We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OOOOHHHH!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape St. Mary's Ecological Reserve

Cape St. Mary's Ecological Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OOOOHHHH!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a must see if traveling to Newfoundland! It took us three trips to finally see the birds without the fog....so glad we got to feast our eyes on this spectacular area! It is something you will always remember.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChefCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The drive out was much shorter than the GPS suggested and so we even returned around the Cape on our way back to StJohns. The whole way was a visual extravaganza. The cliffs and barrens, ponds and scrub, we loved it.

Oh, and the Eco Centre itself was good too.

When you walk the 1.2km's out to the bluff to get close to the birds the anticipation builds as their crying gets louder and more of them come into focus. There are 14000 breeding pair of gannets alone. Our timing wasn't great as we basically only saw gannets apart from the odd kittiwake and gull but that didn't matter. Just the scale of the scene was enough to have us siting on the edge for 20 minutes speechless.

Perhaps timing a visit with whales and icebergs would be wise but that probably brings lots more folks too- we almost had the place to ourself at 3 pm on a Sunday!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ComRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had no idea what to expect. What a phenomenal serendipitous experience- there are few spots like this in North America. We could have spent all day watching the birds. Extras include sheep, flowers, and some of the bird's eggs. Yes, it's a bit of an adventure to get there, but absolutely worth it. Don't let the weather stop you. The folks at the visitor's were very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating - could not have asked for more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2NATIONALPARKFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
441 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

So worth the drive and trying to dodge potholes! We were VERY lucky that there was no fog even though it was a drizzly, rainy day. We had read about the fog so were thrilled the view was clear. It was an easy walk to the nesting area and the view as we were walking was beautiful. Be careful where you step, there are sheep droppings. Once to the viewing area the sight was spectacular, the number of Northern Gannetts nesting was something to behold. Just as we began our trek back it began to really rain, we were wearing jackets with hoods but it was difficult for them to stand up to the wind. Once back at the center we dried off as best we could --it was well worth getting wet! There is a good restaurant, The Gannets Nest, as you leave the area and go back to the main road turn left and it's on the right. We were so lucky to see the birds and no fog!! Don't miss this sight.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birds and sheep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a very nice walk to see all the Gannets on the rock. Also enjoyed seeing the sheep on the road, paths and cliffs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape St. Mary's Ecological Reserve also viewed

Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Cape St. Mary's Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing