We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Duckworth”
Review of Duckworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duckworth Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time at the Duckworth”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed there in August and found it very pleasant. It is an old Hotel but if you are in St. John's .........everything is old!! The hotel has been renovated and our room was brilliant. The bathroom was very modern and tastefully decorated. Breakfast in the morning was complimentary and there was a lot of variety. Janice was there to serve us every morning and was very upbeat and friendly. The location is perfect, right in the heart of St. John's and there are many pubs and restaurants around. This is more like a boutique hotel than a B and B. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. We have put a lot of time and energy into our business and the renovations. Hearing positive responses makes it worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
5
49
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked the Duckworth for 2 nights in st.John's, but unfortunately booked the wrong two nights (our mistake, not theirs). They managed to find us a room for the night we arrived, and although they were booked for the next night they gave us the phone numbers of a few other B&Bs they recommended in the area.
They were very understanding considering our mix up, and allowed us to move the one night and cancel the other, so that we were not out of pocket for an extra night.
Nice rooms, ours was with a shared bath but was the next door over, so not bad, although we were on the 4th floor so it is a long walk with bags. Parking available on the street, free on weekends, walking (stumbling) distance to George St. There is a bar down the street called the ship pub that we enjoyed as well, great fish and chips and friendly people, a good locals bar.
Breakfast was self serve and continental, toaster with bagels/bread, baked goodies, cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks so so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it. So glad we were able to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are very glad that we chose to stay here during our trip to St. John's in July 2012. While not your "typical" B&B experience (it has more of a hotel feel), our stay was a pleasant one.

We were in two different rooms during our stay - one room on the third floor, and one on the second. The room on the second floor was more expensive with an ensuite bath, and SO worth the extra money! While the shared washroom on the third floor was extremely clean and always available, the room that we had was extremely warm/stuffy and very bright in the morning (it had sheer-ish type curtains that did nothing to keep out the light). Also, the wireless signal didn't reach the second floor (I had to go downstairs to access the wireless).

That being said, the location couldn't be beat, so we weren't overly concerned. Also, St. John's was experiencing above-average temperatures at the time, so that might be the reason for the temperature of the room (to their credit, they did have a fan in the room!) It was really nice to have rooms with little fridges. Also, the breakfast was good in the morning (nothing fancy, but nothing too plain, either - bagels, cheese, juice, milk - a tasty continental breakfast).

We would stay here again simply because the location is fantastic (minutes walk to George Street/downtown), and the staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor, if possible - no higher! Wireless cuts out on third floor, and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryBumpkin1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working on fixing the wireless problem. The building was built in 1892 and has very thick brick walls...1 1/2 feet thick. This doesn't help with wireless signals. We appreciate all your feedback which helps us to fix problems and the positive feedback makes us feel that our hard work has paid off and we are accomplishing what what we are trying to do...offer affordable, clean, comfortable accommodations in downtown St. John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked a night at the Duckworth at the last minute for our last full night in St John's. The location is great as it's right in the heart of downtown, if that's what you're looking for. Parking our car wasn't an issue for us, there's free parking on the street after 6pm, just be careful in the morning when rates resume at 8am.

Our main issue with the room (404) in our case was the lack of air conditioning. It was quite the scorcher the day we stayed and even though it had cooled right down by night there was no cooling in sight for our little room, even though there were two fans and we had left the window wide open all night. The building is a hundred years old so apparently it can't run AC reliably.

Our room was clean and cozy, the staff was friendly and the continental breakfast had a good selection of bread, in house bake goods, fruit, yogurt and beverages.

With the exception of the heat it would have been a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennymatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff is awesome, super friendly, super accommodating, just really nice. The building and the rooms are old and classic yet modernly appointed. It is also centrally located and within easy access of all of downtown St. John's. The only downside we found was that on weekends the nearby bars and pubs can be quite loud, but as long as you close the windows its no problem at all. They offer a nice continental breakfast and they were very pleasant to deal with, I recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in June, while attending a conference at the convention centre, which is about a fairly level and relaxed 9 minute walk away. Accomodation here was less than half the price of the Delta. Our room was small but very nicely furnished, clean and fresh. Bathroom was modern and very clean. We even had a bit of the view of the harbour. Only had breakfast at the hotel once, it was nothing fancy but certainly enough for us. Staff we met were very friendly, and let us keep our bags there beyond check-out while we spent a last few hours in the neighbourhood before heading out to the airport.
We were happy with our stay. Only warning I would have would be that if you are a very light sleeper (so maybe shouldn't stay in a downtown hotel) you can hear music from nearby pubs/clubs at night but it didn't bother us. The walk to New Gower Street does send you past a few boarded up buildings, but there is enough traffic on the street that it wasn't worrisome. Good location for walking around St. John's. Overall, very pleased with our stay and quite delighted to have paid 1/2 as much as our colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inkmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed for three nights in June 2012. This was my second time here having stayed in June 2011. Last year they were under renovations but were so discreet that it did not detract from my experience. This year I was booked in the newly renovated side and boy was I amazed. Very well appointed, professionally finished with exquisite detailing. Nicely done.

The Duckworth is in a very convenient location for me in the central core of downtown St. John's. From Duckworth’s I can easily walk to the waterfront, conference centre, and myriad restaurants that are close by.

The staff was extremely accommodating. I had left my whole set of house keys in the room not noticing until I arrived home in Calgary. I made a call to Duckworth’s and they arranged for my keys to be picked up but courier. The flawless transaction had my keys arrive in Calgary overnight. Thank you so much Duckworth staff!

Room Tip: Duckworth Street can be noisy in the earlier part of the evening. Suites on the East facing side wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
378 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Blue on Water
#14 of 22 in St. John's
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Franklin Hotel LTD
The Franklin Hotel LTD
#20 of 23 in St. John's
47 reviews
Downtown
Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duckworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duckworth Hotel

Property: Duckworth Hotel
Address: 331 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duckworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 room boutique hotel located on one of the two main downtown city streets. Fully renovated in 2012, this property boasts the onsite award winning restaurant & bar, Magnum & Steins. Besides the convenience of this location and the onsite restaurant and bar each room amenities include mini fridge, free wireless Internet, in room coffee maker, HDTV televisions, telephones with voice mail & wake up calls, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Late check ins welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Duckworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duckworth Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing