We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite hotel in the west coast nfld”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I use this hotel 2~3weeks in summer time(June to July) every year(sice hotel was Holiday Inn).
It's always comfort to stay here. Weekly days quiet, weekend some parties and weddings at 2nd floor,,, still fun to see the events though.
These years, sometimes hard to reserve this hotel, so please be careful.
Location is very good, on the west street in Cornerbrook, you can go anywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r35Yuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Happy to hear that you have enjoyed coming back to stay with us over the years. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Lexie Mckenzie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

First let me say that everyone that we came in contact were very friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast from the Crown and Moose was excellent and room service was very quick. The beds were extremely comfortable. Also we were there for a wedding and the ballroom looked great along with great food.

However the rooms are very outdated,in our experience we weren't able to have both lamps plugged in because of the distance from a power bar, the wallpaper and carpeting are old and not very well maintained. The bathroom is very small and cramped. The "fitness room" is basically a small room with a few pieces of broken cardio equipment and a low ceiling.

Getting your luggage into the hotel can be a task, the hotel doesn't have sliding doors and instead you have to press the button to wait 10 or 15 seconds for the door to slowly open. It's also difficult if you need to use a cart in the tiny elevator. It's pretty much big enough for 1 or 2 people and the luggage cart.

Overall the cost of the hotel doesn't match the outdated decor and overall rundown appearance of the room levels of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hi There,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us. We agree that our staff provides some great customer service. However, I apologize that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We have been working to update the majority of our guest rooms on the first floor this year with plans to continue our renovations to our other floors in the future. Also, linen updates for our standard double rooms will take place early this month. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again to the property.

All the best,
Lexie Mckenzie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Price is a little high considering there's no breakfast of any kind included. Rooms had nice plush beds and good pillows. Pool and available laundry were nice features. Secure indoor parking was a bonus for our motos. The resturant attached to the hotel was terrible, do not think about getting breakfast there. Walk down the street to tims.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and some of the features we have to offer at the hotel. We apologize that your experience in the Crown & Moose Restaurant did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the property again soon.

Lexie Mckenzie,
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Checked into this hotel June 20, 2014. My mother and I were doing a road trip around Newfoundland and we stayed here for one night. Room was clean and comfortable.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the next morning and was waited on by Karen. She is the best server! So friendly and her service was great, a real people person! I think my mother wanted to adopt her. If we were residents of Corner Brook, we'd be regular customers because of her.

Thanks again for the wonderful service.

Shelagh Richer
Nanaimo BC

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks so much for your great review! We are glad to hear that you both had a pleasant stay with us. We will definitely pass along your comments to Karen. She is certainly great and we are lucky to have her as part of our team.

All the best,
Lexie Mckenzie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel did exactly what we needed it to do. Rooms were clean and livable.

The staff is what stood out though - super accommodating to adjust our stay after we arrived (we had booked 3 rooms well in advance, but not all of our party arrived on the first night of our stay). Great service.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Nonam87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, Front Office Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hello,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Greenwood Inn & Suites. We will definitely share your kind words with our staff! We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again.

All the best,

Lexie McKenzie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Tired and worn out hotel in downtown Corner Brook. Great location but needs updating badly. Clean, friendly staff. Weekends cater to party'ers which makes it tough to get a good night sleep. Weekdays were fine. Great coffee shop across the street which was great cause the coffee in room was hardly palatable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank LPATT_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, Front Office Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with our great staff and agree that our downtown location is one of the excellent features of our property. We are currently working to upgrade our linens in all of our guest rooms with just our standard guest rooms left to be completed in the coming month. As well, we have ongoing renovations happening to first floor guest rooms with plans for other floors in the near future. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you to the property again!

All the best,

Lexie Mckenzie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This used to be a Holiday Inn and basic layout is somewhat dated but finishes are nice enough.
Staff were friendly and property had all the basic amenities, was clean and convenient location.
Nothing outstanding but goods basic accommodation that covers all the essentials and good value at $115 per night. Probably 3 1/2 stars - better than average but perhaps shy of being very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
0.2 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 6 in Corner Brook
262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
75 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
#2 of 6 in Corner Brook
210 reviews
4.8 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grenfell Campus Summer Accommodations, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Inn & Suites

Address: 48 West St, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2Z2, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range: $113 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwood Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full service property offers 102 comfortable and modern guestrooms. Our rooms are appointed with plush pillow-top mattresses, 32" LCD televisions with high definition channels,coffee makers, Lodge-net movies,and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The downtown property features a restaurant/ lounge, indoor pool with fitness center, business center and a guest parking garage. We are located within minutes of Corner Brook's business, health and recreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Greenwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Corner Brook
Greenwood Inn & Suites Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing