We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the love of Cheer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“For the love of Cheer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very nice stay, enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities. Very local to shopping, food restaurants, etc. Free Breakfast was excellent, very polite staff, pool was good, gym and computer room was excellent. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you and your family enjoyed our hotel. Our location on the east side of Saint John is in a great shopping district and there are lots of restaurant choices close by.

We were also glad to hear your enjoyed our complimentary On the House breakfast. It is a great value and very convenient. Thanks for your kind words about our staff too. I'll be sure to pass them along !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    221
    88
    65
    29
See reviews for
261
201
35
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a fantastic location. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area. The hot tub was out of order which was a bummer.

Only thing I didn't like is that we couldn't get a cot for our third child. If you have more than 2 children, find another hotel because of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us recently. We were very pleased to hear that the clealiness and location worked so well for you and your family.

I appreciate your feedback about the cot too. While our rooms with two queen beds cannot accomodate cots due to fire regulations, our suites can accomodate a cot quite comfortably. The upside to this is the suite gives families about 50% more room to spread out in as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

nice place in a bleak location- middle of a vast mall destination. Was thrilled to be abl to book a wheelchair accessible room with roll in shower for my mother, but they haven't quite got it figured out, Bed way too high for a mobility impaired guest and no real solution, just a little step stool which was dangerous Comp breakfast was a wonderful surprise- everything fresh and tasty and actual home made oatmeal which was delicious and staff who were down home charming. Price point was the best in town, would happily stay again- too bad im not a shopper but if you are, perfect spot

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking to time to review your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Saint John. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our new breakfast menu items, the cooked on site oatmeal. We also have a great selection of toppings - from nuts to dried fruits as well as some sweet topping options.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the facilities in our accessible room. While our 6 accessible rooms have many specifically designed features, we are finding that the specific needs of our guests who require these rooms are very wide ranging and we are working to provide some more customizable options for our accessible guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

As I travel across the east coast for work I am always pleased to get a nice, comfy bed and friendly hotel to stay. The area is quaint and closes up pretty early so if you want a late night dinner or drink you might be SOL. :) Get out by 7 or get very little.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent business trip to Saint John.

It was great to hear you found the beds so comfy. When you travel alot, getting a good night's sleep is so important. At Hampton our beds are extra clean and fresh too - with everything on the bed changed at every check out.

We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff and it my pleasure to pass this on to our team. Thanks for recognizing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in the Halifax hotel and it was amazing, but the Saint John hotel was horrible.
We pre-orded a cot in our online booking, and it was not there. The staff didn't care - the man said "you can request a cot in your online booking, but that doesn't mean you'll get one". We had to stay a second night and they still didn't provide us one, despite repeated requests. They also let a large group of hockey players play hockey in the hall at night for a long time. The breakfast is very sub par compared to Halifax - here it is more like McDonalds: in Halifax they have waffles with whipped cream and strawberry sauce - here it's just some waffles, sugar cereals only, and flappy 'saussages'. The pool was disappointing too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. This information is very important in ensuring we are meeting your expectations for future stays.

I was very sorry to learn of the situation with your cot. We are tracing the reservation history to ensure that all special requests like this are communicated to the property.

We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast. Each day we serve a wide variety of breakfast menu items in our complimentary buffet breakfast and your feedback will enable us to provide input on our future menu offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hampton Inn. It's a newer hotel,so the furnishings are modern and in good condition. The beds are comfortable, and wi-fi is free. There is a very good hot breakfast buffet, and best of all the staff are very friendly and helpful. We used the pool, water slide and hot tub. The pool was small, but since we were the only ones using it I have no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn and Suites Saint John. I was pleased to hear your enjoyed many of the great amenities Hampton has to offer. We recently upgrade our Wi-fi and have added 22 channels of HD programming.

Thank you for letting us know how much you appreciated the Hampton on the House breakfast. There are many menu items to choose from so there is something to satisfy everyone in the family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

$173 for no hot water, dirty pool area, and un clean breakfast tables, I stay alot of places and for the price this was not worth it, I even had the king sized suite- not the regular room and was surprised that the hotel was not up to par.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear about your experience with the hot water. On one weekend recently, the city had a major water main break that affected may hotels in the city and did do some damage to our hot water system. This was quickly repaired. It was our understanding from our contractor that this would not impact our guests so I was very concerned to learn that it did impact you. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments on other areas of the hotel and will review them in our team huddles to ensure we are meeting your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.3 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Address: 51 Fashion Drive | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#7 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Saint John
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hampton Inn Saint John
Saint John Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing