We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant & Informal”
Review of Cabot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabot Guest House
Ranked #18 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This B & B is a lovely old Victorian house with a relaxed atmosphere. It was very quiet and comfortable, clean and modernized. A cook came in each morning and made a hot breakfast, but time was limited to 45 minutes each day to get the meal. Monkstown Road is fairly busy, but our back room was quiet and faced other interesting old homes. About my only complaint would be the pillows, which were flat, and the bedding, although of good quality, was getting quite worn. Our room was elegantly proportioned with large windows. The key was left in the front hall for us, and we didn't have to pay until we had breakfast the following morning. They also provided a phone in the front hall with taxi and emergency contact numbers. It was an interesting experience, as we hadn't done a B & B before.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18karatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We thank you for your kind comments.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 92 of 92 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank Ghali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynier G, Guest Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abba Tourist Home
#21 of 25 in St. John's
151 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Guest House

Address: 26 Monkstown Rd | Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $53 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet rooms in a refurbished mansion with modern amenities and off street parking for small to mid size cars only. We are pretty much dead center downtown and a 10 to 15 minute walk would take you anywhere from the Sheraton in the east end to the Delta Convention Center / Mile One in the west end with most of the cathedrals, museums, art galleries and restaurants in between. On Military Road, 557 feet to the south of Cabot House, you have: The Rooms Complex (museum, archives, Art Gallery, restaurant) The Colonial Building Commissariat House Government House St. Thomas's Church (the oldest Protestant Church in North America) The Basilica of St. John the Baptist Presentation Convent (housing the veiled Madonna) Breakfast services have ended. The Hungry Heart Cafe is a one minute walk from our front door and has a professional staff on site able to cater to any dietary requirement at modest cost Express check in and check out. Free TV; WiFi; and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cabot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Guest House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing