We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss Chalet

Swiss Chalet
Ranked #112 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
botwood
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Food was great as always, great value and great service. we always eat here when visiting St Johns and we have never been disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlabur21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The food tastes good I will admit, however if you require alterations in your food for allergy purposes (like myself) then I wouldn't recommend visiting this restaurant. The sandwiches and wraps are pre-made so you cannot have the cheese or sauce removed from the food. This limited what I could order big time! Just a heads up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amandawoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a noisy busy family style restaurant. The food is nothing special - just chicken and fries pumped out at an alarming rate. How good can it be when they have a drive-thru?! So many folks enjoy this but I'm not sure why.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service--once you get in”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Swiss Chalet is a very, very busy restaurant but the wait staff are consistently superb. The food is what you would expect of a large chain--predictable but tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iris51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and several members of his family love eating at Swiss Chalet so we eat here (or get takeaway) quite often when we visit St. John's. Meals are always good and well prepared. I like the seasonal specials- particularly the soups. Service is very quick so it is a great place to stop and have a bite when you are on the go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamelanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing