We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low class road house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius Tavern & Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aquarius Tavern & Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Low class road house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We ate here only because it was directly across from our hotel and we did not feel like driving anywhere. It is a no nothing looking place from the outside and it does not get any better once you enter. It was very loud & noisy & many of the patrons were shady looking characters. We ordered broiled scallops & mashed potatoes. The few scallops we got were swimming in a watery buttery sauce. There did not seem to be any other restaurants near by. This is located in a commercial area of Saint John. Try to find somewhere else to stay/eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I hate to dis any place but...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It took a half hour to get a beer from the most surly waiter I've met in years. I don't know what his problem was, even through I tipped him I couldn't get a second beer. The food was lousy too although the waitress was very nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, not good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Aquarius looks like a bland isolated building in a large parking lot across from the Travelodge. Arrived at night so didn't have many choices to choose from to eat dinner.
The food was ok not horrible. I had a veggie omelet that was bland. Others in our party had salads and the poutine. Drinks you have to pay separately from your food check.
Waitress was nice. Must be a Canadian thing to have slot machines inside the place.
Will try Papa John's next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unfortunately Below Average Pub Fare, Which Seems to be Average in Saint John”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had the scallops and fish & chips - the fish and chips were not bad - safe choice if you decode to eat here. It came to $24 for the 2 meals, meals included cole slaw, rolls, and we had water to drink. The decor is tired, one of my scallops was grey and they came in about an inch of melted margarine. Our server was friendly enough, we went at supper time, there were a few people there, some on the vlt's. All in all - if you are heading west for a good meal, I would probably stick to the Coffee Mill in Lancaster Mall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HLOKITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Went there for breakfast, did not know that breakfast would be so difficult. Looked like it was literally dumped on the plate with grease splatters all over. Pretty disappointing, waitress was very nice though.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing