We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Shediac B&B and Inns
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“fair value for money”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Nice people running the B&B. Was middle of the road quality wise but also middle of the road money wise. Clean quiet place. Breakfast was a little unusual - three courses with lots of carbs - yogurt & fruit followed by Irish soda bread, then by carrot cake with frozen yogurt. Tasty but some protein might have been nice. Wouldn't stay again but I wouldn't tell people not to stay at any cost

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativity2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
7
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We just arrived at L'Auberge Gabriele Inn today. My husband, 16-year-old daughter and I were looking for a 'classic' Maritime B&B and this is exactly what we were looking for. We read the couple of reviews about the food before booking, but because no one had written about the accomodations and the two reviews about the food seemed to be overly critical we decided to take our chances based on the photos on TA. Our room was just what you'd hope for from an inn of this vintage and character; charming. The combination of original exposed wood beams and a large upgraded bathroom (including jacuzzi tub and shower meant that we lost none of the charm for the sake of modern upgrades. If you are looking to watch t.v. you'll be disappointed by the circa 1995 Panasonic 20" and the VCR, but if you're willing to enjoy the "unplugged" version of this place, you'll see it as quaint.

We also decided to eat dinner here, despite the negative reviews. We love food and we consider ourselves to be very good cooks. So, we can be fairly tough critics. The food was great. The seafood chowder was the perfect size, with at least 3 shrimp, 3 scallops, 5 mussels and lovely coconut milk broth that was to die for. My husband had the crab cakes---straight forward, came with a salad---excellent. My daughter had the steamed mussels; also a pretty straight forward cream/coconut and white wine sauce, but very tasty. The chocolate lava cake was not the best we've ever tasted, but still quite respectable. All-in-all a great meal. The only caution is that if you are looking for an affordable lobster dinner this is not the place to find it in this town--approx $20/pound.

The inn is set on the main strip of Shediac, so it is a little noisy in the evening (you may have to keep the windows closed for sleeping), but as long as you know that (and don't then complain about the traffic) you'll enjoy it as much as anywhere in town.

With only a couple of reviews; both of which were negative, I thought I'd chime in (even before we finish our two-night stay) to put a good word in for this lovely find in Shediac.

Room Tip: ensure you have a second full bed---not a cot if you are travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I had bad experience when I travelled to Shediac NB on Aug 6th lunch @ L'Auberge Gabriele Inn. They brought me & my husband to patio and we sat there more then 10 minutes but no one came to help us. They had 2 waitresses kept passes us but no intention to help us to taking our order even any drink. After 10 minutes I talked with one of the waitress she told would like someone to help us. Yes they did, but only served us 2 glasses of water and passed to the other table who came after us 5 minutes later. She served them a glass of water and took their order. When I thought she might return us to take our order, but she wasn't she went to the farther table to help the other customer and went away again. We were so mad and decided to left this restaurant. I felt they completely insulted us. I would love to told everyone here don't even go dining or stay in the rough and impolite restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shediac hotels

alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed in the Cormier room. First, we weren't greeted all that great. Not that they were rude or anything, just that the we felt the atmosphere should be more welcoming for a bed and breakfast. The room was clean but there were a few things we were disappointed in. First there was a hole in the wall beside the light switch that was not patched. There were tacky wire shelves that were attached to the wall. The website says that the rooms "bring you back in time"...and I think a nice wood wardrobe would have been more with the time frame...not wire shelving. The tv was really small. The bathroom was big enough, but there was no counter to put your things. I had to put my makeup bag on the floor while I got ready.
They served supper there. My husband had the '1 pound lobster'...and it was the smallest lobster we'd ever seen. When we asked if we could put the supper on our room tab, she said we could if we paid for the whole room right there - but either way, she said she had to 'cash out' her restaurant tab. Which did not make any sense to us. We had breakfast there as well, which again had to be paid separate. So we ended up having to pay 3 separate bills for the one location.
And once again, when we were leaving, although they were not rude, I didn't not get the feel of a 'down home bed and breakfast'. More a feeling that it was just a job...

  • Liked — the price was ok
  • Disliked — I didn't get the feel of a bed and breakfast atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shediac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shediac
Hotel Shediac
#1 of 4 in Shediac
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Louisianne
La Louisianne
#3 of 12 in Shediac
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tait House
Maison Tait House
#2 of 12 in Shediac
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AUBERGE inn thyme
AUBERGE inn thyme
#1 of 12 in Shediac
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaudet Chalet & Motel Shediac
7.4 mi away
The Waterfront Motel
The Waterfront Motel
#2 of 2 in Haute Aboujagane
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn

Property: Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn
Address: 296 Main St, Shediac, New Brunswick E4P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Shediac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Shediac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Restaurant Gabriele Inn Shediac, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing