We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, competent, but not an experience”
Review of Glynmill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glynmill Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Decent, competent, but not an experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Glynmill has the ambiance of a hotel used mainly by people visiting Corner Brook on business. It does everything decently and nothing very well. Actually we didn't really take to Corner Brook or indeed the drives along the Humber Arms that radiate from there, though that's scarcely thye hotel's fault. Our room in the new block was perfectly acceptable as was the bathroom. We ate dinner and breakfast in the Carriage Room and they were OK too, even if it was quite a lonely experience for early dinner and breakfast. There was a bit of noise from the balcony of the room below but it didn't persist into the enening/night. The in-room wifi didn't work on eother of our machines, though it was fine in the lobby- a common disease in larger hotels where they just seem a bit reluctant to install the number and type of repeaters needed to provide service everywhere. As I say, OK not outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    123
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
94
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel for work but it felt like a vacation. The hotel is well maintained with excellent attention to details in rooms. It was very quiet. The restaurant was great value and tasty. The staff was extremely helpful. I look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Gorgeous old inn. Our suite was wonderful, with new bedding and lovely room. The main staircase could be magnificent but needs some work and new carpeting. This inn is old but so quaint. There was everything needed for a night's stay, including soap, shampoo etc. I did have to ask for bedding for pull-out sofa and I was told they were not sure if they had extra pillows! I can't imagine an inn without having pillows! My reservation was booked for 3 people and we were clear we would be using pull-out sofa. Its attention to details that makes a stay so memorable and having to ask for bedding and pillows and then told they may not have extra pillows. What was I to use?

Room Tip: If you are travelling with more than couple, make sure you ask for bedding and pillows up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What first intrigued me about Glynmill was its unique exterior, beautifully set in Cornerbrook. There are also three different dining options as well which was great if you want to stay close to the Inn. Although clean, not much else set it apart, the room was quite small (was overpriced when compared to other establishments) and the staff were not overly helpful.The real down part was that the room I had stayed in was close to one of the attached restaurants, making the room stink of grease. I opened the window in hopes it would help, however it seemed to draw in more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiledelphiaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is the best of the Corner Brook hotels, but like all of them, they don't bother to provide most of the basic amenities that hotels across North America provide. Shampoo? no. Conditioner? no. Soap? well, a tiny hard bar of yellow something that you might be able to get lather from if you try really hard. Bath gel? no. A hot shower? This morning, May 11th, it took 10 minutes of running the shower before the water changed from freezing cold to tolerably luke-warm, and another five minutes before it finally became hot. I'm glad I got up ahead of my alarm, otherwise I'd have been late for my departure because of waiting for the shower to warm up.

Beware that most of the hotels in Corner Brook and Stephenville don't provide shampoo and other basics. I don't usually pack shampoo when traveling because it's only on the west coast of Newfoundland that they're this cheap. But I forgot this time. It's not fun at 6 am waiting for the water to warm up in the shower and belatedly realizing that this is one of those hotels that can't even be bothered to provide shampoo...

They do give a tiny bottle of hand lotion which doesn't work well for hair.

The restaurant doesn't open until 7 am so it means a trip to the local Tim Horton's if you have an early start.

The bed is very comfortable though.

Room Tip: The end rooms are quieter but they're quite a distance from the central elevator, due to how thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberUrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Your customer feedback is appreciated. Our guestroom amenities consists of; 2 bars of soap, shampoo, shower cap and a make-up wipe. We also offer our guests who depart before the dining room opens a “Breakfast to Go Bag” consisting of a muffin, yogurt, apple or orange, with a cup of tea or coffee in hand. I sincerely apologize for your guestroom not being properly stocked with all of the amenities and for the oversight of the front desk agent for not offering you a Breakfast to Go Bag. We strive to provide the best in customer service and take full responsibility for any shortcoming. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading our in hotel amenities to a better quality. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for complimenting the Glynmill Inn as being the best hotel in Corner Brook while noting the comfort of our beds in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here last fall (2012) for a work trip. The hotel is nice but it is a bit dated. The room I stayed in was quite large. It had a separate living room area, which was spacious and had a couch, flat-screen TV, fridge and desk. There were two double beds in the bedroom and another flat-screen TV. The bathroom was off the bedroom and was large enough for what I needed. There aren't many hotel options available in Corner Brook and I had heard that this was the nicest. It's hard to compare as I didn't stay anywhere else. It was nice but I'd like to see what else was available next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love to stay at the Glynmill whenever I get the chance, I have stayed here on two separate occasions so far. It is my favorite hotel I have been to so far, it has such a great and historic feel around it. It is also located right next to a beautiful walking trail and lake, and Corner Brook is a very beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonNo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
0.2 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Corner Brook
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
#2 of 6 in Corner Brook
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grenfell Campus Summer Accommodations, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynmill Inn

Property: Glynmill Inn
Address: 1B Cobb Lane | ., Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2V3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glynmill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Glynmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynmill Hotel Corner Brook
Glynmill Inn Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing