been done overnight. Again, we chose this hotel because of the pool and didn't even really get to use it! Very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Good day NYE201314:

First of all, thank you for your comments and feedback. I am disappointed to learn that your Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's experience wasn't positive and for that I do apologize.

We make every effort to all of our valued guests, in fact its a promise, that they are taken care of from the moment they arrive in our our lobby to the time of departure.

I have investigated the issue at hand, and indeed there was an equipment malfunction that took some time to repair which led to inconvenience unfortunately.
Our FIS team diligently worked to have the pool up and running in a timely manner; however, we could not open it prematurely as chemical levels have to be in line or it then becomes a safety issue. We always err on the side of caution.

Once again, my sincerest apologies. I do hope that you will consider FIS in the near future.

Regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked the Fairfield Inn for 4 nights when we went to visit family in St. John's between Christmas and New Years. We heard it was new, which we like, and of course we checked out the reviews on TripAdvisor. Because of the timing of our stay, the hotel was extremely quiet, especially the weeknights. This allowed for plenty of seats in the breakfast room. We didn't use the pool, but we had a look at it, and it all looks very good. We had a double queen on the 4th floor, facing the front/parking lot. It was extremely quiet at night, except the night it was blowing a gale outside, but there's not much that can be done about that. Nice to have the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Shower and hot water supply was excellent. Good TV and desk area in the room. The location was good for us, although it should be noted that it is not close to the harbour or downtown, if that's where you plan to spend a lot of your time. The staff are friendly and helpful. We'll go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Jim B:

It was a pleasure to be of service to you during your recent four night visit. We truly appreciate the patronage and great feedback! Being part of the Marriott Brand means promising and ensuring all of our valued guests receive the attention they expect and overall comfort is second to none during their visit to Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's.

We are delighted that you chose FIS as your "home away from home" during the holiday season and that our team was able to provide a joyful experience!

Happy New Year!

Cyril Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Brand new place that has very good service.
The rooms were good size and the staff was very nice and helpful.
The breakfast was ok, nothing extraordinary.
I would recommend for any business traveler (I did not get to enjoy the pool and slide, but it looked fun).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPro1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear TravelPro1977:

Taking the time to offer us feedback and a great rating at this busy time of year is very much appreciated to my team and I. We truly value the opinions and comments of all our valued guests; it was a pleasure to learn that you had a great experience. Maybe next time you can enjoy our pool and waterslide on a return trip.

Once again, it was a pleasure to serve you and we truly hope that you consider Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's on your next visit and call us your "home away from home!"

Have a very Merry Christmas and a Joyous NewYear!

Warmest wishes,

Cyril Russell, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews