We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
St.Albert
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good basic accomodation”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

During our excursion to the west coast of Newfoundland during the third week of June we decided to venture down to Cornerbrook before heading back cross Island. As such we hadn't reserved a room but on a Sunday evening at this time of year weren't to worried. Our trusty Garmin once again got a bit confused finding this location <its actually quite close to the Trans Canada Highway> but eventually we found our way and were able to secure a room. Believe the rates for the second floor were a bit lower than the main level <no elevator> and that, as with other Choice Hotels, a Seniors Rate was applied. Our cost was $120/night plus tax which was the lowest of our ten days in Newfoundland. Mind you the room was also one of the 'simplest' - view of parking lot - one Queen bed, basic bathroom, etc. also. That being said it was clean and the room had been kept up to basic standards. The young gentleman at the desk was very accomodating with us and suggested we visit the walking trails in the middle of town. We did the next day <will attach one picture> and would recommend these walks to others for sure. Jungle Jims is an attached restaurant which was very popular on a Sunday evening. We were avoiding 'chain restaurants' on this trip and as such ventured downtown to a superb restaurant <Chez West> that had only been opened under new management for four days. Actually had one of the best meals on our trip at that place! We did have a few drinks in the lounge at JJ's and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly banter with the girls who worked there! Most accomodating 'tourist hosts' for sure ! Would recommend this motel to others for short term stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many "thanks" for taking the time to share your experiences with us and others. Also "thank you" from our whole market for taking the time to add that beautiful picture of our treasured walking trial. We are proud of it. Maybe next time you're our way you'll consider taking a room with that great view of the harbour (the night scene can be very relaxing) We have them on both floors and some of them with fridges, which can make it convenient for people like yourself who stay a few nights. Again...our appreciation for you time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    34
    19
    13
See reviews for
42
46
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the university, which I would never attempt in the winter! It is very near a McDonalds and small mall. It is a small hotel and the staff is small, I arrived at the same time as other people which meant it took a little while to check in. Many people expect to be able to walk in to this hotel without a reservation, however, a conference for 500 was in town when I stayed there which meant the hotel was fully booked. Restaurant attached which serves decent family fare. Room was very dated, clean but stuck in the 80s, bedspread pilly and worn, some stains on the desk chair, etc. Seeing the key entry, I went out an outside door thinking I could walk around, when I turned to get back in, on closer inspection the guts were hauled out of it and I couldn't get back in! There is no elevator. You can open doors on the first floor and sit outside, which creates some noise on the city facing side, although people seem to like the view. You can get good prices through the Comfort Inn website, so that does make it decent value.

Room Tip: City facing views available. There are also rooms beside storage rooms which seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
"Thank you" for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experiences with us. Yes, we are located next door to the mall and it is the largest mall in our little City. Our City landscpae is very scenic but certainly that is what can make it difficult at times for someone who is used to "walking" place to place. Thank you too, for noticing our great housekeeping services. You will be pleased to know that in the very near future, we will be upgrading all our guest rooms with a new bedding program. As you also noted we do have rooms which overlook the harbour and can be a great selection for some. We appreciate that you found our Comfort Inn website a good value. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is located as you enter Corner Brook from the Trans Canada Hwy. Not within walking distance of downtown. The only restaurants are in the hotel next door and the Jungle Jim attached to the Comfort Inn.
This causes the problem - no continental breakfast at this hotel because of Jungle Jims. There is a MacDonalds next door.
Fridge in the room is an extra charge.
Free coffee and tea but no milk or cream only the disgusting powdered creamer even though there is a fridge where the coffee and tea are.
Parking can be tight if it is busy at Jungle Jims.

Probably better to find a local B & B where at least you will get breakfast.
This Comfort Inn is somewhat expensive for less services than other locations.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the road and not the parking lot - lots of noise when the gang leave Jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowsonthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. So sorry if you didn't find our location ideal for your needs. No we are not within walking distance of the City center, however, we are next door to the largest shopping area and less than a five minute drive to the City center. "Thank you" for your comments "room and Staff were good"; always appreciated by all. It is through comments such as yours that allows us to have a 2nd look at other products and services and see if we can improve them for others and your next stay. Once again, "thanks" for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Passing through Corner Brook I stopped late one evening and with enough luck they had a room available. When I first arrived there was not a person to be seen. I stood at the reception desk for a good five minutes as the phone behind the counter rang...no one appeared. Finally, a women came from the hallway...she did not seem to be pleased. I felt like more of an inconvenience that a welcomed guest. As I layed my head down to go to sleep I heard what sounded to be closet doors slamming in my own room and voices talking (my room did not have a closet nor anyone else). I could only assume that it was from the room next door. In addition, at about 4am I woke up to someone crying, awesome. Overall, the room was clean, which is a must for me and it has a Jungle Jim's attached, and it was a good meal. It was a good deal, but I would have to say I will not be running back anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiledelphiaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. Our sincere apologies if your welcome was not as "welcome" as it should have been. Sharing your experience will help us better ourselves in all aspects of our service and delivery. We are glad though that the cleanliness of the room met with your standards and that you enjoyed your meal at Jungle Jims. Again, our appreciation for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be an average hotel. We were checked in by very friendly staff. The room suited our needs. The hallways were a bit noisy with other guests talking as they were walking to their rooms and you could hear the traffic noise but it was no worse than any other hotel I have been in. The back stairs were slippery as it was raining and I did slip and almost fell so just be aware of the steps when it is raining. Jungle Jim's restaurant was very busy but they told us to go back to our room and they would call when a table was ready which was a very nice option. It's an average hotel with very nice staff we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to share your experience at our Hotel. It is always nice when touring guests notice the hospitality of our Staff becasue that is really what we strive for. We are also glad that you enjoyed the onsite restaurant, Jungle Jims, even if you had to wait a while for a table. They are a very popular place and we are pleased to know that they accomodated you by calling when a seat was available. Thanks again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Inn for 3 days while on business. Overall we were very pleased with our stay, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff made us feel very at home. The only negative comment would have to be the attached resturant - one night we decied to go there for dinner and it was very crowed and noisey, that being said the service was still fast and the food was ok. For the money - it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us after your stay, We appreciate all feedback, especially from guests who spend multiple nights with us, as it gives us an opportunity to be real hosts and also to grade ourselves for ways of improvement. Our on site Restaurant, Jungle Jims, is a very popular spot and yes, at times it can be a little overwhelming. We are pleased though that it didn't effect your service. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night back in February. Extremely loud until 5 am. Called front desk to complain but nothing accomplished. Walls are paper thin. Got refund for full amount of stay next morning upon check out. First offered half back, but in the end got full amount refunded.
Was like staying over night in a college dorm. Never again. Tonight 09 March 2013, I see on Facebook a friend of mine posting about a very loud and uncomfortable hotel. I asked her is she was staying at the "Comfort Inn" and surprise...she said yes. You need more staff and security on the weekends. I will not be staying at this hotel as well as not recommending this place.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiePAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Corner Brook, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Our sincere apologies for your most uncomfortable night that you spend with us a few weekends ago. We do realize that refunding your full stay certainly didn't change the fact that you went sleepless. It can be difficult at times when we accomodate large groups;and your recommendation for security is something that we are considering for the future. "Thank you" for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 6 in Corner Brook
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Corner Brook
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grenfell Campus Summer Accommodations, Memorial University of Newfoundland
6.0 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Corner Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Corner Brook

Property: Comfort Inn Corner Brook
Address: 41 Valley Rd, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 5B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Corner Brook 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"All new just for you!" Welcome to the newly renovated, 100% smoke free Comfort Inn Corner Brook. We overlook the Bay of Islands with a spectacular view of the harbour. Upgraded features include; new contemporary guest rooms equipped with 32" flat screens, work desk and ergonomic chair, FREE Wi-Fi , new bathrooms with granite top vanities, stylish new lobby, FREE 24 hour coffee, and new guest business area. Comfort Inn is Pet friendly so bring the whole family to experience our warm hospitality. Local walking trails are next door and Gros Morne National Park is just a nice day's outing. We have a fun family Restaurant on Property, "Jungle Jims" which is open 7-11 p.M. Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Corner Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Brook Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Corner Brook Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing