We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome surprise”
Review of Java Moose

Java Moose
Ranked #25 of 241 Restaurants in Saint John
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We small batch roast our coffees locally and offer a wide variety of blends, exotics and flavours. Thirsty? Enjoy a traditional specialty coffee beverage, iced drink or our famous RedEye. Hungry? Maybe you need a muffin, sandwich or a sweet treat! So when you're in Saint John, New Brunswick, join us for a relaxing moment over a cup of coffee!
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcome surprise”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very good dark roast coffee and enjoyed the oatcakes. We hit the location in the Market and it had additional seating to watch people shopping for fresh vegetables and fish..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen M, Owner at Java Moose, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Glad you were able to visit our cafe in the Saint John City Market-the oldest market in Canada. All our staff certainly appreciates your comments about the dark roast and the oatcakes. We call our dark roast Foghorn! We roast the beans right here in the city....and this blend is really, absolutely, amazingly dark. Happy you enjoyed your experience. As a small roaster, we strive to roast and blend the very best. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I'd have Java Moose over Starbucks any day.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Been a customer whenever in town for years. I love their drip coffee and espresso. The owners are awesome and their staff are always friendly.
Thanks again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VitaminandDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen M, Manager at Java Moose, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the awesome review. We are very proud of our little coffee company. We strive to provide great service, wonderful food and amazing fresh roasted coffee for the Saint John community and greater New Brunswick. I hope we can continue to live up to your expectations & satisfy those cravings. We will certainly work hard and do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummmm”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Much better than Tim Horton's coffee. Tasted it at the Market, could not decide on the kind of coffee, so I asked him to suprise me. Glad I did

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soniamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen M, Manager at Java Moose, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. As a small independent coffee roaster, we take great pride in our coffees! We roast all our beans right here in Saint John. I will pass on your comment to Donald (the barista), Jeff and Stephen (our RoastMasters). Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Java has the best coffee in town, hands down! They always have different flavors to try... Candy cane, Jamaican me crazy, and chocolate peanut butter! Yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen M, Manager at Java Moose, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our flavoured coffees. We now have about 40 different flavours, plus our blends and exotics. As you know, we try to rotate the flavours available at the various locations so everyone can drink a new experience. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Sandwich”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had a veggie sandwich from the Prince William Street location in Saint John and it was the best sandwich that I've ever had!!! Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen M, Manager at Java Moose, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your sandwich! Kristin works very hard every morning creating our sandwiches on Prince William Street. We bring in some incredible artisanal breads, fresh veggies from Pete's Frootique and we even roast our own roast beef, ham, and turkey. Great taste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Moose also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Lower Prince William, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Java Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing