We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Surprise birthday”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Despite some small issues, a very relaxing stay. Great breakfast. Very secure, good parking, great staff. Will stay with you again. Did however not like the delay in checking in and that the room had no bathtub. Yet overall I enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    237
    103
    70
    32
See reviews for
288
217
36
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clean, friendly, excellent location for shopping, downtown, food. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Close to downtown. Slide in pool not for small kids. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in St. John

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank nikitaandduker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here with the family. There are many positives..., a king suite without the jacuzzi was spacious and a welcome change from cramming 4 people in a standard room. We liked the vanity area outside the shower/toilet area. Makes life much easier with 4 people to er ready for the day. The staff is incredibly gracious and friendly. Front desk staff always with a smile and always willing to help with anything. A fine example of the people of New Brunswick.

Of course some down sides: although my family enjoyed the pool, the first 2 days the water was green and murky. I came to understand that Saint John water is not 100% crystal clear like bottles water which added to the murky. Our last day there, in preparation for the weekend, the water was overly chlorinated. My eyes burned upon entering the pool and one of my girls was coughing up a storm after being in the water for less than 10 minutes. Coughing completely subsided once we returned to our room, as did the burning eyes.

The bathroom grout could be cleaner and would prefer no black mold, but whatever. Our room was not vacuumed one day, again whatever.

Breakfast is typical Hampton fare. Adequate but not gourmet. And, not exactly plentiful. Instead of filling steam pans while people were waiting for food, staff was over filling an already full syrup display. Also stacking cups for juice higher than staff was tall while juice has run out. Frustrating, but I guess not easy to keep up with a sold out hotel all wanting food at what seemed like the same time.

Overall it was a good stay. Walking distance to shopping and a few restaurants. We would stay again if only for the size of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Again we were not disappointed with Hampton Inn's. Thanks to the staff for putting us and other Marathon Runners on the 4th floor to limit any potential noises. Very classy! Kids enjoyed the pool area very much and we also had a discount at the Montana's Cookhouse located 30 seconds away. thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are pleased you chose our hotel for your stay while participating in Marathon by the Sea this year. It was our pleasure to host your and your fellow runners. It was great to hear you were able to take advantage of some of our great amenities like our pool, waterslide and restaurant discount program. Thank you for visiting the Hampton Inn and Suites Hotel Saint John NB !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT JOHN, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a great night at the Hampton Inn and Suites. Hotel is in a great location. Great rooms with good breakfast. The only negative would be the parking at the hotel. When the hotel is full it must be pretty crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ramsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We trust you enjoyed the Marathon by the Sea and hope to see you back next year. Thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites Hotel Saint John !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. But in the past year or so, I have noticed a serious decline in the level of cleanliness. The room I stayed in had a broken sink, it was functional, but the porcelain was broken and cracks were radiating. The shower was not very clean, with crud along the edges of the tub. The hallway was dirty, it needed a good vacuuming. I was there two nights, and it was not vacuumed from the time I arrived until I left.

The staff that I interacted with were polite and gracious. Breakfast was the usual Hampton fare. I will consider staying there again, but hopefully they will up their cleanliness.

Room Tip: Maybe a different floor would be cleaner, we were on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvmyredmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your candid feedback. We were sorry to hear of your concerns. Upon reading your review, my rooms division team and I toured the 4th floor to identify the items you noted and and I pleased to tell you that the sink and shower have been fully repaired. I apologize that this was not complete prior to your arrival.

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great value and quality in st John. Clean and professional and great location. They just upgraded their internet. Yay! Most hotels hav snail slown speeds but these guys actually let me get my work done. That is huge. Part of Hilton so you can earn/redeem Hilton points. A?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-from-Boston-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your great internet experience at the Hampton Inn hotel and Suites Saint John NB. We recently had an extensive upgrade and were so pleased to hear that the system is delivering ! Thanks for your being a member of the Hilton Honors program. Earning and redeeming points is just one of the many perks the program offers. You can also collect air miles for stays too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
562 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
295 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
981 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Address: 51 Fashion Dr | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#7 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Saint John
Hampton Inn Saint John
Saint John Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing