We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Tired and worn out hotel in downtown Corner Brook. Great location but needs updating badly. Clean, friendly staff. Weekends cater to party'ers which makes it tough to get a good night sleep. Weekdays were fine. Great coffee shop across the street which was great cause the coffee in room was hardly palatable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LPATT_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, Front Office Manager at Greenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with our great staff and agree that our downtown location is one of the excellent features of our property. We are currently working to upgrade our linens in all of our guest rooms with just our standard guest rooms left to be completed in the coming month. As well, we have ongoing renovations happening to first floor guest rooms with plans for other floors in the near future. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you to the property again!

All the best,

Lexie Mckenzie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
29
22
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St.John's
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This used to be a Holiday Inn and basic layout is somewhat dated but finishes are nice enough.
Staff were friendly and property had all the basic amenities, was clean and convenient location.
Nothing outstanding but goods basic accommodation that covers all the essentials and good value at $115 per night. Probably 3 1/2 stars - better than average but perhaps shy of being very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were impressed with the room so.... Don't judge the hotel by the lobby.
Very comfy beds, great linens and bathroom towels. Had a coffee maker and small bar fridge. The business Center had a computer, flat screen tv, coffee Center and tv setting area.
Close to downtown and walking distances to everything.. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't eat there..
There's lots of free parking

Room Tip: Pay the extra, get the business section
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we arrived the room window was open, something we thought unusual on a warm Summer day. We closed it and left the air conditioner to cool the room while we went for dinner with other family staying in other rooms. At dinner no one else mentioned their window open at check-in. When we returned to an even warmer room than we left I called the front desk. They said they had portable air conditioners and would send one up. We were in another room with family when the air conditioner arrived. When we returned we learned it was a fan, not an air conditioner as we were told to expect. It was an uncomfortable night even with the window open.

The next morning we complained and educated them on the difference between a fan and a potable air conditioner. They were apologetic and got us one of three portable air conditioning units they have.

We were there for a wedding and the banquet room was very nice. However the rooms and corridors had worn carpet , very dated decor including old furniture with heavy wear from use.

There aren't much better options in Corner Brook but in Steady Brook and out the Humber Valley there are some newer nicer places.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else outside Corner Brook for a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a long day of traveling, thought we would sit for a nice relaxing meal, restaurant not even half full and we waited a long time and wasn't even acknowledge or brought menus to look at. Had to leave and go else where to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfiegirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room we had was clean room,f but had few amenities. Check in staff wasn't attentive or overly friendly. Restaurant food ok and and requires more staff. Parking is convenient, and the location is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewfoundlandPublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marystown, NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay for my 10th wedding anniversary on July 12/13. Never been to Corner Brook before so my wife and I went to sight see and do some zip lining at marble mountain. Ignore all negative reviews of this hotel. This was a great place. People must be really picky and extremely high maintenance if they did not like this hotel. Beds are awesome. Swimming pool is clean, full sized and deep for swimming. Location is right downtown and only minutes from the centre of the city and broadway for nice restaurants and nightlife. You can walk anywhere. Their new restaurant was the only place we could find downtown that offered an outdoor patio to have a cold beer on a hot day and the food was great as well. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Great experience. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park. Great view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
0.3 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 5 in Corner Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
#2 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
4.9 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Inn & Suites

Property: Greenwood Inn & Suites
Address: 48 West St, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2Z2, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwood Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full service property offers 102 comfortable and modern guestrooms. Our rooms are appointed with plush pillow-top mattresses, 32" LCD televisions with high definition channels,coffee makers, Lodge-net movies,and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The downtown property features a restaurant/ lounge, indoor pool with fitness center, business center and a guest parking garage. We are located within minutes of Corner Brook's business, health and recreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Greenwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Corner Brook
Greenwood Inn & Suites Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing