We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai food”

Suwanna Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #23 of 237 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Dined here with friends. It's situated in an old home. The back dining room has water views in the background. The food was very good. Enjoyed all of our dishes. Not too spicy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    24
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Amazing food and service!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in the city. We always spend our special evenings here (birthday's, anniversary's etc.) The Maasaman curry is our absolute favorite, it is out of this world!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mackilda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Suwanna on a whim and it paid off. The food,service and atmosphere were very good. We had some green curry dishes and they were a nice change to our normal eating habits. My wife now is a fan of curried food and she enjoyed her meal very much, she was not a fan of curry prior to our visit. I would highly recommend that everyone try this wonderful food experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Always a Great Evening At Suwanna”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was pleased to be invited to a birthday dinner being held at Suwanna last weekend. There were ten people in attendance, eight adults and two very well behaved children. The meal was excellent and so was the service.

I am a great fan of Pad Thai (theirs does NOT have Cilantro, which I hate!) and you can get it either with shrimp or chicken.

Their food is served on platters in the centre of the table, with each diner getting a plate of rice, which may be replenished if requested. It is a very social way of dining and everyone can try everything.

I recommend it highly to locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Suwanna's is a great place for groups. The restaurant is in an old house with lots of character. The food is always good but there are so many choices it is good to go with a group so you can order several items and share. Prices are in the mid to high range.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GailG124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwanna Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Suwanna Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing