We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of bravado and little substance”

St. John's Haunted Hike
Ranked #5 of 20 Tours in St. John's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newfoundland's most popular paranormal attraction - a ghostly walking tour of the haunted streets of old St. John's.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lot of bravado and little substance”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Information was provided in a textbook/newspaper type format in a loud voice. The places we walked were interesting and not where we might have gone otherwise, but the storytelling needs work.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good fun if it's your thing”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The guide was loud and entertaining with a great sense of humour. Groups are large (50ish people) but that did not seem to have much of an effect on the enjoyment of the tour. There are a couple of different tours, the one I went on was the "Sinners and Spirits" tour, meaning it was less paranormal and more "this is where hangings took place" "this is the type of tortures used" and some local, true stories about mysterious and murderous happenings. It was interesting as I am riveted by historical and amusing tales. But some people seemed to think it was hokey. I believe those people were expecting something to actually jump out and scare them and a real ghost to appear... but you can't please everyone. I do not recommend for children under 10 years, or people who have difficulty walking longer distances. The distance isn't so bad, but you do go up and down the hills of St. Johns which can leave you a little breathless and some people found it difficult to keep up with the group. Go on a night where there is some fog and a little drizzle rain to really get into the mood! It cost's $10, which I believed to be worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St.John's nightlife”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our tour guide was a man in character and costume, author of Haunted Shores- Dale Jarvis
fast pace, walking tour of down town st.John's. Frequent stopping to catch your breath and to hear spooky tales,of said haunted spots. Very interesting and not for the faint of heart. Nightly at 9pm, 2 hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stories well told in spooky places. Good fun.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We met at the Anglican cathedral and our amusing and well informed guide, dressed in period gear, led us, in the rain, through some of the lesser well travelled places and back alleys of SJ. Murder and evil deeds were frequent in old St. John's. About an hour's walk on easy terrain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1212check
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stories”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you like to heard a good ghost story, this is the hike for you. Yes, it is hooky but it is still lots of fun. Be prepared for a brisk walk up and down the hilly streets of St. John's.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alig8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Haunted Hike also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to St. John's Haunted Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing