We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Let the New Car Smell Fool You ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rocky Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Let the New Car Smell Fool You ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself and my wife had the misfortune of staying at this hotel on November 2nd, 2013. We decided to try this hotel, rather than we normally stay as it was a new hotel.

Part 1 - We were first given Room #501. As I was walking down the hallway the closer I got to the room I could hear a noise possibly from the ventilation system. When we opened the door to the room I could hear it even louder from the ventilation in the bathroom. It was marginally better when you closed the bathroom door. We returned to the front desk where we were given another Room #511 on the same floor. Upon entering this room the same ventilation noise was probably half as much as our previous room. Certainly not ideal when you are looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere. We decided to stay and try it out anyway.

Part 2 - At about 3:30AM we awoke to the sound of kids "horsing" around in the hallway. There were 8-10 young teens in the immediate area of our door. My wife promptly called the front desk. When we opened our door to see what was going on they all scattered. Apparently there were a large number of youths staying at the hotel for sports tournament. Where were the parents or chaperones while this was going on I have no idea? However they had to be staying at the hotel as you cannot even access the elevator after hours without your room key card. At around 7:00AM it sounded like they were all out in the hallway again.

Part 3 - After our "premature" wake up call we got ready for the day and went to the front desk to speak with the staff as we were booked to stay two more nights. My wife spoke with the supervisor on duty and explained the issues we had the previous night. She promptly gave us the standard company policy line of everything they do to satisfy their customers. I also spoke with another lady who was working at the counter regarding the noise coming back through the ventilation system on the 5th floor. I knew there was no possible way that there had not been complaints about it before. She confirmed to me that she had heard complaints from the other end of the 5th floor usually when the wind is blowing. The only thing was while we stayed there there was no wind? There was no offer to us by the supervisor to resolve our complaints.

We promptly went across the street and booked in to our usual hotel. When we returned to check out of the Fairfield Inn. My wife again had another discussion with the supervisor, at this time she charged us a reduced price for the room. If she had done this the first time and/or apologized we might not have left, go figure!

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms on the top/fifth floor. There is definitely an issue with a noisy ventilation sy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyontheROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Steve007_10:

Thankyou for the detailed comments. I am disappointed that you did not have a positive experience on your recent trip and I do apologize. Being a new property, as with any new build, there will be challenges and rest assured we are diligently working to eliminate such deficiencies as you had mentioned in your feedback. Our objective is to provide comfortable surroundings for our valued guests and consistently ensure that everything is just right, uncomplicated and everything is in working order. I will be bringing your comments to the leadership team and actioning accordingly. Once again, my sincerest apologies and I hope, at another time, you will give us a second opportunity to be of service.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    71
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
101
56
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and we found that it was exceptional in all ways.
Check-in process was quick and informative
Greeted with a smile
Rooms were spacious and very clean
Keurig Coffee was a BONUS
Breakfast was delicious and great selection
Cleaning Staff were friendly and very accommodating
Pool was a little small but served the purpose
Water Slide doesn't end in the pool making it safer and saves space in the pool
Check Out was also efficient
The exercise room was excellent with very high end equipment
Although the location is on a busy street with turning left a little difficult
It is WORTH it in every other way

Room Tip: We stayed in the wheelchair accessible room because the other rooms weren't cleaned upon check-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DwayneNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Dwayne:

"Guests mean business," thank you so much for the raving comments and excellent rating on Trip Advisor!! Sharing such feedback with my leadership and associate team is a great motivator!
We want to ensure consistency in comfort and service and it looks like we've achieved that goal on your recent stay.
We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing our property, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott St.John's, as your home away from home.

Warmest regards from the FIS team.

Cyril Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay here this past weekend and was very impressed! The staff were very nice and upgraded us upon arrival. The room was huge, clean and was very relaxing. The breakfast was also very good. The hotel is modern and is very clean and inviting. I was also impressed with the location, close to the mall and downtown. If you are ever in St. John's, don't pass this one up.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trilogy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Trilogy86:

It is a delight to receive such a great review and comments, thank you so much! I will be sure to share this information with my team as it certainly acts as a great motivator. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope that upon your next visit to St.John's you choose Fiarfield Inn & Suites St.John's as your home a way from home!

All the best,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed here three times and every time has been very good. If you want uber convenient airport access, look elsewhere; but it is fairly centrally located with quick access to the highway. The airport is a 10-15 minute drive away. As usual, the breakfast was superb, with a great variety of food. the breakfast lounge is very comfortable. The rooms are always clean and this hotel picked a throwback to the 70s color palette, with a dash of Euro feel, finishings included. The hotel is large, so be careful to ask for a room away from teams and families with kids, usually a top floor is best, away from the elevator and ice machine. This hotel has a pool and a tuck shop, but professionals can forget getting in some laps as it is dominated by kiddos.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravelalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sirtravelalot1:

Thorough comments, thankyou so much as I will share with my team. Only Fairfield Inn & Suites provides you with everything you need at an exceptional value and we give you the confidence that your trip will succeed.
Delivering consistently on our service and your expectations is our goal on a daily basis. Thank you for choosing, once again, FIS as your destination hotel and being a loyal guest to the brand!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked a few nights at the hotel, in order to get a good night's sleep before surgery the next day. Door between our room & the adjacent room would not close (security issue). Even worse, the AC was broken, letting wind from outside cause a constant 65 dB (measured on my phone) hum throughout the night. Hotel was full & they were unwilling to move us to a comparable room. Worst hotel experience i have had in a very long time.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
DearP709:

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's. We truly value the opinions of our valued guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission as evident in other Trip Advisor guest feedback.

Rest assured the issues that you have pointed out will be investigated and actioned accordingly. We want all our guests to think of our property as their home away from home and not leave disappointed.

With that said, I'd like to take this opportunity to discuss this matter with you directly, please contact me at your convenience.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott St.John's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

When I first walked into the lobby of the hotel shortly after it opened I was very impressed. The lobby was chic and modern, with a little mini store of chips and drinks on one side and a printer/copier station across from the desk I was intrigued. The lobby also houses a restaurant and touch-screen monitors for your use.

Down the hall is the pool area, with a water slide, and a gym. The rooms are very nice, with all new furnishings and decor. Our room was nicely decorated with local art and modern furnishings and wallpaper. There was also a large flat-screen TV, a mini-fridge, and a Keurig coffee machine.

In my opinion, it's one of the nicest hotels in St. John's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasminerose709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jasminerose709:

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott St.John's and also giving us a 5 star rating!
My team and I are delighted and pleased that you found everything to your liking and welcome you back in the very near future so that you can once again experience the service and product that sets us apart from the competition.

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I had occasion to stay for three nights at the end of September at the Fairfield Inn while we were getting ready to take possession of our new home here. Having stayed in many hotels and resorts over the years I can honestly say this is an exceptional hotel in everyway possible. This was our first stay in a Fairfield Inn.

Its a very new hotel and obviously has all of the amenities that we needed including a very good self-serve breakfast. The front desk personnel were efficient and personable. The room was well appointed, clean, bright and dotted with pictures of the city.

Very centrally located with ample parking. We even did some laundry during our stay and that too was very easy. Although we didn't use it, there was a business center in the lobby as well as a place to buy a frozen dinner, snack food or a soft drink.

As for the price, its very consistent with other like hotels in St. John's (which tends to be a bit higher than most cities for some reason) but when you consider this is a new hotel with a full breakfast its really a good bargain.

Simply put, there were no negatives (in fact I've been suggesting other co-workers stay here when in St. John's). The only thing we missed was a hot tub.

It made our relocation to St. John's really painless. Thanks folks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear NSFolks:

For you to take the time to comment and rate Fairfield Inn & Suites St.John's on Trip Advisor in regard to our service, products and property is truly appreciated! My team of professionals want to ensure consistent comfort and ease of service throughout our guests' stay and provide a home away from home experience. Looks like we've achieved that goal!

Once again, thank you for choosing FFIS as your destination hotel and allowing us to be of service to you!

Warmest regards,

Cyril Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Address: 199 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn St. John's)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, gives you confidence that your business or leisure trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. Ideally located between the St. John's Airport and the downtown core, close to business parks, the University, and the province's largest shopping mall, we provide you with just what you need, so travel is easy and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn St. John`s Hotel St. John`s
Travellers Hotel St Johns
Travellers St Johns
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing